# Catlink Scooper Open-X vs Whisker Litter-Robot 4

As of Nov 4, 2026, the Catlink Scooper Open-X costs $230 and the Whisker Litter-Robot 4 costs $699, so the Catlink Scooper Open-X is $469 cheaper. The Catlink Scooper Open-X has a published review score and ranks #4 in our self cleaning litter boxes ranking; the Whisker Litter-Robot 4 is not scored yet. Pick the Catlink Scooper Open-X for multi cat homes on a budget. Pick the Whisker Litter-Robot 4 for one to four average size cats.

Prices checked Nov 4, 2026. HTML version: https://robotsforthat.com/vs/catlink-open-x-vs-whisker-litter-robot-4/

## Side by side

| | Catlink Scooper Open-X | Whisker Litter-Robot 4 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $230 | $699 |
| 3 year cost | $230 | $1,035 |
| Our score | 8.6/10 | Not scored yet |
| Rank in Litter box | #4 | #23 |
| Status | on sale | on sale |
| Warranty | n/a | 1 year (WhiskerCare), extendable to 3 years; 90 day in home trial |
| Cat weight range | Not stated by retailers | 3 to 25 lb (kittens under 3 lb need semi automatic mode) |
| Max cats | Multi cat; cats must differ by 0.9 lb to be told apart (Cats.com) | Up to 4 |
| Waste drawer | 12 L, up to 15 days for one cat (PetSmart) | Sealed drawer with carbon filter, as little as once every 8 days (maker claim) |
| Sensors | Multiple infrared and anti pinch sensors; fewer at the back (Cats.com) | Laser and weight sensors, SmartScale cat weight tracking, SafeCat system |
| App | CATLINK app, 2.4 and 5 GHz WiFi | Whisker app (2.4 GHz WiFi); free 7 day view, Whisker+ optional |
| Litter type | All clumping litters | Clumping clay recommended; crystals only if they pass the screen; plant based and pellet litters not recommended |
| Size | 23.43 x 21.06 in, 15.43 in tall (PetSmart, Multicat) | 22 x 27 in footprint, 29.5 in tall, 15.75 x 15.75 in entry, 24 lb empty |
| Noise | n/a | No dB rating published; QuietSift motor |
| Best for | multi cat homes on a budget | one to four average size cats |
| Skip if | odor control is your top priority | your cat is over 25 lb |

## What reviewers found

### Catlink Scooper Open-X

- Cats.com (4.2/5): Over a month in a multi cat home, setup was quick and the smaller cats used it often; odor built up because the bin is not sealed, and the reviewer advised supervising emptying. [Source](https://cats.com/catlink-open-x-self-cleaning-automatic-cat-litter-box-review)

### Whisker Litter-Robot 4

- Cats.com: Runner Up in the October 2026 roundup; reliable and well built, but the smaller litter bed may not suit large cats. [Source](https://cats.com/reviews/best-self-cleaning-litter-box)
- The Irish Times: Quiet, no smells and a clean tray in a home test; sensors stopped the drum when a cat entered; app cat ID was less accurate for cats of similar size. [Source](https://www.irishtimes.com/technology/consumer-tech/review/2026/10/03/litter-robot-4-review-fed-up-with-scooping-cat-litter-try-this/)
- CNN Underscored: Drawer needed emptying about once a week with two cats; quieter than the Litter-Robot 3; cats took about a week to adjust. [Source](https://amp.cnn.com/cnn/cnn-underscored/reviews/litter-robot-4-review)

## Questions buyers ask

### Which is better, the Catlink Scooper Open-X or the Whisker Litter-Robot 4?

The Catlink Scooper Open-X has a published review score and ranks #4 in our self cleaning litter boxes ranking; the Whisker Litter-Robot 4 is not scored yet. Pick the Catlink Scooper Open-X for multi cat homes on a budget. Pick the Whisker Litter-Robot 4 for one to four average size cats.

### Which is cheaper?

The Catlink Scooper Open-X at $230, versus $699 for the Whisker Litter-Robot 4, checked Nov 4, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $230 vs $1,035.

### What is the difference between the Scooper Open-X and the Litter-Robot 4?

Cat weight range: Not stated by retailers on the Scooper Open-X, 3 to 25 lb (kittens under 3 lb need semi automatic mode) on the Litter-Robot 4. Max cats: Multi cat; cats must differ by 0.9 lb to be told apart (Cats.com) on the Scooper Open-X, Up to 4 on the Litter-Robot 4. Waste drawer: 12 L, up to 15 days for one cat (PetSmart) on the Scooper Open-X, Sealed drawer with carbon filter, as little as once every 8 days (maker claim) on the Litter-Robot 4.

Full reviews: [Catlink Scooper Open-X](https://robotsforthat.com/robot/catlink-open-x/index.md), [Whisker Litter-Robot 4](https://robotsforthat.com/robot/whisker-litter-robot-4/index.md)
