# Catlink Scooper Open-X vs PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin

As of Oct 26, 2026, the Catlink Scooper Open-X costs $230 and the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin costs $400, so the Catlink Scooper Open-X is $170 cheaper. The Catlink Scooper Open-X scores higher in our ranking (8.9 vs 7.5 out of 10). Pick the Catlink Scooper Open-X for multi cat homes on a budget. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin for small spaces and tighter budgets.

Prices checked Oct 26, 2026. HTML version: https://robotsforthat.com/vs/catlink-open-x-vs-petsafe-scoopfree-smartspin/

## Side by side

| | Catlink Scooper Open-X | PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $230 | $400 |
| 3 year cost | $230 | $986 |
| Our score | 8.9/10 | 7.5/10 |
| Rank in Litter box | #1 | #6 |
| Status | on sale | on sale |
| Warranty | n/a | 1 year (per Chewy listing) |
| Cat weight range | Not stated by retailers | Up to 25 lb (Cats.com cites a 2.5 lb, 6 month minimum) |
| Max cats | Multi cat; cats must differ by 0.9 lb to be told apart (Cats.com) | Not stated; marketed for multi cat homes |
| Waste drawer | 12 L, up to 15 days for one cat (PetSmart) | 6 L sealed drawer with deodorizer, up to 2 weeks (maker claim) |
| Sensors | Multiple infrared and anti pinch sensors; fewer at the back (Cats.com) | Exit detection, weight change detection, child lock |
| App | CATLINK app, 2.4 and 5 GHz WiFi | PetSafe app, 2.4 GHz WiFi; tracks weight, usage and drawer level |
| Litter type | All clumping litters | Clumping clay; Chewy says not for crystal, non clumping or large pellets |
| Size | 23.43 x 21.06 in, 15.43 in tall (PetSmart, Multicat) | 20.9 x 18.9 x 26.4 in, entry about 12 in off the floor |
| Noise | n/a | No dB rating published; reviewers describe it as quiet |
| Best for | multi cat homes on a budget | small spaces and tighter budgets |
| Skip if | odor control is your top priority | you have a large or senior cat |

## What reviewers found

### Catlink Scooper Open-X

- Cats.com (4.2/5): Over a month in a multi cat home, setup was quick and the smaller cats used it often; odor built up because the bin is not sealed, and the reviewer advised supervising emptying. [Source](https://cats.com/catlink-open-x-self-cleaning-automatic-cat-litter-box-review)

### PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin

- Cats.com: Best Budget in the October 2026 roundup; does not auto empty litter and the raised entry may deter some cats. [Source](https://cats.com/reviews/best-self-cleaning-litter-box)
- Cats.com (3.6/5): Month long multi cat test: quiet and easy to deep clean; smaller cats used it more than larger ones; frequent customer reports of technical problems. [Source](https://cats.com/petsafe-scoopfree-smartspin-review)
- TechnoMeow: Most compact automatic box the reviewers tried; strong odor control; drawer fills fast with three or four cats. [Source](https://technomeow.com/?p=8900)

## Questions buyers ask

### Which is better, the Catlink Scooper Open-X or the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin?

The Catlink Scooper Open-X scores higher in our ranking (8.9 vs 7.5 out of 10). Pick the Catlink Scooper Open-X for multi cat homes on a budget. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin for small spaces and tighter budgets.

### Which is cheaper?

The Catlink Scooper Open-X at $230, versus $400 for the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin, checked Oct 26, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $230 vs $986.

### What is the difference between the Scooper Open-X and the ScoopFree SmartSpin?

Cat weight range: Not stated by retailers on the Scooper Open-X, Up to 25 lb (Cats.com cites a 2.5 lb, 6 month minimum) on the ScoopFree SmartSpin. Max cats: Multi cat; cats must differ by 0.9 lb to be told apart (Cats.com) on the Scooper Open-X, Not stated; marketed for multi cat homes on the ScoopFree SmartSpin. Waste drawer: 12 L, up to 15 days for one cat (PetSmart) on the Scooper Open-X, 6 L sealed drawer with deodorizer, up to 2 weeks (maker claim) on the ScoopFree SmartSpin.

Full reviews: [Catlink Scooper Open-X](https://robotsforthat.com/robot/catlink-open-x/index.md), [PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin](https://robotsforthat.com/robot/petsafe-scoopfree-smartspin/index.md)
