# Neakasa M1 vs PETKIT PuraMax 2

As of Oct 15, 2026, the Neakasa M1 costs $430 and the PETKIT PuraMax 2 costs $480, so the Neakasa M1 is $50 cheaper. The Neakasa M1 scores higher in our ranking (8.1 vs 6.8 out of 10). Pick the Neakasa M1 for large cats that dislike hoods. Pick the PETKIT PuraMax 2 for odor control on a mid budget.

Prices checked Oct 15, 2026. HTML version: https://robotsforthat.com/vs/neakasa-m1-vs-petkit-puramax-2/

## Side by side

| | Neakasa M1 | PETKIT PuraMax 2 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $430 | $480 |
| 3 year cost | $482 | $742 |
| Our score | 8.1/10 | 6.8/10 |
| Rank in Litter box | #5 | #13 |
| Status | on sale | on sale |
| Warranty | 1 year (per Cats.com) | 2 years (shown on PETKIT product page badge) |
| Cat weight range | 2.2 to 33 lb | 3.3 to 22 lb, cats 6 months and older |
| Max cats | Not stated; marketed for multi cat homes | Not stated; app tracks each cat by weight |
| Waste drawer | 11.23 L bin, up to 14 days (Catster) | 7 L sealed bin, up to 15 days for one cat (maker claim) |
| Sensors | 6 sets of infrared sensors and 4 weight sensors | 11 sensors (xSecure) plus anti pinch structure; entrance stays open during cleaning |
| App | Neakasa app (iOS and Android) | PETKIT app, 2.4 GHz WiFi |
| Litter type | Clumping granular litter such as clay | Clumping clay, tofu, corn and bentonite; two sifters included; not crystal |
| Size | 23.26 x 20.67 in footprint, 20.2 in tall, entry 13.86 in high, 22.81 lb | 24.4 x 21.2 x 21.7 in, 22 lb |
| Noise | 50 dB (maker claim) | 35 dB (maker spec) |
| Best for | large cats that dislike hoods | odor control on a mid budget |
| Skip if | you have dogs or a senior cat | the box will sit on carpet |

## What reviewers found

### Neakasa M1

- Cats.com (4/5): Easy cleaning and good app; bin sometimes reported full early, shutting the unit down; dust builds up on the surface. [Source](https://cats.com/neakasa-m1-self-cleaning-cat-litter-box-review)
- Catster (4.9/5): Cat interrupted the first cycle about 30 times and the box paused each time without pinching; odor became noticeable after about seven days. [Source](https://www.catster.com/lifestyle/neakasa-m1-open-top-self-cleaning-litter-box-review/)

### PETKIT PuraMax 2

- Cats.com: Best Odor Control in the October 2026 roundup; magnetic litter remover does not work well and the unit is designed for hard floors. [Source](https://cats.com/reviews/best-self-cleaning-litter-box)
- Cats.com (3.8/5): Leak proof liner held up; small cats used it but cats over ten pounds ignored it; emptying with the litter remover was slow. [Source](https://cats.com/petkit-puramax-2-automatic-litter-box-review)
- Galaxus: Improvements over the original Pura Max mainly help cats that spray the walls; rough base still collects stuck litter. [Source](https://galaxus.fr/en/page/cat-litter-tray-tested-as-good-as-its-predecessor-but-not-much-better-36147)

## Questions buyers ask

### Which is better, the Neakasa M1 or the PETKIT PuraMax 2?

The Neakasa M1 scores higher in our ranking (8.1 vs 6.8 out of 10). Pick the Neakasa M1 for large cats that dislike hoods. Pick the PETKIT PuraMax 2 for odor control on a mid budget.

### Which is cheaper?

The Neakasa M1 at $430, versus $480 for the PETKIT PuraMax 2, checked Oct 15, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $482 vs $742.

### What is the difference between the M1 and the PuraMax 2?

Cat weight range: 2.2 to 33 lb on the M1, 3.3 to 22 lb, cats 6 months and older on the PuraMax 2. Max cats: Not stated; marketed for multi cat homes on the M1, Not stated; app tracks each cat by weight on the PuraMax 2. Waste drawer: 11.23 L bin, up to 14 days (Catster) on the M1, 7 L sealed bin, up to 15 days for one cat (maker claim) on the PuraMax 2.

Full reviews: [Neakasa M1](https://robotsforthat.com/robot/neakasa-m1/index.md), [PETKIT PuraMax 2](https://robotsforthat.com/robot/petkit-puramax-2/index.md)
