# Catlink Scooper Open-X vs CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X)

As of Oct 26, 2026, the Catlink Scooper Open-X costs $230 and the CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) costs $450, so the Catlink Scooper Open-X is $220 cheaper. The Catlink Scooper Open-X scores higher in our ranking (8.9 vs 7.6 out of 10). Pick the Catlink Scooper Open-X for multi cat homes on a budget. Pick the CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) for owners who want no app.

Prices checked Oct 26, 2026. HTML version: https://robotsforthat.com/vs/catlink-open-x-vs-catlink-scooper-young/

## Side by side

| | Catlink Scooper Open-X | CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $230 | $450 |
| 3 year cost | $230 | $489 |
| Our score | 8.9/10 | 7.6/10 |
| Rank in Litter box | #1 | #5 |
| Status | on sale | on sale |
| Warranty | n/a | n/a |
| Cat weight range | Not stated by retailers | 3.5 to 22 lb, cats at least 3 months old |
| Max cats | Multi cat; cats must differ by 0.9 lb to be told apart (Cats.com) | Not stated |
| Waste drawer | 12 L, up to 15 days for one cat (PetSmart) | 13 L drawer, up to 14 days for one cat (retailer claim) |
| Sensors | Multiple infrared and anti pinch sensors; fewer at the back (Cats.com) | Infrared, gravity (weight) and anti pinch sensors |
| App | CATLINK app, 2.4 and 5 GHz WiFi | None required; physical panel with Auto, Manual and Empty modes |
| Litter type | All clumping litters | Clumping only; two sifting panels for clay and mixed tofu |
| Size | 23.43 x 21.06 in, 15.43 in tall (PetSmart, Multicat) | 23.62 x 22.83 x 27.95 in, entry 10.5 x 13 in |
| Noise | n/a | About 49 dB average per Cats.com |
| Best for | multi cat homes on a budget | owners who want no app |
| Skip if | odor control is your top priority | you need responsive support |

## What reviewers found

### Catlink Scooper Open-X

- Cats.com (4.2/5): Over a month in a multi cat home, setup was quick and the smaller cats used it often; odor built up because the bin is not sealed, and the reviewer advised supervising emptying. [Source](https://cats.com/catlink-open-x-self-cleaning-automatic-cat-litter-box-review)

### CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X)

- Cats.com: Mid Priced Option in the October 2026 roundup; small entryway may be a problem for bigger cats. [Source](https://cats.com/reviews/best-self-cleaning-litter-box)
- Cats.com (3.9/5): Sifting left minimal residue in a water and weight simulation; measured about 49 dB; reviewer's cats never used it and support response was vague. [Source](https://cats.com/catlink-review)

## Questions buyers ask

### Which is better, the Catlink Scooper Open-X or the CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X)?

The Catlink Scooper Open-X scores higher in our ranking (8.9 vs 7.6 out of 10). Pick the Catlink Scooper Open-X for multi cat homes on a budget. Pick the CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) for owners who want no app.

### Which is cheaper?

The Catlink Scooper Open-X at $230, versus $450 for the CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X), checked Oct 26, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $230 vs $489.

### What is the difference between the Scooper Open-X and the Scooper Young (Pro-X)?

Cat weight range: Not stated by retailers on the Scooper Open-X, 3.5 to 22 lb, cats at least 3 months old on the Scooper Young (Pro-X). Max cats: Multi cat; cats must differ by 0.9 lb to be told apart (Cats.com) on the Scooper Open-X, Not stated on the Scooper Young (Pro-X). Waste drawer: 12 L, up to 15 days for one cat (PetSmart) on the Scooper Open-X, 13 L drawer, up to 14 days for one cat (retailer claim) on the Scooper Young (Pro-X).

Full reviews: [Catlink Scooper Open-X](https://robotsforthat.com/robot/catlink-open-x/index.md), [CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X)](https://robotsforthat.com/robot/catlink-scooper-young/index.md)
