# PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro vs PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin

As of Oct 26, 2026, the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro costs $230 and the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin costs $400, so the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro is $170 cheaper. The PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin has a published review score and ranks #6 in our self cleaning litter boxes ranking; the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro is not scored yet. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro for one small or average cat on a low upfront budget. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin for small spaces and tighter budgets.

Prices checked Oct 26, 2026. HTML version: https://robotsforthat.com/vs/petsafe-scoopfree-crystal-pro-vs-petsafe-scoopfree-smartspin/

## Side by side

| | PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro | PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $230 | $400 |
| 3 year cost | $1,070 | $986 |
| Our score | Not scored yet | 7.5/10 |
| Rank in Litter box | #11 | #6 |
| Status | on sale | on sale |
| Warranty | n/a | 1 year (per Chewy listing) |
| Cat weight range | Not stated; an 11 lb cat fit the hood just barely (TechnoMEOW) | Up to 25 lb (Cats.com cites a 2.5 lb, 6 month minimum) |
| Max cats | Not stated; best with one average size cat (TechnoMEOW) | Not stated; marketed for multi cat homes |
| Waste drawer | Waste raked under a lid in the tray; tray lasts up to 30 days for one cat | 6 L sealed drawer with deodorizer, up to 2 weeks (maker claim) |
| Sensors | Motion and safety sensors; rake waits 20 minutes after use | Exit detection, weight change detection, child lock |
| App | None; health counter display only | PetSafe app, 2.4 GHz WiFi; tracks weight, usage and drawer level |
| Litter type | PetSafe ScoopFree crystal trays only | Clumping clay; Chewy says not for crystal, non clumping or large pellets |
| Size | 28.2 x 20.4 x 16 in (TechnoMEOW), 18 lb assembled | 20.9 x 18.9 x 26.4 in, entry about 12 in off the floor |
| Noise | n/a | No dB rating published; reviewers describe it as quiet |
| Best for | one small or average cat on a low upfront budget | small spaces and tighter budgets |
| Skip if | you have several cats or a large cat | you have a large or senior cat |

## What reviewers found

### PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro

- TechnoMEOW: About a month with one 11 lb cat: visitors could not smell it at the 30 day mark, but the cat fit the hood just barely and some crystals tracked out. [Source](https://technomeow.com/scoopfree-crystal-pro-litter-box-review/)
- NBC Select: The writer used two Crystal Pro units; clumps got stuck in the rake and each unit broke or malfunctioned after about six months. [Source](https://www.nbcnews.com/select/shopping/automatic-litter-box-leo-too-review-rcna189883)

### PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin

- Cats.com: Best Budget in the October 2026 roundup; does not auto empty litter and the raised entry may deter some cats. [Source](https://cats.com/reviews/best-self-cleaning-litter-box)
- Cats.com (3.6/5): Month long multi cat test: quiet and easy to deep clean; smaller cats used it more than larger ones; frequent customer reports of technical problems. [Source](https://cats.com/petsafe-scoopfree-smartspin-review)
- TechnoMeow: Most compact automatic box the reviewers tried; strong odor control; drawer fills fast with three or four cats. [Source](https://technomeow.com/?p=8900)

## Questions buyers ask

### Which is better, the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro or the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin?

The PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin has a published review score and ranks #6 in our self cleaning litter boxes ranking; the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro is not scored yet. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro for one small or average cat on a low upfront budget. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin for small spaces and tighter budgets.

### Which is cheaper?

The PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro at $230, versus $400 for the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin, checked Oct 26, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $1,070 vs $986.

### What is the difference between the ScoopFree Crystal Pro and the ScoopFree SmartSpin?

Cat weight range: Not stated; an 11 lb cat fit the hood just barely (TechnoMEOW) on the ScoopFree Crystal Pro, Up to 25 lb (Cats.com cites a 2.5 lb, 6 month minimum) on the ScoopFree SmartSpin. Max cats: Not stated; best with one average size cat (TechnoMEOW) on the ScoopFree Crystal Pro, Not stated; marketed for multi cat homes on the ScoopFree SmartSpin. Waste drawer: Waste raked under a lid in the tray; tray lasts up to 30 days for one cat on the ScoopFree Crystal Pro, 6 L sealed drawer with deodorizer, up to 2 weeks (maker claim) on the ScoopFree SmartSpin.

Full reviews: [PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro](https://robotsforthat.com/robot/petsafe-scoopfree-crystal-pro/index.md), [PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin](https://robotsforthat.com/robot/petsafe-scoopfree-smartspin/index.md)
