# CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) vs PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin

As of Oct 25, 2026, the CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) costs $450 and the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin costs $400, so the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin is $50 cheaper. The CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) scores higher in our ranking (7.6 vs 7.5 out of 10). Pick the CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) for owners who want no app. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin for small spaces and tighter budgets.

Prices checked Oct 25, 2026. HTML version: https://robotsforthat.com/vs/catlink-scooper-young-vs-petsafe-scoopfree-smartspin/

## Side by side

| | CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) | PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $450 | $400 |
| 3 year cost | $489 | $986 |
| Our score | 7.6/10 | 7.5/10 |
| Rank in Litter box | #5 | #6 |
| Status | on sale | on sale |
| Warranty | n/a | 1 year (per Chewy listing) |
| Cat weight range | 3.5 to 22 lb, cats at least 3 months old | Up to 25 lb (Cats.com cites a 2.5 lb, 6 month minimum) |
| Max cats | Not stated | Not stated; marketed for multi cat homes |
| Waste drawer | 13 L drawer, up to 14 days for one cat (retailer claim) | 6 L sealed drawer with deodorizer, up to 2 weeks (maker claim) |
| Sensors | Infrared, gravity (weight) and anti pinch sensors | Exit detection, weight change detection, child lock |
| App | None required; physical panel with Auto, Manual and Empty modes | PetSafe app, 2.4 GHz WiFi; tracks weight, usage and drawer level |
| Litter type | Clumping only; two sifting panels for clay and mixed tofu | Clumping clay; Chewy says not for crystal, non clumping or large pellets |
| Size | 23.62 x 22.83 x 27.95 in, entry 10.5 x 13 in | 20.9 x 18.9 x 26.4 in, entry about 12 in off the floor |
| Noise | About 49 dB average per Cats.com | No dB rating published; reviewers describe it as quiet |
| Best for | owners who want no app | small spaces and tighter budgets |
| Skip if | you need responsive support | you have a large or senior cat |

## What reviewers found

### CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X)

- Cats.com: Mid Priced Option in the October 2026 roundup; small entryway may be a problem for bigger cats. [Source](https://cats.com/reviews/best-self-cleaning-litter-box)
- Cats.com (3.9/5): Sifting left minimal residue in a water and weight simulation; measured about 49 dB; reviewer's cats never used it and support response was vague. [Source](https://cats.com/catlink-review)

### PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin

- Cats.com: Best Budget in the October 2026 roundup; does not auto empty litter and the raised entry may deter some cats. [Source](https://cats.com/reviews/best-self-cleaning-litter-box)
- Cats.com (3.6/5): Month long multi cat test: quiet and easy to deep clean; smaller cats used it more than larger ones; frequent customer reports of technical problems. [Source](https://cats.com/petsafe-scoopfree-smartspin-review)
- TechnoMeow: Most compact automatic box the reviewers tried; strong odor control; drawer fills fast with three or four cats. [Source](https://technomeow.com/?p=8900)

## Questions buyers ask

### Which is better, the CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) or the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin?

The CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) scores higher in our ranking (7.6 vs 7.5 out of 10). Pick the CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) for owners who want no app. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin for small spaces and tighter budgets.

### Which is cheaper?

The PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin at $400, versus $450 for the CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X), checked Oct 25, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $489 vs $986.

### What is the difference between the Scooper Young (Pro-X) and the ScoopFree SmartSpin?

Cat weight range: 3.5 to 22 lb, cats at least 3 months old on the Scooper Young (Pro-X), Up to 25 lb (Cats.com cites a 2.5 lb, 6 month minimum) on the ScoopFree SmartSpin. Max cats: Not stated on the Scooper Young (Pro-X), Not stated; marketed for multi cat homes on the ScoopFree SmartSpin. Waste drawer: 13 L drawer, up to 14 days for one cat (retailer claim) on the Scooper Young (Pro-X), 6 L sealed drawer with deodorizer, up to 2 weeks (maker claim) on the ScoopFree SmartSpin.

Full reviews: [CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X)](https://robotsforthat.com/robot/catlink-scooper-young/index.md), [PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin](https://robotsforthat.com/robot/petsafe-scoopfree-smartspin/index.md)
