# Neakasa M1 vs PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2

As of Nov 4, 2026, the Neakasa M1 costs $430 and the PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2 costs $500, so the Neakasa M1 is $70 cheaper. The Neakasa M1 has a published review score and ranks #5 in our self cleaning litter boxes ranking; the PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2 is not scored yet. Pick the Neakasa M1 for large cats that dislike hoods. Pick the PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2 for camera monitoring on a smaller budget.

Prices checked Nov 4, 2026. HTML version: https://robotsforthat.com/vs/neakasa-m1-vs-petkit-purobot-max-pro-2/

## Side by side

| | Neakasa M1 | PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $430 | $500 |
| 3 year cost | $482 | $643 |
| Our score | 8.1/10 | Not scored yet |
| Rank in Litter box | #5 | #20 |
| Status | on sale | on sale |
| Warranty | 1 year (per Cats.com) | 2 years (shown on PETKIT product page badge) |
| Cat weight range | 2.2 to 33 lb | 3.3 to 22 lb |
| Max cats | Not stated; marketed for multi cat homes | Camera recognizes up to 15 cats |
| Waste drawer | 11.23 L bin, up to 14 days (Catster) | 8 L sealed side drawer, up to 17 days for one cat (maker claim via TechnoMeow) |
| Sensors | 6 sets of infrared sensors and 4 weight sensors | 12 sensors including proximity and weight, anti pinch |
| App | Neakasa app (iOS and Android) | PETKIT app, 2.4 and 5 GHz WiFi; 1080p 210 degree AI camera |
| Litter type | Clumping granular litter such as clay | Clumping clay, tofu and mixed; two sifters included |
| Size | 23.26 x 20.67 in footprint, 20.2 in tall, entry 13.86 in high, 22.81 lb | 25.86 x 21.18 x 23.74 in, 24.25 lb, 10.5 x 10.7 in entrance |
| Noise | 50 dB (maker claim) | 35 dB (maker claim) |
| Best for | large cats that dislike hoods | camera monitoring on a smaller budget |
| Skip if | you have dogs or a senior cat | you have a very large cat |

## What reviewers found

### Neakasa M1

- Cats.com (4/5): Easy cleaning and good app; bin sometimes reported full early, shutting the unit down; dust builds up on the surface. [Source](https://cats.com/neakasa-m1-self-cleaning-cat-litter-box-review)
- Catster (4.9/5): Cat interrupted the first cycle about 30 times and the box paused each time without pinching; odor became noticeable after about seven days. [Source](https://www.catster.com/lifestyle/neakasa-m1-open-top-self-cleaning-litter-box-review/)

### PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2

- TechnoMeow: Camera helped monitor a senior cat with a vestibular condition; odor control excellent; sensors unreliable on carpet so manual scoop mode was used. [Source](https://technomeow.com/petkit-purobot-max-pro-2-review/)

## Questions buyers ask

### Which is better, the Neakasa M1 or the PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2?

The Neakasa M1 has a published review score and ranks #5 in our self cleaning litter boxes ranking; the PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2 is not scored yet. Pick the Neakasa M1 for large cats that dislike hoods. Pick the PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2 for camera monitoring on a smaller budget.

### Which is cheaper?

The Neakasa M1 at $430, versus $500 for the PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2, checked Nov 4, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $482 vs $643.

### What is the difference between the M1 and the Purobot Max Pro 2?

Cat weight range: 2.2 to 33 lb on the M1, 3.3 to 22 lb on the Purobot Max Pro 2. Max cats: Not stated; marketed for multi cat homes on the M1, Camera recognizes up to 15 cats on the Purobot Max Pro 2. Waste drawer: 11.23 L bin, up to 14 days (Catster) on the M1, 8 L sealed side drawer, up to 17 days for one cat (maker claim via TechnoMeow) on the Purobot Max Pro 2.

Full reviews: [Neakasa M1](https://robotsforthat.com/robot/neakasa-m1/index.md), [PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2](https://robotsforthat.com/robot/petkit-purobot-max-pro-2/index.md)
