# PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin vs Whisker Litter-Robot 4

As of Nov 4, 2026, the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin costs $400 and the Whisker Litter-Robot 4 costs $699, so the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin is $299 cheaper. The PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin has a published review score and ranks #11 in our self cleaning litter boxes ranking; the Whisker Litter-Robot 4 is not scored yet. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin for small spaces and tighter budgets. Pick the Whisker Litter-Robot 4 for one to four average size cats.

Prices checked Nov 4, 2026. HTML version: https://robotsforthat.com/vs/petsafe-scoopfree-smartspin-vs-whisker-litter-robot-4/

## Side by side

| | PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin | Whisker Litter-Robot 4 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $400 | $699 |
| 3 year cost | $986 | $1,035 |
| Our score | 7.1/10 | Not scored yet |
| Rank in Litter box | #11 | #23 |
| Status | on sale | on sale |
| Warranty | 1 year (per Chewy listing) | 1 year (WhiskerCare), extendable to 3 years; 90 day in home trial |
| Cat weight range | Up to 25 lb (Cats.com cites a 2.5 lb, 6 month minimum) | 3 to 25 lb (kittens under 3 lb need semi automatic mode) |
| Max cats | Not stated; marketed for multi cat homes | Up to 4 |
| Waste drawer | 6 L sealed drawer with deodorizer, up to 2 weeks (maker claim) | Sealed drawer with carbon filter, as little as once every 8 days (maker claim) |
| Sensors | Exit detection, weight change detection, child lock | Laser and weight sensors, SmartScale cat weight tracking, SafeCat system |
| App | PetSafe app, 2.4 GHz WiFi; tracks weight, usage and drawer level | Whisker app (2.4 GHz WiFi); free 7 day view, Whisker+ optional |
| Litter type | Clumping clay; Chewy says not for crystal, non clumping or large pellets | Clumping clay recommended; crystals only if they pass the screen; plant based and pellet litters not recommended |
| Size | 20.9 x 18.9 x 26.4 in, entry about 12 in off the floor | 22 x 27 in footprint, 29.5 in tall, 15.75 x 15.75 in entry, 24 lb empty |
| Noise | No dB rating published; reviewers describe it as quiet | No dB rating published; QuietSift motor |
| Best for | small spaces and tighter budgets | one to four average size cats |
| Skip if | you have a large or senior cat | your cat is over 25 lb |

## What reviewers found

### PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin

- Cats.com: Best Budget in the October 2026 roundup; does not auto empty litter and the raised entry may deter some cats. [Source](https://cats.com/reviews/best-self-cleaning-litter-box)
- Cats.com (3.6/5): Month long multi cat test: quiet and easy to deep clean; smaller cats used it more than larger ones; frequent customer reports of technical problems. [Source](https://cats.com/petsafe-scoopfree-smartspin-review)
- TechnoMeow: Most compact automatic box the reviewers tried; strong odor control; drawer fills fast with three or four cats. [Source](https://technomeow.com/?p=8900)

### Whisker Litter-Robot 4

- Cats.com: Runner Up in the October 2026 roundup; reliable and well built, but the smaller litter bed may not suit large cats. [Source](https://cats.com/reviews/best-self-cleaning-litter-box)
- The Irish Times: Quiet, no smells and a clean tray in a home test; sensors stopped the drum when a cat entered; app cat ID was less accurate for cats of similar size. [Source](https://www.irishtimes.com/technology/consumer-tech/review/2026/10/03/litter-robot-4-review-fed-up-with-scooping-cat-litter-try-this/)
- CNN Underscored: Drawer needed emptying about once a week with two cats; quieter than the Litter-Robot 3; cats took about a week to adjust. [Source](https://amp.cnn.com/cnn/cnn-underscored/reviews/litter-robot-4-review)

## Questions buyers ask

### Which is better, the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin or the Whisker Litter-Robot 4?

The PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin has a published review score and ranks #11 in our self cleaning litter boxes ranking; the Whisker Litter-Robot 4 is not scored yet. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin for small spaces and tighter budgets. Pick the Whisker Litter-Robot 4 for one to four average size cats.

### Which is cheaper?

The PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin at $400, versus $699 for the Whisker Litter-Robot 4, checked Nov 4, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $986 vs $1,035.

### What is the difference between the ScoopFree SmartSpin and the Litter-Robot 4?

Cat weight range: Up to 25 lb (Cats.com cites a 2.5 lb, 6 month minimum) on the ScoopFree SmartSpin, 3 to 25 lb (kittens under 3 lb need semi automatic mode) on the Litter-Robot 4. Max cats: Not stated; marketed for multi cat homes on the ScoopFree SmartSpin, Up to 4 on the Litter-Robot 4. Waste drawer: 6 L sealed drawer with deodorizer, up to 2 weeks (maker claim) on the ScoopFree SmartSpin, Sealed drawer with carbon filter, as little as once every 8 days (maker claim) on the Litter-Robot 4.

Full reviews: [PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin](https://robotsforthat.com/robot/petsafe-scoopfree-smartspin/index.md), [Whisker Litter-Robot 4](https://robotsforthat.com/robot/whisker-litter-robot-4/index.md)
