Neakasa M1 vs PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
Researched by Riley Hart · prices checked Oct 14, 2026
As of Oct 14, 2026, the Neakasa M1 costs $430 and the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin costs $400, so the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin is $30 cheaper. The Neakasa M1 scores higher in our ranking (8.5 vs 7.5 out of 10). Pick the Neakasa M1 for large cats that dislike hoods. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin for small spaces and tighter budgets.
- Cat weight
- 2.2 to 33 lb
- Litter
- Clumping granular
- Waste drawer
- 11.23 L bin
The open top design is the main draw: cats that refuse enclosed globes, and big cats up to 33 lb, have room to turn around. The 13.86 inch entry height is hard on seniors without a step, and Cats.com flagged early bin full lockouts and user reports of urine leaks at the mat seam.
Full Neakasa M1 review →- Cat weight
- Up to 25 lb
- Litter
- Clumping clay
- Waste drawer
- 6 L sealed drawer
The most compact and affordable box here from an established brand, with a useful app and quick support. It suits small to medium cats in tight spaces; larger cats, frail cats who struggle with the 12 inch step, and owners who hate refill costs should look elsewhere.
Full PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin review →Side by side
| Neakasa M1 | PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $430 | $400 |
| 3 year cost | $482 | $986 |
| Our score | 8.5/10 | 7.5/10 |
| Rank in Litter box | #2 | #6 |
| Status | on sale | on sale |
| Warranty | 1 year (per Cats.com) | 1 year (per Chewy listing) |
| Cat weight range | 2.2 to 33 lb | Up to 25 lb (Cats.com cites a 2.5 lb, 6 month minimum) |
| Max cats | Not stated; marketed for multi cat homes | Not stated; marketed for multi cat homes |
| Waste drawer | 11.23 L bin, up to 14 days (Catster) | 6 L sealed drawer with deodorizer, up to 2 weeks (maker claim) |
| Sensors | 6 sets of infrared sensors and 4 weight sensors | Exit detection, weight change detection, child lock |
| App | Neakasa app (iOS and Android) | PetSafe app, 2.4 GHz WiFi; tracks weight, usage and drawer level |
| Litter type | Clumping granular litter such as clay | Clumping clay; Chewy says not for crystal, non clumping or large pellets |
| Size | 23.26 x 20.67 in footprint, 20.2 in tall, entry 13.86 in high, 22.81 lb | 20.9 x 18.9 x 26.4 in, entry about 12 in off the floor |
| Noise | 50 dB (maker claim) | No dB rating published; reviewers describe it as quiet |
| Best for | large cats that dislike hoods | small spaces and tighter budgets |
| Skip if | you have dogs or a senior cat | you have a large or senior cat |
Specs are maker claims unless a reviewer is named. Prices from the stores we link, checked daily.
What reviewers found
Neakasa M1
- Cats.com (4/5): Easy cleaning and good app; bin sometimes reported full early, shutting the unit down; dust builds up on the surface. Source
- Catster (4.9/5): Cat interrupted the first cycle about 30 times and the box paused each time without pinching; odor became noticeable after about seven days. Source
PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
- Cats.com: Best Budget in the October 2026 roundup; does not auto empty litter and the raised entry may deter some cats. Source
- Cats.com (3.6/5): Month long multi cat test: quiet and easy to deep clean; smaller cats used it more than larger ones; frequent customer reports of technical problems. Source
- TechnoMeow: Most compact automatic box the reviewers tried; strong odor control; drawer fills fast with three or four cats. Source
Pros and cons
Neakasa M1
Pros
- Open top suits cats wary of enclosed boxes
- Rated for cats up to 33 lb
- Paused safely during repeated cat interruptions
- Easy to top up litter
Cons
- High 13.86 in entry, step extra
- Early bin full alerts can lock the unit
- User reports of urine leaks at the mat seam
- Open to dogs and children
PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
Pros
- Lowest price among major brands here
- Compact round footprint
- App weight and usage tracking
- Easy to disassemble and clean
Cons
- Raised entry about 12 in with no step
- Not suited to large cats
- Deodorizer refills every 15 days add up
- Arrives unassembled
Questions buyers ask
Which is better, the Neakasa M1 or the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin?
The Neakasa M1 scores higher in our ranking (8.5 vs 7.5 out of 10). Pick the Neakasa M1 for large cats that dislike hoods. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin for small spaces and tighter budgets.
Which is cheaper?
The PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin at $400, versus $430 for the Neakasa M1, checked Oct 14, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $482 vs $986.
What is the difference between the M1 and the ScoopFree SmartSpin?
Cat weight range: 2.2 to 33 lb on the M1, Up to 25 lb (Cats.com cites a 2.5 lb, 6 month minimum) on the ScoopFree SmartSpin. Waste drawer: 11.23 L bin, up to 14 days (Catster) on the M1, 6 L sealed drawer with deodorizer, up to 2 weeks (maker claim) on the ScoopFree SmartSpin. Sensors: 6 sets of infrared sensors and 4 weight sensors on the M1, Exit detection, weight change detection, child lock on the ScoopFree SmartSpin.
Also consider
See all ranked →More comparisons
- CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) vs Neakasa M1
- CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box vs Neakasa M1
- Neakasa M1 vs Neakasa M1 Lite
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
- CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) vs PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
- CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box vs PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
- PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro vs PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
- Neakasa M1 Lite vs PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
All self cleaning litter boxes, ranked
See the ranking →Affiliate links. We may earn a commission. It never changes our score. Disclosure