# CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box vs Whisker Litter-Robot 4

As of Nov 4, 2026, the CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box costs $469 and the Whisker Litter-Robot 4 costs $699, so the CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box is $230 cheaper. The CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box has a published review score and ranks #9 in our self cleaning litter boxes ranking; the Whisker Litter-Robot 4 is not scored yet. Pick the CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box for no bags or litter disposal. Pick the Whisker Litter-Robot 4 for one to four average size cats.

Prices checked Nov 4, 2026. HTML version: https://robotsforthat.com/vs/catgenie-a-i-vs-whisker-litter-robot-4/

## Side by side

| | CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box | Whisker Litter-Robot 4 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $469 | $699 |
| 3 year cost | $1,105 | $1,035 |
| Our score | 7.3/10 | Not scored yet |
| Rank in Litter box | #9 | #23 |
| Status | on sale | on sale |
| Warranty | 18 months limited; 90 day money back guarantee | 1 year (WhiskerCare), extendable to 3 years; 90 day in home trial |
| Cat weight range | Not stated by maker | 3 to 25 lb (kittens under 3 lb need semi automatic mode) |
| Max cats | Not stated; marketed for multiple cats | Up to 4 |
| Waste drawer | None; waste is liquefied and flushed to a toilet or laundry drain | Sealed drawer with carbon filter, as little as once every 8 days (maker claim) |
| Sensors | Cat activation sensing; app scheduling up to 8 cleanings a day | Laser and weight sensors, SmartScale cat weight tracking, SafeCat system |
| App | CatGenie app (WiFi) for schedules, alerts and reorders | Whisker app (2.4 GHz WiFi); free 7 day view, Whisker+ optional |
| Litter type | Proprietary washable granules only | Clumping clay recommended; crystals only if they pass the screen; plant based and pellet litters not recommended |
| Size | 19.25 in wide (front), 21 in high, 24.5 in deep incl. hoses, 25 lb | 22 x 27 in footprint, 29.5 in tall, 15.75 x 15.75 in entry, 24 lb empty |
| Noise | No dB rating; Cats.com notes audible cycle noise | No dB rating published; QuietSift motor |
| Best for | no bags or litter disposal | one to four average size cats |
| Skip if | you have no water and drain nearby | your cat is over 25 lb |

## What reviewers found

### CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box

- Cats.com: Best Self Flushing in the October 2026 roundup; the Genie Hand almost never caught all waste and loose stool is not scooped. [Source](https://cats.com/reviews/best-self-cleaning-litter-box)
- Cats.com (4.1/5): Two cat test over several weeks: cats took about a week to adjust, odor control between cycles was weak and granules tracked heavily. [Source](https://cats.com/catgenie-a-i-self-flushing-automatic-litter-box-review)

### Whisker Litter-Robot 4

- Cats.com: Runner Up in the October 2026 roundup; reliable and well built, but the smaller litter bed may not suit large cats. [Source](https://cats.com/reviews/best-self-cleaning-litter-box)
- The Irish Times: Quiet, no smells and a clean tray in a home test; sensors stopped the drum when a cat entered; app cat ID was less accurate for cats of similar size. [Source](https://www.irishtimes.com/technology/consumer-tech/review/2026/10/03/litter-robot-4-review-fed-up-with-scooping-cat-litter-try-this/)
- CNN Underscored: Drawer needed emptying about once a week with two cats; quieter than the Litter-Robot 3; cats took about a week to adjust. [Source](https://amp.cnn.com/cnn/cnn-underscored/reviews/litter-robot-4-review)

## Questions buyers ask

### Which is better, the CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box or the Whisker Litter-Robot 4?

The CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box has a published review score and ranks #9 in our self cleaning litter boxes ranking; the Whisker Litter-Robot 4 is not scored yet. Pick the CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box for no bags or litter disposal. Pick the Whisker Litter-Robot 4 for one to four average size cats.

### Which is cheaper?

The CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box at $469, versus $699 for the Whisker Litter-Robot 4, checked Nov 4, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $1,105 vs $1,035.

### What is the difference between the A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box and the Litter-Robot 4?

Cat weight range: Not stated by maker on the A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box, 3 to 25 lb (kittens under 3 lb need semi automatic mode) on the Litter-Robot 4. Max cats: Not stated; marketed for multiple cats on the A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box, Up to 4 on the Litter-Robot 4. Waste drawer: None; waste is liquefied and flushed to a toilet or laundry drain on the A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box, Sealed drawer with carbon filter, as little as once every 8 days (maker claim) on the Litter-Robot 4.

Full reviews: [CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box](https://robotsforthat.com/robot/catgenie-a-i/index.md), [Whisker Litter-Robot 4](https://robotsforthat.com/robot/whisker-litter-robot-4/index.md)
