# Petkit PuroBot Ultra vs Whisker Litter-Robot 5

As of Oct 26, 2026, the Petkit PuroBot Ultra costs $699 and the Whisker Litter-Robot 5 costs $799, so the Petkit PuroBot Ultra is $100 cheaper. The Petkit PuroBot Ultra has a published review score and ranks #9 in our self cleaning litter boxes ranking; the Whisker Litter-Robot 5 is not scored yet. Pick the Petkit PuroBot Ultra for health tracking with minimal handling. Pick the Whisker Litter-Robot 5 for large cats and multi cat homes.

Prices checked Oct 26, 2026. HTML version: https://robotsforthat.com/vs/petkit-purobot-ultra-vs-whisker-litter-robot-5/

## Side by side

| | Petkit PuroBot Ultra | Whisker Litter-Robot 5 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $699 | $799 |
| 3 year cost | $699 | $955 |
| Our score | 6.8/10 | Not scored yet |
| Rank in Litter box | #9 | #18 |
| Status | on sale | on sale |
| Warranty | 1 year (per Catster) | 1 year (WhiskerCare), extendable to 3 years; 90 day in home trial |
| Cat weight range | 3.3 lb and up (Catster) | 3 to 30 lb |
| Max cats | Not stated; identifies cats by face, size and coat | Up to 5 |
| Waste drawer | Auto sealed bags, 14+ days for one cat (Catster) | Sealed drawer with carbon filter, up to 10 days for one cat (maker claim) |
| Sensors | 20 sensors plus a rotating camera (Sam's Club listing) | Multiple lasers, weight sensing, SmartScale, WasteID urine vs stool detection, SafeCat system |
| App | Petkit app with live camera, two way talk and logs; full playback needs a Care+ plan | Whisker app (2.4 GHz WiFi); free tier shows 7 days of visits and weights |
| Litter type | Clumping only, clay or tofu; two sifters included | Clumping clay recommended; plant based, non clumping, paper and pellet litters not recommended |
| Size | 21 x 32.2 x 24 in, 32 lb (Catster) | 22 x 27 in footprint, 29.9 in tall, 15.75 x 15.75 in entry, 28.7 lb empty |
| Noise | n/a | No dB rating published; QuietSift motor |
| Best for | health tracking with minimal handling | large cats and multi cat homes |
| Skip if | you have large cats or want no subscription | you want the lowest price from Whisker |

## What reviewers found

### Petkit PuroBot Ultra

- Cats.com (3.8/5): Six weeks of testing: scooping and sealing worked well, but larger cats would not use it, face recognition sometimes confused two cats, bags tore easily and litter leaked around the edges. [Source](https://cats.com/petkit-purobot-ultra-automatic-litter-box-review)
- Catster (4.9/5): Six weeks with one cat: no litter smell noticed, and the camera helped the tester spot a period of constipation; filling it with litter was awkward and there is no low litter alert. [Source](https://www.catster.com/lifestyle/petkit-purobot-ultra-litter-box-review)

### Whisker Litter-Robot 5

- Cats.com: Described in the October 2026 roundup as nearly the same as the 5 Pro without cameras, saving $100. [Source](https://cats.com/reviews/best-self-cleaning-litter-box)
- 9to5Toys: Review of the 5 series found it quieter, smoother and less sensitive to placement on carpet than the Litter-Robot 4, with a better carbon filter. [Source](https://9to5toys.com/2026/04/14/review-whisker-litter-robot-5-elevate-homes-with-space-age-improvements/)

## Questions buyers ask

### Which is better, the Petkit PuroBot Ultra or the Whisker Litter-Robot 5?

The Petkit PuroBot Ultra has a published review score and ranks #9 in our self cleaning litter boxes ranking; the Whisker Litter-Robot 5 is not scored yet. Pick the Petkit PuroBot Ultra for health tracking with minimal handling. Pick the Whisker Litter-Robot 5 for large cats and multi cat homes.

### Which is cheaper?

The Petkit PuroBot Ultra at $699, versus $799 for the Whisker Litter-Robot 5, checked Oct 26, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $699 vs $955.

### What is the difference between the PuroBot Ultra and the Litter-Robot 5?

Cat weight range: 3.3 lb and up (Catster) on the PuroBot Ultra, 3 to 30 lb on the Litter-Robot 5. Max cats: Not stated; identifies cats by face, size and coat on the PuroBot Ultra, Up to 5 on the Litter-Robot 5. Waste drawer: Auto sealed bags, 14+ days for one cat (Catster) on the PuroBot Ultra, Sealed drawer with carbon filter, up to 10 days for one cat (maker claim) on the Litter-Robot 5.

Full reviews: [Petkit PuroBot Ultra](https://robotsforthat.com/robot/petkit-purobot-ultra/index.md), [Whisker Litter-Robot 5](https://robotsforthat.com/robot/whisker-litter-robot-5/index.md)
