# Best self cleaning litter box for large cats

The best self cleaning litter box for large cats is one whose maker rates it well above your cat's weight and whose entry your cat fits through without crouching. We ranked the 10 boxes we list by maximum cat weight, then entry size.

Updated Oct 15, 2026. HTML version: https://robotsforthat.com/guides/best-self-cleaning-litter-box-large-cats/

## Short answer

For a cat over 25 lbs, the Litter-Robot 5 ($799) and 5 Pro ($899) are rated to 30 lbs with a 15.75 inch wide globe opening, and the open top Neakasa M1 ($429.99) is rated to 33 lbs. The Litter-Robot 4 ($699) is rated to 25 lbs with the same opening but a lower interior. Skip boxes rated to 22 lbs or less, and the SNOW+ with its 8.7 inch entry.

| Rank | Litter box | Max cat weight | Entry | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Neakasa M1 | 33 lb (2.2 lb min) | Open top, entry 13.86 in high | $429.99 |
| 2 | Litter-Robot 5 | 30 lb (3 lb min) | 15.75 x 15.75 in, 17.5 in globe height | $799 |
| 3 | Litter-Robot 5 Pro | 30 lb (3 lb min) | 15.75 x 15.75 in, 17.5 in globe height | $899 |
| 4 | Litter-Robot 4 | 25 lb (3 lb min) | 15.75 x 15.75 in, 16.5 in globe height | $699 |
| 5 | PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin | 25 lb | Entry about 12 in off the floor | $399.99 |
| 6 | PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2 | 22 lb (3.3 lb min) | 10.5 x 10.7 in | $499.99 |
| 7 | CATLINK Scooper Young | 22 lb (3.5 lb min) | 10.5 x 13 in | $449.99 |
| 8 | PETKIT PuraMax 2 | 22 lb (3.3 lb min) | Not published for this model | $399.99 |
| 9 | PetSnowy SNOW+ | 20 lb (3.3 lb min) | 8.7 x 8.7 in | $529 |
| 10 | CatGenie A.I. | Not stated by maker | Open bowl, size not stated | $469 |

## How we ranked them

We sorted by the maker's maximum cat weight first, because weight sensors decide whether the box detects a cat and when it is safe to cycle. A cat near the top of the range leaves little margin.

Ties were broken by entry size. A big cat needs to step in, turn around and squat without hitting the hood or hanging over the edge. Where the maker does not publish an entry size, we say so.

We did not use our own trials. Weight limits and sizes come from the makers, and comfort findings come from Cats.com, CNN Underscored and other reviewers we cite.

## 1. Neakasa M1: highest weight rating, no hood

Neakasa rates the M1 for cats from 2.2 to about 33 lbs, the highest limit among the boxes we list. Cats.com said it is the highest maximum weight it has seen. The top is open, so there is no hood for a tall cat to hit.

The tradeoff is the entry height. The rim is 13.86 inches off the floor and the step is sold separately, which Cats.com listed as a downside. One owner of large cats told Cats.com that urine hit the separator screen and clogged it. Cats.com also reported false bin full alerts that stop the unit, and leaks at the mat seam that Neakasa addresses with silicone stickers.

Cats.com scored it 4 out of 5. Our listed price is $429.99 as of October 15, 2026. Neakasa's own store showed a base M1 Plus at $399.99 when we checked.

## 2 and 3. Litter-Robot 5 and 5 Pro: most room inside a globe

Whisker rates both for cats from 3 to 30 lbs and up to 5 cats. The globe opening is 15.75 inches wide and the interior is 17.5 inches tall, 1 inch taller than the Litter-Robot 4. The step into the globe is 7 inches.

The 5 costs $799 and the 5 Pro $899 as of October 15, 2026. The Pro adds two 1080p cameras and facial recognition through the optional Whisker+ plan. For a large cat, the cheaper 5 gives the same space.

Both are new, on sale since November 2025, so long term reliability data is thin. Both need a 22 by 27 inch footprint and stand 29.9 inches tall.

