Neakasa M1 Lite vs PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro
Researched by Riley Hart · prices checked Oct 26, 2026
As of Oct 26, 2026, the Neakasa M1 Lite costs $329 and the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro costs $230, so the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro is $99 cheaper. Pick the Neakasa M1 Lite for large cats on a mid range budget. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro for one small or average cat on a low upfront budget.
- Cat weight
- 2.2 to 33 lb
- Litter
- Fast clumping granular
- Waste drawer
- 11.23 L bin
The M1 Lite gives the same open top idea and 2.2 to 33 lb rating as the M1 for less money. TechnoMEOW saw no jams over weeks in a multi cat home. The 13.86 inch entry is tall for seniors, and the open design lets some litter scatter.
Full Neakasa M1 Lite review →- Litter
- PetSafe ScoopFree
- Waste drawer
- Waste raked under a lid
The Crystal Pro is a cheap entry to self cleaning with standout odor control from sealed crystal trays. The trays are the real cost, about $840 over three years for one cat at Walmart prices. It is a tight fit for big cats and has no app.
Full PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro review →Side by side
| Neakasa M1 Lite | PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $329 | $230 |
| 3 year cost | $329 | $1,070 |
| Our score | Not scored yet | Not scored yet |
| Rank in Litter box | #12 | #11 |
| Status | on sale | on sale |
| Warranty | 2 year limited (maker page) | n/a |
| Cat weight range | 2.2 to 33 lb, Kitten Mode below 2.2 lb | Not stated; an 11 lb cat fit the hood just barely (TechnoMEOW) |
| Max cats | Not stated; app tracks up to 3 cats (Chewy listing) | Not stated; best with one average size cat (TechnoMEOW) |
| Waste drawer | 11.23 L bin, about 14 days for one cat | Waste raked under a lid in the tray; tray lasts up to 30 days for one cat |
| Sensors | 6 pairs of infrared sensors and 4 weight sensors | Motion and safety sensors; rake waits 20 minutes after use |
| App | Neakasa app (iOS and Android) | None; health counter display only |
| Litter type | Fast clumping granular litter such as bentonite; not pellet or non clumping | PetSafe ScoopFree crystal trays only |
| Size | 13.86 in entry height, 22.81 lb; overall size not listed | 28.2 x 20.4 x 16 in (TechnoMEOW), 18 lb assembled |
| Noise | About 50 dB (TechnoMEOW) | n/a |
| Best for | large cats on a mid range budget | one small or average cat on a low upfront budget |
| Skip if | you have a senior cat that struggles to climb | you have several cats or a large cat |
Specs are maker claims unless a reviewer is named. Prices from the stores we link, checked daily.
What reviewers found
Neakasa M1 Lite
- TechnoMEOW: Ran daily for weeks in a multi cat home with no jams or incomplete cycles; odor stayed controlled near a full bin, and it stopped immediately when a cat re entered mid cycle. Source
PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro
- TechnoMEOW: About a month with one 11 lb cat: visitors could not smell it at the 30 day mark, but the cat fit the hood just barely and some crystals tracked out. Source
- NBC Select: The writer used two Crystal Pro units; clumps got stuck in the rake and each unit broke or malfunctioned after about six months. Source
Pros and cons
Neakasa M1 Lite
Pros
- Rated for cats up to 33 lb
- No jams over weeks of multi cat testing
- Stopped right away when a cat re entered
- 2 year warranty on the maker page
Cons
- Tall 13.86 in entry
- Open design allows some litter scatter
- Clumping granular litter only
- Bulky for tight spaces
PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro
Pros
- Low upfront price
- Very strong odor control in TechnoMEOW testing
- No scooping or litter refills
- Light signals when to change the tray
Cons
- Disposable trays cost about $23 each
- Tight for large cats under the hood
- No app
- NBC Select writer's two units failed after about six months
Questions buyers ask
Which is better, the Neakasa M1 Lite or the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro?
Pick the Neakasa M1 Lite for large cats on a mid range budget. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro for one small or average cat on a low upfront budget.
Which is cheaper?
The PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro at $230, versus $329 for the Neakasa M1 Lite, checked Oct 26, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $329 vs $1,070.
What is the difference between the M1 Lite and the ScoopFree Crystal Pro?
Cat weight range: 2.2 to 33 lb, Kitten Mode below 2.2 lb on the M1 Lite, Not stated; an 11 lb cat fit the hood just barely (TechnoMEOW) on the ScoopFree Crystal Pro. Max cats: Not stated; app tracks up to 3 cats (Chewy listing) on the M1 Lite, Not stated; best with one average size cat (TechnoMEOW) on the ScoopFree Crystal Pro. Waste drawer: 11.23 L bin, about 14 days for one cat on the M1 Lite, Waste raked under a lid in the tray; tray lasts up to 30 days for one cat on the ScoopFree Crystal Pro.
Also consider
See all ranked →More comparisons
All self cleaning litter boxes, ranked
See the ranking →Affiliate links. We may earn a commission. It never changes our score. Disclosure