# PETKIT PuraMax 2 vs Petkit PuroBot Ultra

As of Oct 26, 2026, the PETKIT PuraMax 2 costs $480 and the Petkit PuroBot Ultra costs $699, so the PETKIT PuraMax 2 is $219 cheaper. The PETKIT PuraMax 2 scores higher in our ranking (6.9 vs 6.8 out of 10). Pick the PETKIT PuraMax 2 for odor control on a mid budget. Pick the Petkit PuroBot Ultra for health tracking with minimal handling.

Prices checked Oct 26, 2026. HTML version: https://robotsforthat.com/vs/petkit-puramax-2-vs-petkit-purobot-ultra/

## Side by side

| | PETKIT PuraMax 2 | Petkit PuroBot Ultra |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $480 | $699 |
| 3 year cost | $742 | $699 |
| Our score | 6.9/10 | 6.8/10 |
| Rank in Litter box | #8 | #9 |
| Status | on sale | on sale |
| Warranty | 2 years (shown on PETKIT product page badge) | 1 year (per Catster) |
| Cat weight range | 3.3 to 22 lb, cats 6 months and older | 3.3 lb and up (Catster) |
| Max cats | Not stated; app tracks each cat by weight | Not stated; identifies cats by face, size and coat |
| Waste drawer | 7 L sealed bin, up to 15 days for one cat (maker claim) | Auto sealed bags, 14+ days for one cat (Catster) |
| Sensors | 11 sensors (xSecure) plus anti pinch structure; entrance stays open during cleaning | 20 sensors plus a rotating camera (Sam's Club listing) |
| App | PETKIT app, 2.4 GHz WiFi | Petkit app with live camera, two way talk and logs; full playback needs a Care+ plan |
| Litter type | Clumping clay, tofu, corn and bentonite; two sifters included; not crystal | Clumping only, clay or tofu; two sifters included |
| Size | 24.4 x 21.2 x 21.7 in, 22 lb | 21 x 32.2 x 24 in, 32 lb (Catster) |
| Noise | 35 dB (maker spec) | n/a |
| Best for | odor control on a mid budget | health tracking with minimal handling |
| Skip if | the box will sit on carpet | you have large cats or want no subscription |

## What reviewers found

### PETKIT PuraMax 2

- Cats.com: Best Odor Control in the October 2026 roundup; magnetic litter remover does not work well and the unit is designed for hard floors. [Source](https://cats.com/reviews/best-self-cleaning-litter-box)
- Cats.com (3.8/5): Leak proof liner held up; small cats used it but cats over ten pounds ignored it; emptying with the litter remover was slow. [Source](https://cats.com/petkit-puramax-2-automatic-litter-box-review)
- Galaxus: Improvements over the original Pura Max mainly help cats that spray the walls; rough base still collects stuck litter. [Source](https://galaxus.fr/en/page/cat-litter-tray-tested-as-good-as-its-predecessor-but-not-much-better-36147)

### Petkit PuroBot Ultra

- Cats.com (3.8/5): Six weeks of testing: scooping and sealing worked well, but larger cats would not use it, face recognition sometimes confused two cats, bags tore easily and litter leaked around the edges. [Source](https://cats.com/petkit-purobot-ultra-automatic-litter-box-review)
- Catster (4.9/5): Six weeks with one cat: no litter smell noticed, and the camera helped the tester spot a period of constipation; filling it with litter was awkward and there is no low litter alert. [Source](https://www.catster.com/lifestyle/petkit-purobot-ultra-litter-box-review)

## Questions buyers ask

### Which is better, the PETKIT PuraMax 2 or the Petkit PuroBot Ultra?

The PETKIT PuraMax 2 scores higher in our ranking (6.9 vs 6.8 out of 10). Pick the PETKIT PuraMax 2 for odor control on a mid budget. Pick the Petkit PuroBot Ultra for health tracking with minimal handling.

### Which is cheaper?

The PETKIT PuraMax 2 at $480, versus $699 for the Petkit PuroBot Ultra, checked Oct 26, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $742 vs $699.

### What is the difference between the PuraMax 2 and the PuroBot Ultra?

Cat weight range: 3.3 to 22 lb, cats 6 months and older on the PuraMax 2, 3.3 lb and up (Catster) on the PuroBot Ultra. Max cats: Not stated; app tracks each cat by weight on the PuraMax 2, Not stated; identifies cats by face, size and coat on the PuroBot Ultra. Waste drawer: 7 L sealed bin, up to 15 days for one cat (maker claim) on the PuraMax 2, Auto sealed bags, 14+ days for one cat (Catster) on the PuroBot Ultra.

Full reviews: [PETKIT PuraMax 2](https://robotsforthat.com/robot/petkit-puramax-2/index.md), [Petkit PuroBot Ultra](https://robotsforthat.com/robot/petkit-purobot-ultra/index.md)
