PETKIT PuraMax 2 vs PetSnowy SNOW+
Researched by Riley Hart · prices checked Oct 15, 2026
As of Oct 15, 2026, the PETKIT PuraMax 2 costs $480 and the PetSnowy SNOW+ costs $529, so the PETKIT PuraMax 2 is $49 cheaper. The PetSnowy SNOW+ scores higher in our ranking (7.7 vs 6.9 out of 10). Pick the PETKIT PuraMax 2 for odor control on a mid budget. Pick the PetSnowy SNOW+ for limiting litter tracking.
- Cat weight
- 3.3 to 22 lb
- Litter
- Clay
- Waste drawer
- 7 L sealed bin
A capable mid priced box with strong odor control and a sealed bin, best on hard floors with small to medium cats. Reviewers found emptying the drum for a deep clean slow, and larger cats ignored it in one test.
Full PETKIT PuraMax 2 review →- Cat weight
- 3.3 to 20 lb
- Max cats
- Up to 4
- Litter
- Clay preferred
- Waste drawer
- 10 L sealed bin
A tidy, appliance like box that does well on odor and litter tracking, with magnetic parts that make routine cleaning quick. The 8.7 inch entry is tight, so it is really for small to medium cats; a Cats.com tester's cats never used it.
Full PetSnowy SNOW+ review →Side by side
| PETKIT PuraMax 2 | PetSnowy SNOW+ | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $480 | $529 |
| 3 year cost | $742 | $529 |
| Our score | 6.9/10 | 7.7/10 |
| Rank in Litter box | #8 | #4 |
| Status | on sale | on sale |
| Warranty | 2 years (shown on PETKIT product page badge) | Up to 4 years per PetSnowy; 30 day free trial |
| Cat weight range | 3.3 to 22 lb, cats 6 months and older | 3.3 to 20 lb (Cats.com); PetSnowy says 3.3 lb minimum for automatic mode |
| Max cats | Not stated; app tracks each cat by weight | Up to 4 recommended |
| Waste drawer | 7 L sealed bin, up to 15 days for one cat (maker claim) | 10 L auto sealing bin, up to 14 days for one cat (maker claim) |
| Sensors | 11 sensors (xSecure) plus anti pinch structure; entrance stays open during cleaning | Radar and weight sensors, anti pinch mechanism |
| App | PETKIT app, 2.4 GHz WiFi | PetSnowy app with usage tracking and adjustable cleaning time |
| Litter type | Clumping clay, tofu, corn and bentonite; two sifters included; not crystal | Clumping clay preferred; tofu, pine and crystal listed as working |
| Size | 24.4 x 21.2 x 21.7 in, 22 lb | 29.5 x 20 x 25.6 in, 8.7 x 8.7 in entry, 32.19 lb |
| Noise | 35 dB (maker spec) | Peak 53 dB per Cats.com |
| Best for | odor control on a mid budget | limiting litter tracking |
| Skip if | the box will sit on carpet | your cat is large or hesitant |
Specs are maker claims unless a reviewer is named. Prices from the stores we link, checked daily.
What reviewers found
PETKIT PuraMax 2
- Cats.com: Best Odor Control in the October 2026 roundup; magnetic litter remover does not work well and the unit is designed for hard floors. Source
- Cats.com (3.8/5): Leak proof liner held up; small cats used it but cats over ten pounds ignored it; emptying with the litter remover was slow. Source
- Galaxus: Improvements over the original Pura Max mainly help cats that spray the walls; rough base still collects stuck litter. Source
PetSnowy SNOW+
- Cats.com: Best Anti Tracking in the October 2026 roundup; cats were curious but did not use it, likely due to the tight entry. Source
- Cats.com (4.6/5): Easy app setup and quick magnetic cleaning; peak noise 53 dB; reviewer says it is more appropriate for smaller cats. Source
- TechnoMeow: Comparison with Litter-Robot 4 favored SNOW+ for odor control but rated the Litter-Robot 4 higher overall; app lacks Whisker style weight insights. Source
Pros and cons
PETKIT PuraMax 2
Pros
- Sealed 7 L bin with odor eliminator
- 11 sensors and an always open entrance
- Works with clay and tofu litter
- Often discounted on the PETKIT store
Cons
- Deep clean emptying is slow
- Weight sensing unreliable on carpet
- Larger cats ignored it in Cats.com testing
PetSnowy SNOW+
Pros
- Anti tracking walkway and sealed bin
- Magnetic assembly for quick cleaning
- Top fill makes adding litter easy
- Long warranty offered by PetSnowy
Cons
- Narrow 8.7 x 8.7 in entry
- Fragrance can be strong
- Deep cleaning the enclosed interior takes effort
- Only a 30 day trial
Questions buyers ask
Which is better, the PETKIT PuraMax 2 or the PetSnowy SNOW+?
The PetSnowy SNOW+ scores higher in our ranking (7.7 vs 6.9 out of 10). Pick the PETKIT PuraMax 2 for odor control on a mid budget. Pick the PetSnowy SNOW+ for limiting litter tracking.
Which is cheaper?
The PETKIT PuraMax 2 at $480, versus $529 for the PetSnowy SNOW+, checked Oct 15, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $742 vs $529.
What is the difference between the PuraMax 2 and the SNOW+?
Cat weight range: 3.3 to 22 lb, cats 6 months and older on the PuraMax 2, 3.3 to 20 lb (Cats.com); PetSnowy says 3.3 lb minimum for automatic mode on the SNOW+. Max cats: Not stated; app tracks each cat by weight on the PuraMax 2, Up to 4 recommended on the SNOW+. Waste drawer: 7 L sealed bin, up to 15 days for one cat (maker claim) on the PuraMax 2, 10 L auto sealing bin, up to 14 days for one cat (maker claim) on the SNOW+.
Also consider
See all ranked →More comparisons
- CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box vs PETKIT PuraMax 2
- Catlink Scooper Pro-X Luxury vs PETKIT PuraMax 2
- PETKIT PuraMax 2 vs PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2
- PETKIT PuraMax 2 vs Petkit PuroBot Ultra
- PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2 vs PetSnowy SNOW+
- Catlink Scooper Pro-X Luxury vs PetSnowy SNOW+
- Petlibro Luma vs PetSnowy SNOW+
- PetSnowy SNOW+ vs Whisker Litter-Robot EVO
All self cleaning litter boxes, ranked
See the ranking →Affiliate links. We may earn a commission. It never changes our score. Disclosure