CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box vs PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
Researched by Riley Hart · prices checked Oct 26, 2026
As of Oct 26, 2026, the CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box costs $469 and the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin costs $400, so the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin is $69 cheaper. The CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box scores higher in our ranking (7.7 vs 7.5 out of 10). Pick the CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box for no bags or litter disposal. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin for small spaces and tighter budgets.
- Litter
- Washable granules
- Waste drawer
- None
The only box here that needs no bags and no litter dumping, because it washes granules and sends waste down the drain. That only works if it can sit beside a toilet or washer, and Cats.com found odor between cycles, missed waste and tracking granules, plus cartridges and granules are a recurring cost.
Full CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box review →- Cat weight
- Up to 25 lb
- Litter
- Clumping clay
- Waste drawer
- 6 L sealed drawer
The most compact and affordable box here from an established brand, with a useful app and quick support. It suits small to medium cats in tight spaces; larger cats, frail cats who struggle with the 12 inch step, and owners who hate refill costs should look elsewhere.
Full PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin review →Side by side
| CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box | PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $469 | $400 |
| 3 year cost | $1,105 | $986 |
| Our score | 7.7/10 | 7.5/10 |
| Rank in Litter box | #3 | #6 |
| Status | on sale | on sale |
| Warranty | 18 months limited; 90 day money back guarantee | 1 year (per Chewy listing) |
| Cat weight range | Not stated by maker | Up to 25 lb (Cats.com cites a 2.5 lb, 6 month minimum) |
| Max cats | Not stated; marketed for multiple cats | Not stated; marketed for multi cat homes |
| Waste drawer | None; waste is liquefied and flushed to a toilet or laundry drain | 6 L sealed drawer with deodorizer, up to 2 weeks (maker claim) |
| Sensors | Cat activation sensing; app scheduling up to 8 cleanings a day | Exit detection, weight change detection, child lock |
| App | CatGenie app (WiFi) for schedules, alerts and reorders | PetSafe app, 2.4 GHz WiFi; tracks weight, usage and drawer level |
| Litter type | Proprietary washable granules only | Clumping clay; Chewy says not for crystal, non clumping or large pellets |
| Size | 19.25 in wide (front), 21 in high, 24.5 in deep incl. hoses, 25 lb | 20.9 x 18.9 x 26.4 in, entry about 12 in off the floor |
| Noise | No dB rating; Cats.com notes audible cycle noise | No dB rating published; reviewers describe it as quiet |
| Best for | no bags or litter disposal | small spaces and tighter budgets |
| Skip if | you have no water and drain nearby | you have a large or senior cat |
Specs are maker claims unless a reviewer is named. Prices from the stores we link, checked daily.
What reviewers found
CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box
PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
- Cats.com: Best Budget in the October 2026 roundup; does not auto empty litter and the raised entry may deter some cats. Source
- Cats.com (3.6/5): Month long multi cat test: quiet and easy to deep clean; smaller cats used it more than larger ones; frequent customer reports of technical problems. Source
- TechnoMeow: Most compact automatic box the reviewers tried; strong odor control; drawer fills fast with three or four cats. Source
Pros and cons
CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box
Pros
- No waste bags or litter to throw out
- Reusable granules
- App with schedules and supply alerts
- 90 day money back guarantee
Cons
- Needs water line, drain and outlet
- Proprietary cartridges required to run
- Long 30 to 40 minute cycles
- Loose stool can be missed and baked on during drying
PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
Pros
- Lowest price among major brands here
- Compact round footprint
- App weight and usage tracking
- Easy to disassemble and clean
Cons
- Raised entry about 12 in with no step
- Not suited to large cats
- Deodorizer refills every 15 days add up
- Arrives unassembled
Questions buyers ask
Which is better, the CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box or the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin?
The CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box scores higher in our ranking (7.7 vs 7.5 out of 10). Pick the CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box for no bags or litter disposal. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin for small spaces and tighter budgets.
Which is cheaper?
The PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin at $400, versus $469 for the CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box, checked Oct 26, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $1,105 vs $986.
What is the difference between the A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box and the ScoopFree SmartSpin?
Cat weight range: Not stated by maker on the A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box, Up to 25 lb (Cats.com cites a 2.5 lb, 6 month minimum) on the ScoopFree SmartSpin. Max cats: Not stated; marketed for multiple cats on the A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box, Not stated; marketed for multi cat homes on the ScoopFree SmartSpin. Waste drawer: None; waste is liquefied and flushed to a toilet or laundry drain on the A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box, 6 L sealed drawer with deodorizer, up to 2 weeks (maker claim) on the ScoopFree SmartSpin.
Also consider
See all ranked →More comparisons
- CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box vs Neakasa M1
- CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box vs Catlink Scooper Pro-X Luxury
- CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box vs PETKIT PuraMax 2
- CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box vs CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X)
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
- Neakasa M1 vs PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
- CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) vs PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
- PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro vs PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
All self cleaning litter boxes, ranked
See the ranking →Affiliate links. We may earn a commission. It never changes our score. Disclosure