## 4. Litter-Robot 4: fine to 25 lbs, tighter inside

The Litter-Robot 4 has the same 15.75 inch opening and 22 by 27 inch footprint as the 5, but a 16.5 inch interior height and a 25 lb limit. It costs $699 as of October 15, 2026.

Cats.com named it Runner Up in its October 2026 roundup and called it one of the most reliable automatic boxes, but noted that some customers find the interior too cramped for large cats and listed the smaller litter bed as a drawback. If your cat is near 25 lbs, the 5 is the safer pick.

## 5 to 10. Boxes to skip for big cats

The PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin lists cats up to 25 lbs, but Cats.com called it not ideal for large cats and noted its entry sits about 12 inches off the floor.

The PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2, CATLINK Scooper Young and PETKIT PuraMax 2 all top out at 22 lbs. Cats.com found its PuraMax 2 test cats over ten pounds ignored the box, and warned that the CATLINK's small entryway may be a problem for bigger cats.

The PetSnowy SNOW+ has an 8.7 by 8.7 inch entry and a 20 lb limit per Cats.com, which said it is more appropriate for smaller cats. CatGenie does not publish a weight limit for the A.I.

## What to measure before you buy

- Weigh your cat. Pick a box rated well above that weight, not just at it.

- Measure your cat from nose to base of tail and compare it with the entry width and interior height.

- Check the step height. Whisker lists 7 inches for the 5 and 6.9 inches for the 4, while the Neakasa rim is 13.86 inches. Older or stiff cats may need a ramp or step.

- Check floor space. Whisker globes need 22 by 27 inches.

- Keep a regular box available while your cat adjusts. Cats.com advises never forcing a cat to use an automatic box.

## Running costs for the top picks

Our 3 year supply estimates for one cat: the Litter-Robot 4 needs about $180 of carbon filters and $156 of drawer liners. The 5 and 5 Pro need the same $156 of liners plus carbon filters, which Whisker says to replace every 2 to 4 weeks but for which we found no US price. The Neakasa M1 needs about $52 of bags.

None of these need a subscription to clean. Whisker+ at $79.90 a year is optional. See our no subscription guide for every box's 3 year cost.

## Questions people ask

### What is the best self cleaning litter box for a 25 lb cat?

Pick one rated above 25 lbs: the Litter-Robot 5 or 5 Pro (30 lbs) or the Neakasa M1 (about 33 lbs). The Litter-Robot 4 tops out at exactly 25 lbs.

### Is the Litter-Robot 4 big enough for a Maine Coon?

It depends on the cat's weight and length. Whisker rates it to 25 lbs with a 15.75 inch opening and 16.5 inch interior height. Cats.com notes some owners find it cramped for large cats. The Litter-Robot 5 is 1 inch taller inside and rated to 30 lbs.

### Which self cleaning litter box has the highest weight limit?

Among the boxes we list, the Neakasa M1 at about 33 lbs, followed by the Litter-Robot 5 and 5 Pro at 30 lbs.

### Do large cats fit in the PETKIT PuraMax 2?

PETKIT rates it to 22 lbs. Cats.com found its test cats over ten pounds ignored it and does not recommend it for larger cats.

### Is an open top self cleaning litter box better for big cats?

It removes the hood, which helps tall cats. The Neakasa M1 is open top, but Cats.com reports its 13.86 inch rim needs a step for some cats and one large cat owner had urine clog the screen.

## Sources

1. [Whisker: Litter-Robot comparison chart](https://whisker.com/litter-robot-comparison-chart)
2. [Cats.com: Best automatic litter boxes (updated October 2026)](https://cats.com/reviews/best-self-cleaning-litter-box)
3. [Cats.com: Neakasa M1 review](https://cats.com/neakasa-m1-self-cleaning-cat-litter-box-review)
4. [Neakasa: M1 product page](https://neakasa.com/products/neakasa-m1-cat-litter-box)
5. [Cats.com: PETKIT PuraMax 2 review](https://cats.com/petkit-puramax-2-automatic-litter-box-review)
6. [Whisker: Whisker+ membership](https://www.litter-robot.com/whisker-plus)
