# Petkit PuroBot Ultra vs Smarty Pear Leo's Loo Too

As of Oct 26, 2026, the Petkit PuroBot Ultra costs $699 and the Smarty Pear Leo's Loo Too costs $700, so the Petkit PuroBot Ultra is $1 cheaper. The Petkit PuroBot Ultra has a published review score and ranks #9 in our self cleaning litter boxes ranking; the Smarty Pear Leo's Loo Too is not scored yet. Pick the Petkit PuroBot Ultra for health tracking with minimal handling. Pick the Smarty Pear Leo's Loo Too for odor control in small apartments.

Prices checked Oct 26, 2026. HTML version: https://robotsforthat.com/vs/petkit-purobot-ultra-vs-smarty-pear-leos-loo-too/

## Side by side

| | Petkit PuroBot Ultra | Smarty Pear Leo's Loo Too |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $699 | $700 |
| 3 year cost | $699 | $781 |
| Our score | 6.8/10 | Not scored yet |
| Rank in Litter box | #9 | #17 |
| Status | on sale | on sale |
| Warranty | 1 year (per Catster) | n/a |
| Cat weight range | 3.3 lb and up (Catster) | 2 lb minimum (Rover); 55 lb maximum (The Gadgeteer) |
| Max cats | Not stated; identifies cats by face, size and coat | Not stated |
| Waste drawer | Auto sealed bags, 14+ days for one cat (Catster) | Lidded drawer with drawstring liners, filled in 7 to 9 days for one cat (NBC Select) |
| Sensors | 20 sensors plus a rotating camera (Sam's Club listing) | Radar wall, weight detection and anti pinch sensor |
| App | Petkit app with live camera, two way talk and logs; full playback needs a Care+ plan | Casa Leo app with visit log and remote cleaning; Alexa and Google voice control |
| Litter type | Clumping only, clay or tofu; two sifters included | Clay clumping litter |
| Size | 21 x 32.2 x 24 in, 32 lb (Catster) | 22 x 24 x 27.6 in, needs about 1 in wall clearance |
| Noise | n/a | 30 dB (maker claim per Tractor Supply) |
| Best for | health tracking with minimal handling | odor control in small apartments |
| Skip if | you have large cats or want no subscription | your cat is noise sensitive or space is tight |

## What reviewers found

### Petkit PuroBot Ultra

- Cats.com (3.8/5): Six weeks of testing: scooping and sealing worked well, but larger cats would not use it, face recognition sometimes confused two cats, bags tore easily and litter leaked around the edges. [Source](https://cats.com/petkit-purobot-ultra-automatic-litter-box-review)
- Catster (4.9/5): Six weeks with one cat: no litter smell noticed, and the camera helped the tester spot a period of constipation; filling it with litter was awkward and there is no low litter alert. [Source](https://www.catster.com/lifestyle/petkit-purobot-ultra-litter-box-review)

### Smarty Pear Leo's Loo Too

- Rover: No noticeable drawer smell after an 11 day absence and the app identified a cat by weight; one cat kept hissing at the cycle and avoided the box. [Source](https://www.rover.com/blog/leos-loo-too-review)
- NBC Select: Used for over six months with one cat in a New York City apartment; the drum stopped when the cat approached, and the drawer filled in about 7 to 9 days. [Source](https://www.nbcnews.com/select/shopping/automatic-litter-box-leo-too-review-rcna189883)
- The Gadgeteer: Odor was much lower than a standard box and the cat adjusted within hours; weight sensing may not work on carpet or soft floors. [Source](https://the-gadgeteer.com/2023/07/15/leos-loo-too-automatic-cat-litter-box-review-dandy-at-dealing-with-the-duty-of-doody)

## Questions buyers ask

### Which is better, the Petkit PuroBot Ultra or the Smarty Pear Leo's Loo Too?

The Petkit PuroBot Ultra has a published review score and ranks #9 in our self cleaning litter boxes ranking; the Smarty Pear Leo's Loo Too is not scored yet. Pick the Petkit PuroBot Ultra for health tracking with minimal handling. Pick the Smarty Pear Leo's Loo Too for odor control in small apartments.

### Which is cheaper?

The Petkit PuroBot Ultra at $699, versus $700 for the Smarty Pear Leo's Loo Too, checked Oct 26, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $699 vs $781.

### What is the difference between the PuroBot Ultra and the Leo's Loo Too?

Cat weight range: 3.3 lb and up (Catster) on the PuroBot Ultra, 2 lb minimum (Rover); 55 lb maximum (The Gadgeteer) on the Leo's Loo Too. Max cats: Not stated; identifies cats by face, size and coat on the PuroBot Ultra, Not stated on the Leo's Loo Too. Waste drawer: Auto sealed bags, 14+ days for one cat (Catster) on the PuroBot Ultra, Lidded drawer with drawstring liners, filled in 7 to 9 days for one cat (NBC Select) on the Leo's Loo Too.

Full reviews: [Petkit PuroBot Ultra](https://robotsforthat.com/robot/petkit-purobot-ultra/index.md), [Smarty Pear Leo's Loo Too](https://robotsforthat.com/robot/smarty-pear-leos-loo-too/index.md)
