PETKIT PuraMax 2 vs PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2
Researched by Riley Hart · prices checked Oct 26, 2026
As of Oct 26, 2026, the PETKIT PuraMax 2 costs $480 and the PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2 costs $500, so the PETKIT PuraMax 2 is $20 cheaper. The PETKIT PuraMax 2 has a published review score and ranks #8 in our self cleaning litter boxes ranking; the PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2 is not scored yet. Pick the PETKIT PuraMax 2 for odor control on a mid budget. Pick the PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2 for camera monitoring on a smaller budget.
- Cat weight
- 3.3 to 22 lb
- Litter
- Clay
- Waste drawer
- 7 L sealed bin
A capable mid priced box with strong odor control and a sealed bin, best on hard floors with small to medium cats. Reviewers found emptying the drum for a deep clean slow, and larger cats ignored it in one test.
Full PETKIT PuraMax 2 review →- Cat weight
- 3.3 to 22 lb
- Max cats
- Camera IDs up to 15
- Litter
- Clay
- Waste drawer
- 8 L sealed drawer
A good fit for owners who want to watch a senior or unwell cat through a built in camera at well under Litter-Robot 5 Pro money. The interior is compact and sensors misbehave on carpet, so very large cats and rug placements are a poor match.
Full PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2 review →Side by side
| PETKIT PuraMax 2 | PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2 | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $480 | $500 |
| 3 year cost | $742 | $643 |
| Our score | 6.9/10 | Not scored yet |
| Rank in Litter box | #8 | #14 |
| Status | on sale | on sale |
| Warranty | 2 years (shown on PETKIT product page badge) | 2 years (shown on PETKIT product page badge) |
| Cat weight range | 3.3 to 22 lb, cats 6 months and older | 3.3 to 22 lb |
| Max cats | Not stated; app tracks each cat by weight | Camera recognizes up to 15 cats |
| Waste drawer | 7 L sealed bin, up to 15 days for one cat (maker claim) | 8 L sealed side drawer, up to 17 days for one cat (maker claim via TechnoMeow) |
| Sensors | 11 sensors (xSecure) plus anti pinch structure; entrance stays open during cleaning | 12 sensors including proximity and weight, anti pinch |
| App | PETKIT app, 2.4 GHz WiFi | PETKIT app, 2.4 and 5 GHz WiFi; 1080p 210 degree AI camera |
| Litter type | Clumping clay, tofu, corn and bentonite; two sifters included; not crystal | Clumping clay, tofu and mixed; two sifters included |
| Size | 24.4 x 21.2 x 21.7 in, 22 lb | 25.86 x 21.18 x 23.74 in, 24.25 lb, 10.5 x 10.7 in entrance |
| Noise | 35 dB (maker spec) | 35 dB (maker claim) |
| Best for | odor control on a mid budget | camera monitoring on a smaller budget |
| Skip if | the box will sit on carpet | you have a very large cat |
Specs are maker claims unless a reviewer is named. Prices from the stores we link, checked daily.
What reviewers found
PETKIT PuraMax 2
- Cats.com: Best Odor Control in the October 2026 roundup; magnetic litter remover does not work well and the unit is designed for hard floors. Source
- Cats.com (3.8/5): Leak proof liner held up; small cats used it but cats over ten pounds ignored it; emptying with the litter remover was slow. Source
- Galaxus: Improvements over the original Pura Max mainly help cats that spray the walls; rough base still collects stuck litter. Source
PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2
- TechnoMeow: Camera helped monitor a senior cat with a vestibular condition; odor control excellent; sensors unreliable on carpet so manual scoop mode was used. Source
Pros and cons
PETKIT PuraMax 2
Pros
- Sealed 7 L bin with odor eliminator
- 11 sensors and an always open entrance
- Works with clay and tofu litter
- Often discounted on the PETKIT store
Cons
- Deep clean emptying is slow
- Weight sensing unreliable on carpet
- Larger cats ignored it in Cats.com testing
PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2
Pros
- AI camera with cat recognition
- 8 L sealed drawer with two deodorizers
- Works with clay and tofu litter
- Supports 5 GHz WiFi
Cons
- Sensors unreliable on carpet
- Face recognition needs cats to face the camera
- Compact interior for big cats
- Chewy listing was out of stock when checked
Questions buyers ask
Which is better, the PETKIT PuraMax 2 or the PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2?
The PETKIT PuraMax 2 has a published review score and ranks #8 in our self cleaning litter boxes ranking; the PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2 is not scored yet. Pick the PETKIT PuraMax 2 for odor control on a mid budget. Pick the PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2 for camera monitoring on a smaller budget.
Which is cheaper?
The PETKIT PuraMax 2 at $480, versus $500 for the PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2, checked Oct 26, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $742 vs $643.
What is the difference between the PuraMax 2 and the Purobot Max Pro 2?
Cat weight range: 3.3 to 22 lb, cats 6 months and older on the PuraMax 2, 3.3 to 22 lb on the Purobot Max Pro 2. Max cats: Not stated; app tracks each cat by weight on the PuraMax 2, Camera recognizes up to 15 cats on the Purobot Max Pro 2. Waste drawer: 7 L sealed bin, up to 15 days for one cat (maker claim) on the PuraMax 2, 8 L sealed side drawer, up to 17 days for one cat (maker claim via TechnoMeow) on the Purobot Max Pro 2.
Also consider
See all ranked →More comparisons
- CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box vs PETKIT PuraMax 2
- PETKIT PuraMax 2 vs PetSnowy SNOW+
- Catlink Scooper Pro-X Luxury vs PETKIT PuraMax 2
- PETKIT PuraMax 2 vs Petkit PuroBot Ultra
- PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2 vs PetSnowy SNOW+
- PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2 vs Petkit PuroBot Ultra
- Catlink Scooper Pro-X Luxury vs PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2
All self cleaning litter boxes, ranked
See the ranking →Affiliate links. We may earn a commission. It never changes our score. Disclosure