# CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box vs PETKIT PuraMax 2

As of Oct 26, 2026, the CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box costs $469 and the PETKIT PuraMax 2 costs $480, so the CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box is $11 cheaper. The CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box scores higher in our ranking (7.7 vs 6.9 out of 10). Pick the CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box for no bags or litter disposal. Pick the PETKIT PuraMax 2 for odor control on a mid budget.

Prices checked Oct 26, 2026. HTML version: https://robotsforthat.com/vs/catgenie-a-i-vs-petkit-puramax-2/

## Side by side

| | CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box | PETKIT PuraMax 2 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $469 | $480 |
| 3 year cost | $1,105 | $742 |
| Our score | 7.7/10 | 6.9/10 |
| Rank in Litter box | #3 | #8 |
| Status | on sale | on sale |
| Warranty | 18 months limited; 90 day money back guarantee | 2 years (shown on PETKIT product page badge) |
| Cat weight range | Not stated by maker | 3.3 to 22 lb, cats 6 months and older |
| Max cats | Not stated; marketed for multiple cats | Not stated; app tracks each cat by weight |
| Waste drawer | None; waste is liquefied and flushed to a toilet or laundry drain | 7 L sealed bin, up to 15 days for one cat (maker claim) |
| Sensors | Cat activation sensing; app scheduling up to 8 cleanings a day | 11 sensors (xSecure) plus anti pinch structure; entrance stays open during cleaning |
| App | CatGenie app (WiFi) for schedules, alerts and reorders | PETKIT app, 2.4 GHz WiFi |
| Litter type | Proprietary washable granules only | Clumping clay, tofu, corn and bentonite; two sifters included; not crystal |
| Size | 19.25 in wide (front), 21 in high, 24.5 in deep incl. hoses, 25 lb | 24.4 x 21.2 x 21.7 in, 22 lb |
| Noise | No dB rating; Cats.com notes audible cycle noise | 35 dB (maker spec) |
| Best for | no bags or litter disposal | odor control on a mid budget |
| Skip if | you have no water and drain nearby | the box will sit on carpet |

## What reviewers found

### CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box

- Cats.com: Best Self Flushing in the October 2026 roundup; the Genie Hand almost never caught all waste and loose stool is not scooped. [Source](https://cats.com/reviews/best-self-cleaning-litter-box)
- Cats.com (4.1/5): Two cat test over several weeks: cats took about a week to adjust, odor control between cycles was weak and granules tracked heavily. [Source](https://cats.com/catgenie-a-i-self-flushing-automatic-litter-box-review)

### PETKIT PuraMax 2

- Cats.com: Best Odor Control in the October 2026 roundup; magnetic litter remover does not work well and the unit is designed for hard floors. [Source](https://cats.com/reviews/best-self-cleaning-litter-box)
- Cats.com (3.8/5): Leak proof liner held up; small cats used it but cats over ten pounds ignored it; emptying with the litter remover was slow. [Source](https://cats.com/petkit-puramax-2-automatic-litter-box-review)
- Galaxus: Improvements over the original Pura Max mainly help cats that spray the walls; rough base still collects stuck litter. [Source](https://galaxus.fr/en/page/cat-litter-tray-tested-as-good-as-its-predecessor-but-not-much-better-36147)

## Questions buyers ask

### Which is better, the CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box or the PETKIT PuraMax 2?

The CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box scores higher in our ranking (7.7 vs 6.9 out of 10). Pick the CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box for no bags or litter disposal. Pick the PETKIT PuraMax 2 for odor control on a mid budget.

### Which is cheaper?

The CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box at $469, versus $480 for the PETKIT PuraMax 2, checked Oct 26, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $1,105 vs $742.

### What is the difference between the A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box and the PuraMax 2?

Cat weight range: Not stated by maker on the A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box, 3.3 to 22 lb, cats 6 months and older on the PuraMax 2. Max cats: Not stated; marketed for multiple cats on the A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box, Not stated; app tracks each cat by weight on the PuraMax 2. Waste drawer: None; waste is liquefied and flushed to a toilet or laundry drain on the A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box, 7 L sealed bin, up to 15 days for one cat (maker claim) on the PuraMax 2.

Full reviews: [CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box](https://robotsforthat.com/robot/catgenie-a-i/index.md), [PETKIT PuraMax 2](https://robotsforthat.com/robot/petkit-puramax-2/index.md)
