Catlink Scooper Open-X vs PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
Researched by Riley Hart · prices checked Oct 26, 2026
As of Oct 26, 2026, the Catlink Scooper Open-X costs $230 and the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin costs $400, so the Catlink Scooper Open-X is $170 cheaper. The Catlink Scooper Open-X scores higher in our ranking (8.9 vs 7.5 out of 10). Pick the Catlink Scooper Open-X for multi cat homes on a budget. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin for small spaces and tighter budgets.
- Max cats
- Multi cat
- Litter
- All clumping litters
- Waste drawer
- 12 L
The Open-X is one of the cheapest app connected open top boxes at a big pet chain, and Cats.com's cats used it more than expected. The waste bin does not seal tightly, so empty it often. Watch the box while it empties, since the back has fewer anti pinch sensors.
Full Catlink Scooper Open-X review →- Cat weight
- Up to 25 lb
- Litter
- Clumping clay
- Waste drawer
- 6 L sealed drawer
The most compact and affordable box here from an established brand, with a useful app and quick support. It suits small to medium cats in tight spaces; larger cats, frail cats who struggle with the 12 inch step, and owners who hate refill costs should look elsewhere.
Full PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin review →Side by side
| Catlink Scooper Open-X | PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $230 | $400 |
| 3 year cost | $230 | $986 |
| Our score | 8.9/10 | 7.5/10 |
| Rank in Litter box | #1 | #6 |
| Status | on sale | on sale |
| Warranty | n/a | 1 year (per Chewy listing) |
| Cat weight range | Not stated by retailers | Up to 25 lb (Cats.com cites a 2.5 lb, 6 month minimum) |
| Max cats | Multi cat; cats must differ by 0.9 lb to be told apart (Cats.com) | Not stated; marketed for multi cat homes |
| Waste drawer | 12 L, up to 15 days for one cat (PetSmart) | 6 L sealed drawer with deodorizer, up to 2 weeks (maker claim) |
| Sensors | Multiple infrared and anti pinch sensors; fewer at the back (Cats.com) | Exit detection, weight change detection, child lock |
| App | CATLINK app, 2.4 and 5 GHz WiFi | PetSafe app, 2.4 GHz WiFi; tracks weight, usage and drawer level |
| Litter type | All clumping litters | Clumping clay; Chewy says not for crystal, non clumping or large pellets |
| Size | 23.43 x 21.06 in, 15.43 in tall (PetSmart, Multicat) | 20.9 x 18.9 x 26.4 in, entry about 12 in off the floor |
| Noise | n/a | No dB rating published; reviewers describe it as quiet |
| Best for | multi cat homes on a budget | small spaces and tighter budgets |
| Skip if | odor control is your top priority | you have a large or senior cat |
Specs are maker claims unless a reviewer is named. Prices from the stores we link, checked daily.
What reviewers found
Catlink Scooper Open-X
- Cats.com (4.2/5): Over a month in a multi cat home, setup was quick and the smaller cats used it often; odor built up because the bin is not sealed, and the reviewer advised supervising emptying. Source
PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
- Cats.com: Best Budget in the October 2026 roundup; does not auto empty litter and the raised entry may deter some cats. Source
- Cats.com (3.6/5): Month long multi cat test: quiet and easy to deep clean; smaller cats used it more than larger ones; frequent customer reports of technical problems. Source
- TechnoMeow: Most compact automatic box the reviewers tried; strong odor control; drawer fills fast with three or four cats. Source
Pros and cons
Catlink Scooper Open-X
Pros
- Low price for an app connected box
- Open drum never closes
- Works on 5 GHz as well as 2.4 GHz WiFi
- Accepts any clumping litter
Cons
- Waste bin has no tight seal
- Fewer anti pinch sensors at the back
- Sifter is easy to install wrong
- Weight limit not published by retailers
PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
Pros
- Lowest price among major brands here
- Compact round footprint
- App weight and usage tracking
- Easy to disassemble and clean
Cons
- Raised entry about 12 in with no step
- Not suited to large cats
- Deodorizer refills every 15 days add up
- Arrives unassembled
Questions buyers ask
Which is better, the Catlink Scooper Open-X or the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin?
The Catlink Scooper Open-X scores higher in our ranking (8.9 vs 7.5 out of 10). Pick the Catlink Scooper Open-X for multi cat homes on a budget. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin for small spaces and tighter budgets.
Which is cheaper?
The Catlink Scooper Open-X at $230, versus $400 for the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin, checked Oct 26, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $230 vs $986.
What is the difference between the Scooper Open-X and the ScoopFree SmartSpin?
Cat weight range: Not stated by retailers on the Scooper Open-X, Up to 25 lb (Cats.com cites a 2.5 lb, 6 month minimum) on the ScoopFree SmartSpin. Max cats: Multi cat; cats must differ by 0.9 lb to be told apart (Cats.com) on the Scooper Open-X, Not stated; marketed for multi cat homes on the ScoopFree SmartSpin. Waste drawer: 12 L, up to 15 days for one cat (PetSmart) on the Scooper Open-X, 6 L sealed drawer with deodorizer, up to 2 weeks (maker claim) on the ScoopFree SmartSpin.
Also consider
See all ranked →More comparisons
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs Neakasa M1 Lite
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X)
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs Catlink Scooper Pro-X Luxury
- Neakasa M1 vs PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
- CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) vs PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
- CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box vs PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
- PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro vs PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
All self cleaning litter boxes, ranked
See the ranking →Affiliate links. We may earn a commission. It never changes our score. Disclosure