CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box vs PETKIT PuraMax 2
Researched by Riley Hart · prices checked Oct 26, 2026
As of Oct 26, 2026, the CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box costs $469 and the PETKIT PuraMax 2 costs $480, so the CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box is $11 cheaper. The CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box scores higher in our ranking (7.7 vs 6.9 out of 10). Pick the CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box for no bags or litter disposal. Pick the PETKIT PuraMax 2 for odor control on a mid budget.
- Litter
- Washable granules
- Waste drawer
- None
The only box here that needs no bags and no litter dumping, because it washes granules and sends waste down the drain. That only works if it can sit beside a toilet or washer, and Cats.com found odor between cycles, missed waste and tracking granules, plus cartridges and granules are a recurring cost.
Full CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box review →- Cat weight
- 3.3 to 22 lb
- Litter
- Clay
- Waste drawer
- 7 L sealed bin
A capable mid priced box with strong odor control and a sealed bin, best on hard floors with small to medium cats. Reviewers found emptying the drum for a deep clean slow, and larger cats ignored it in one test.
Full PETKIT PuraMax 2 review →Side by side
| CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box | PETKIT PuraMax 2 | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $469 | $480 |
| 3 year cost | $1,105 | $742 |
| Our score | 7.7/10 | 6.9/10 |
| Rank in Litter box | #3 | #8 |
| Status | on sale | on sale |
| Warranty | 18 months limited; 90 day money back guarantee | 2 years (shown on PETKIT product page badge) |
| Cat weight range | Not stated by maker | 3.3 to 22 lb, cats 6 months and older |
| Max cats | Not stated; marketed for multiple cats | Not stated; app tracks each cat by weight |
| Waste drawer | None; waste is liquefied and flushed to a toilet or laundry drain | 7 L sealed bin, up to 15 days for one cat (maker claim) |
| Sensors | Cat activation sensing; app scheduling up to 8 cleanings a day | 11 sensors (xSecure) plus anti pinch structure; entrance stays open during cleaning |
| App | CatGenie app (WiFi) for schedules, alerts and reorders | PETKIT app, 2.4 GHz WiFi |
| Litter type | Proprietary washable granules only | Clumping clay, tofu, corn and bentonite; two sifters included; not crystal |
| Size | 19.25 in wide (front), 21 in high, 24.5 in deep incl. hoses, 25 lb | 24.4 x 21.2 x 21.7 in, 22 lb |
| Noise | No dB rating; Cats.com notes audible cycle noise | 35 dB (maker spec) |
| Best for | no bags or litter disposal | odor control on a mid budget |
| Skip if | you have no water and drain nearby | the box will sit on carpet |
Specs are maker claims unless a reviewer is named. Prices from the stores we link, checked daily.
What reviewers found
CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box
PETKIT PuraMax 2
- Cats.com: Best Odor Control in the October 2026 roundup; magnetic litter remover does not work well and the unit is designed for hard floors. Source
- Cats.com (3.8/5): Leak proof liner held up; small cats used it but cats over ten pounds ignored it; emptying with the litter remover was slow. Source
- Galaxus: Improvements over the original Pura Max mainly help cats that spray the walls; rough base still collects stuck litter. Source
Pros and cons
CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box
Pros
- No waste bags or litter to throw out
- Reusable granules
- App with schedules and supply alerts
- 90 day money back guarantee
Cons
- Needs water line, drain and outlet
- Proprietary cartridges required to run
- Long 30 to 40 minute cycles
- Loose stool can be missed and baked on during drying
PETKIT PuraMax 2
Pros
- Sealed 7 L bin with odor eliminator
- 11 sensors and an always open entrance
- Works with clay and tofu litter
- Often discounted on the PETKIT store
Cons
- Deep clean emptying is slow
- Weight sensing unreliable on carpet
- Larger cats ignored it in Cats.com testing
Questions buyers ask
Which is better, the CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box or the PETKIT PuraMax 2?
The CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box scores higher in our ranking (7.7 vs 6.9 out of 10). Pick the CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box for no bags or litter disposal. Pick the PETKIT PuraMax 2 for odor control on a mid budget.
Which is cheaper?
The CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box at $469, versus $480 for the PETKIT PuraMax 2, checked Oct 26, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $1,105 vs $742.
What is the difference between the A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box and the PuraMax 2?
Cat weight range: Not stated by maker on the A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box, 3.3 to 22 lb, cats 6 months and older on the PuraMax 2. Max cats: Not stated; marketed for multiple cats on the A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box, Not stated; app tracks each cat by weight on the PuraMax 2. Waste drawer: None; waste is liquefied and flushed to a toilet or laundry drain on the A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box, 7 L sealed bin, up to 15 days for one cat (maker claim) on the PuraMax 2.
Also consider
See all ranked →More comparisons
- CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box vs Neakasa M1
- CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box vs Catlink Scooper Pro-X Luxury
- CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box vs CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X)
- CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box vs PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
- PETKIT PuraMax 2 vs PetSnowy SNOW+
- Catlink Scooper Pro-X Luxury vs PETKIT PuraMax 2
- PETKIT PuraMax 2 vs PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2
- PETKIT PuraMax 2 vs Petkit PuroBot Ultra
All self cleaning litter boxes, ranked
See the ranking →Affiliate links. We may earn a commission. It never changes our score. Disclosure