PETKIT PuraMax 2 vs Petkit PuroBot Ultra
Researched by Riley Hart · prices checked Oct 26, 2026
As of Oct 26, 2026, the PETKIT PuraMax 2 costs $480 and the Petkit PuroBot Ultra costs $699, so the PETKIT PuraMax 2 is $219 cheaper. The PETKIT PuraMax 2 scores higher in our ranking (6.9 vs 6.8 out of 10). Pick the PETKIT PuraMax 2 for odor control on a mid budget. Pick the Petkit PuroBot Ultra for health tracking with minimal handling.
- Cat weight
- 3.3 to 22 lb
- Litter
- Clay
- Waste drawer
- 7 L sealed bin
A capable mid priced box with strong odor control and a sealed bin, best on hard floors with small to medium cats. Reviewers found emptying the drum for a deep clean slow, and larger cats ignored it in one test.
Full PETKIT PuraMax 2 review →- Cat weight
- 3.3 lb and up
- Litter
- Clumping only
- Waste drawer
- Auto sealed bags
The PuroBot Ultra is for owners who want camera health logs and sealed waste bags they rarely touch. It is expensive, deep at 32.2 inches, and Cats.com found larger cats avoided it. Several features sit behind a subscription.
Full Petkit PuroBot Ultra review →Side by side
| PETKIT PuraMax 2 | Petkit PuroBot Ultra | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $480 | $699 |
| 3 year cost | $742 | $699 |
| Our score | 6.9/10 | 6.8/10 |
| Rank in Litter box | #8 | #9 |
| Status | on sale | on sale |
| Warranty | 2 years (shown on PETKIT product page badge) | 1 year (per Catster) |
| Cat weight range | 3.3 to 22 lb, cats 6 months and older | 3.3 lb and up (Catster) |
| Max cats | Not stated; app tracks each cat by weight | Not stated; identifies cats by face, size and coat |
| Waste drawer | 7 L sealed bin, up to 15 days for one cat (maker claim) | Auto sealed bags, 14+ days for one cat (Catster) |
| Sensors | 11 sensors (xSecure) plus anti pinch structure; entrance stays open during cleaning | 20 sensors plus a rotating camera (Sam's Club listing) |
| App | PETKIT app, 2.4 GHz WiFi | Petkit app with live camera, two way talk and logs; full playback needs a Care+ plan |
| Litter type | Clumping clay, tofu, corn and bentonite; two sifters included; not crystal | Clumping only, clay or tofu; two sifters included |
| Size | 24.4 x 21.2 x 21.7 in, 22 lb | 21 x 32.2 x 24 in, 32 lb (Catster) |
| Noise | 35 dB (maker spec) | n/a |
| Best for | odor control on a mid budget | health tracking with minimal handling |
| Skip if | the box will sit on carpet | you have large cats or want no subscription |
Specs are maker claims unless a reviewer is named. Prices from the stores we link, checked daily.
What reviewers found
PETKIT PuraMax 2
- Cats.com: Best Odor Control in the October 2026 roundup; magnetic litter remover does not work well and the unit is designed for hard floors. Source
- Cats.com (3.8/5): Leak proof liner held up; small cats used it but cats over ten pounds ignored it; emptying with the litter remover was slow. Source
- Galaxus: Improvements over the original Pura Max mainly help cats that spray the walls; rough base still collects stuck litter. Source
Petkit PuroBot Ultra
- Cats.com (3.8/5): Six weeks of testing: scooping and sealing worked well, but larger cats would not use it, face recognition sometimes confused two cats, bags tore easily and litter leaked around the edges. Source
- Catster (4.9/5): Six weeks with one cat: no litter smell noticed, and the camera helped the tester spot a period of constipation; filling it with litter was awkward and there is no low litter alert. Source
Pros and cons
PETKIT PuraMax 2
Pros
- Sealed 7 L bin with odor eliminator
- 11 sensors and an always open entrance
- Works with clay and tofu litter
- Often discounted on the PETKIT store
Cons
- Deep clean emptying is slow
- Weight sensing unreliable on carpet
- Larger cats ignored it in Cats.com testing
Petkit PuroBot Ultra
Pros
- Seals waste into bags automatically
- Camera helped a Catster tester spot constipation
- Strong odor control in two reviews
- Open front never fully closes
Cons
- Larger cats avoided it in Cats.com testing
- Face ID mixed up two cats at times
- Full playback needs a Care+ subscription
- Thin bags tore; no low litter alert
Questions buyers ask
Which is better, the PETKIT PuraMax 2 or the Petkit PuroBot Ultra?
The PETKIT PuraMax 2 scores higher in our ranking (6.9 vs 6.8 out of 10). Pick the PETKIT PuraMax 2 for odor control on a mid budget. Pick the Petkit PuroBot Ultra for health tracking with minimal handling.
Which is cheaper?
The PETKIT PuraMax 2 at $480, versus $699 for the Petkit PuroBot Ultra, checked Oct 26, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $742 vs $699.
What is the difference between the PuraMax 2 and the PuroBot Ultra?
Cat weight range: 3.3 to 22 lb, cats 6 months and older on the PuraMax 2, 3.3 lb and up (Catster) on the PuroBot Ultra. Max cats: Not stated; app tracks each cat by weight on the PuraMax 2, Not stated; identifies cats by face, size and coat on the PuroBot Ultra. Waste drawer: 7 L sealed bin, up to 15 days for one cat (maker claim) on the PuraMax 2, Auto sealed bags, 14+ days for one cat (Catster) on the PuroBot Ultra.
Also consider
See all ranked →More comparisons
- CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box vs PETKIT PuraMax 2
- PETKIT PuraMax 2 vs PetSnowy SNOW+
- Catlink Scooper Pro-X Luxury vs PETKIT PuraMax 2
- PETKIT PuraMax 2 vs PETKIT Purobot Max Pro 2
- Petkit PuroBot Ultra vs Petlibro Luma
- Petkit PuroBot Ultra vs Whisker Litter-Robot 4
- Petkit PuroBot Ultra vs Smarty Pear Leo's Loo Too
- Petkit PuroBot Ultra vs Whisker Litter-Robot 5
All self cleaning litter boxes, ranked
See the ranking →Affiliate links. We may earn a commission. It never changes our score. Disclosure