Catlink Scooper Open-X vs PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro
Researched by Riley Hart · prices checked Oct 26, 2026
As of Oct 26, 2026, the Catlink Scooper Open-X costs $230 and the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro costs $230. The Catlink Scooper Open-X has a published review score and ranks #1 in our self cleaning litter boxes ranking; the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro is not scored yet. Pick the Catlink Scooper Open-X for multi cat homes on a budget. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro for one small or average cat on a low upfront budget.
- Max cats
- Multi cat
- Litter
- All clumping litters
- Waste drawer
- 12 L
The Open-X is one of the cheapest app connected open top boxes at a big pet chain, and Cats.com's cats used it more than expected. The waste bin does not seal tightly, so empty it often. Watch the box while it empties, since the back has fewer anti pinch sensors.
Full Catlink Scooper Open-X review →- Litter
- PetSafe ScoopFree
- Waste drawer
- Waste raked under a lid
The Crystal Pro is a cheap entry to self cleaning with standout odor control from sealed crystal trays. The trays are the real cost, about $840 over three years for one cat at Walmart prices. It is a tight fit for big cats and has no app.
Full PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro review →Side by side
| Catlink Scooper Open-X | PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $230 | $230 |
| 3 year cost | $230 | $1,070 |
| Our score | 8.9/10 | Not scored yet |
| Rank in Litter box | #1 | #11 |
| Status | on sale | on sale |
| Warranty | n/a | n/a |
| Cat weight range | Not stated by retailers | Not stated; an 11 lb cat fit the hood just barely (TechnoMEOW) |
| Max cats | Multi cat; cats must differ by 0.9 lb to be told apart (Cats.com) | Not stated; best with one average size cat (TechnoMEOW) |
| Waste drawer | 12 L, up to 15 days for one cat (PetSmart) | Waste raked under a lid in the tray; tray lasts up to 30 days for one cat |
| Sensors | Multiple infrared and anti pinch sensors; fewer at the back (Cats.com) | Motion and safety sensors; rake waits 20 minutes after use |
| App | CATLINK app, 2.4 and 5 GHz WiFi | None; health counter display only |
| Litter type | All clumping litters | PetSafe ScoopFree crystal trays only |
| Size | 23.43 x 21.06 in, 15.43 in tall (PetSmart, Multicat) | 28.2 x 20.4 x 16 in (TechnoMEOW), 18 lb assembled |
| Best for | multi cat homes on a budget | one small or average cat on a low upfront budget |
| Skip if | odor control is your top priority | you have several cats or a large cat |
Specs are maker claims unless a reviewer is named. Prices from the stores we link, checked daily.
What reviewers found
Catlink Scooper Open-X
- Cats.com (4.2/5): Over a month in a multi cat home, setup was quick and the smaller cats used it often; odor built up because the bin is not sealed, and the reviewer advised supervising emptying. Source
PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro
- TechnoMEOW: About a month with one 11 lb cat: visitors could not smell it at the 30 day mark, but the cat fit the hood just barely and some crystals tracked out. Source
- NBC Select: The writer used two Crystal Pro units; clumps got stuck in the rake and each unit broke or malfunctioned after about six months. Source
Pros and cons
Catlink Scooper Open-X
Pros
- Low price for an app connected box
- Open drum never closes
- Works on 5 GHz as well as 2.4 GHz WiFi
- Accepts any clumping litter
Cons
- Waste bin has no tight seal
- Fewer anti pinch sensors at the back
- Sifter is easy to install wrong
- Weight limit not published by retailers
PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro
Pros
- Low upfront price
- Very strong odor control in TechnoMEOW testing
- No scooping or litter refills
- Light signals when to change the tray
Cons
- Disposable trays cost about $23 each
- Tight for large cats under the hood
- No app
- NBC Select writer's two units failed after about six months
Questions buyers ask
Which is better, the Catlink Scooper Open-X or the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro?
The Catlink Scooper Open-X has a published review score and ranks #1 in our self cleaning litter boxes ranking; the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro is not scored yet. Pick the Catlink Scooper Open-X for multi cat homes on a budget. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro for one small or average cat on a low upfront budget.
What is the difference between the Scooper Open-X and the ScoopFree Crystal Pro?
Cat weight range: Not stated by retailers on the Scooper Open-X, Not stated; an 11 lb cat fit the hood just barely (TechnoMEOW) on the ScoopFree Crystal Pro. Max cats: Multi cat; cats must differ by 0.9 lb to be told apart (Cats.com) on the Scooper Open-X, Not stated; best with one average size cat (TechnoMEOW) on the ScoopFree Crystal Pro. Waste drawer: 12 L, up to 15 days for one cat (PetSmart) on the Scooper Open-X, Waste raked under a lid in the tray; tray lasts up to 30 days for one cat on the ScoopFree Crystal Pro.
Also consider
See all ranked →More comparisons
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs Neakasa M1 Lite
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X)
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs Catlink Scooper Pro-X Luxury
- PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro vs PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
- Neakasa M1 Lite vs PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro
All self cleaning litter boxes, ranked
See the ranking →Affiliate links. We may earn a commission. It never changes our score. Disclosure