# CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box vs PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin

As of Oct 26, 2026, the CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box costs $469 and the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin costs $400, so the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin is $69 cheaper. The CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box scores higher in our ranking (7.7 vs 7.5 out of 10). Pick the CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box for no bags or litter disposal. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin for small spaces and tighter budgets.

Prices checked Oct 26, 2026. HTML version: https://robotsforthat.com/vs/catgenie-a-i-vs-petsafe-scoopfree-smartspin/

## Side by side

| | CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box | PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $469 | $400 |
| 3 year cost | $1,105 | $986 |
| Our score | 7.7/10 | 7.5/10 |
| Rank in Litter box | #3 | #6 |
| Status | on sale | on sale |
| Warranty | 18 months limited; 90 day money back guarantee | 1 year (per Chewy listing) |
| Cat weight range | Not stated by maker | Up to 25 lb (Cats.com cites a 2.5 lb, 6 month minimum) |
| Max cats | Not stated; marketed for multiple cats | Not stated; marketed for multi cat homes |
| Waste drawer | None; waste is liquefied and flushed to a toilet or laundry drain | 6 L sealed drawer with deodorizer, up to 2 weeks (maker claim) |
| Sensors | Cat activation sensing; app scheduling up to 8 cleanings a day | Exit detection, weight change detection, child lock |
| App | CatGenie app (WiFi) for schedules, alerts and reorders | PetSafe app, 2.4 GHz WiFi; tracks weight, usage and drawer level |
| Litter type | Proprietary washable granules only | Clumping clay; Chewy says not for crystal, non clumping or large pellets |
| Size | 19.25 in wide (front), 21 in high, 24.5 in deep incl. hoses, 25 lb | 20.9 x 18.9 x 26.4 in, entry about 12 in off the floor |
| Noise | No dB rating; Cats.com notes audible cycle noise | No dB rating published; reviewers describe it as quiet |
| Best for | no bags or litter disposal | small spaces and tighter budgets |
| Skip if | you have no water and drain nearby | you have a large or senior cat |

## What reviewers found

### CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box

- Cats.com: Best Self Flushing in the October 2026 roundup; the Genie Hand almost never caught all waste and loose stool is not scooped. [Source](https://cats.com/reviews/best-self-cleaning-litter-box)
- Cats.com (4.1/5): Two cat test over several weeks: cats took about a week to adjust, odor control between cycles was weak and granules tracked heavily. [Source](https://cats.com/catgenie-a-i-self-flushing-automatic-litter-box-review)

### PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin

- Cats.com: Best Budget in the October 2026 roundup; does not auto empty litter and the raised entry may deter some cats. [Source](https://cats.com/reviews/best-self-cleaning-litter-box)
- Cats.com (3.6/5): Month long multi cat test: quiet and easy to deep clean; smaller cats used it more than larger ones; frequent customer reports of technical problems. [Source](https://cats.com/petsafe-scoopfree-smartspin-review)
- TechnoMeow: Most compact automatic box the reviewers tried; strong odor control; drawer fills fast with three or four cats. [Source](https://technomeow.com/?p=8900)

## Questions buyers ask

### Which is better, the CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box or the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin?

The CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box scores higher in our ranking (7.7 vs 7.5 out of 10). Pick the CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box for no bags or litter disposal. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin for small spaces and tighter budgets.

### Which is cheaper?

The PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin at $400, versus $469 for the CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box, checked Oct 26, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $1,105 vs $986.

### What is the difference between the A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box and the ScoopFree SmartSpin?

Cat weight range: Not stated by maker on the A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box, Up to 25 lb (Cats.com cites a 2.5 lb, 6 month minimum) on the ScoopFree SmartSpin. Max cats: Not stated; marketed for multiple cats on the A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box, Not stated; marketed for multi cat homes on the ScoopFree SmartSpin. Waste drawer: None; waste is liquefied and flushed to a toilet or laundry drain on the A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box, 6 L sealed drawer with deodorizer, up to 2 weeks (maker claim) on the ScoopFree SmartSpin.

Full reviews: [CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box](https://robotsforthat.com/robot/catgenie-a-i/index.md), [PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin](https://robotsforthat.com/robot/petsafe-scoopfree-smartspin/index.md)
