# Catlink Scooper Open-X vs PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro

As of Oct 26, 2026, the Catlink Scooper Open-X costs $230 and the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro costs $230. The Catlink Scooper Open-X has a published review score and ranks #1 in our self cleaning litter boxes ranking; the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro is not scored yet. Pick the Catlink Scooper Open-X for multi cat homes on a budget. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro for one small or average cat on a low upfront budget.

Prices checked Oct 26, 2026. HTML version: https://robotsforthat.com/vs/catlink-open-x-vs-petsafe-scoopfree-crystal-pro/

## Side by side

| | Catlink Scooper Open-X | PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $230 | $230 |
| 3 year cost | $230 | $1,070 |
| Our score | 8.9/10 | Not scored yet |
| Rank in Litter box | #1 | #11 |
| Status | on sale | on sale |
| Warranty | n/a | n/a |
| Cat weight range | Not stated by retailers | Not stated; an 11 lb cat fit the hood just barely (TechnoMEOW) |
| Max cats | Multi cat; cats must differ by 0.9 lb to be told apart (Cats.com) | Not stated; best with one average size cat (TechnoMEOW) |
| Waste drawer | 12 L, up to 15 days for one cat (PetSmart) | Waste raked under a lid in the tray; tray lasts up to 30 days for one cat |
| Sensors | Multiple infrared and anti pinch sensors; fewer at the back (Cats.com) | Motion and safety sensors; rake waits 20 minutes after use |
| App | CATLINK app, 2.4 and 5 GHz WiFi | None; health counter display only |
| Litter type | All clumping litters | PetSafe ScoopFree crystal trays only |
| Size | 23.43 x 21.06 in, 15.43 in tall (PetSmart, Multicat) | 28.2 x 20.4 x 16 in (TechnoMEOW), 18 lb assembled |
| Best for | multi cat homes on a budget | one small or average cat on a low upfront budget |
| Skip if | odor control is your top priority | you have several cats or a large cat |

## What reviewers found

### Catlink Scooper Open-X

- Cats.com (4.2/5): Over a month in a multi cat home, setup was quick and the smaller cats used it often; odor built up because the bin is not sealed, and the reviewer advised supervising emptying. [Source](https://cats.com/catlink-open-x-self-cleaning-automatic-cat-litter-box-review)

### PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro

- TechnoMEOW: About a month with one 11 lb cat: visitors could not smell it at the 30 day mark, but the cat fit the hood just barely and some crystals tracked out. [Source](https://technomeow.com/scoopfree-crystal-pro-litter-box-review/)
- NBC Select: The writer used two Crystal Pro units; clumps got stuck in the rake and each unit broke or malfunctioned after about six months. [Source](https://www.nbcnews.com/select/shopping/automatic-litter-box-leo-too-review-rcna189883)

## Questions buyers ask

### Which is better, the Catlink Scooper Open-X or the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro?

The Catlink Scooper Open-X has a published review score and ranks #1 in our self cleaning litter boxes ranking; the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro is not scored yet. Pick the Catlink Scooper Open-X for multi cat homes on a budget. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro for one small or average cat on a low upfront budget.

### What is the difference between the Scooper Open-X and the ScoopFree Crystal Pro?

Cat weight range: Not stated by retailers on the Scooper Open-X, Not stated; an 11 lb cat fit the hood just barely (TechnoMEOW) on the ScoopFree Crystal Pro. Max cats: Multi cat; cats must differ by 0.9 lb to be told apart (Cats.com) on the Scooper Open-X, Not stated; best with one average size cat (TechnoMEOW) on the ScoopFree Crystal Pro. Waste drawer: 12 L, up to 15 days for one cat (PetSmart) on the Scooper Open-X, Waste raked under a lid in the tray; tray lasts up to 30 days for one cat on the ScoopFree Crystal Pro.

Full reviews: [Catlink Scooper Open-X](https://robotsforthat.com/robot/catlink-open-x/index.md), [PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro](https://robotsforthat.com/robot/petsafe-scoopfree-crystal-pro/index.md)
