Skip to content
Live

Petkit PuroBot Ultra vs Whisker Litter-Robot 5

Researched by Riley Hart · prices checked Oct 26, 2026

Short answer · checked Oct 26, 2026

As of Oct 26, 2026, the Petkit PuroBot Ultra costs $699 and the Whisker Litter-Robot 5 costs $799, so the Petkit PuroBot Ultra is $100 cheaper. The Petkit PuroBot Ultra has a published review score and ranks #9 in our self cleaning litter boxes ranking; the Whisker Litter-Robot 5 is not scored yet. Pick the Petkit PuroBot Ultra for health tracking with minimal handling. Pick the Whisker Litter-Robot 5 for large cats and multi cat homes.

Litter box
PetkitPuroBot Ultra
Cat weight
3.3 lb and up
Litter
Clumping only
Waste drawer
Auto sealed bags
6.8/10Price tracked daily

The PuroBot Ultra is for owners who want camera health logs and sealed waste bags they rarely touch. It is expensive, deep at 32.2 inches, and Cats.com found larger cats avoided it. Several features sit behind a subscription.

Full Petkit PuroBot Ultra review →
Litter box
WhiskerLitter-Robot 5
Cat weight
3 to 30 lb
Max cats
Up to 5
Litter
Clumping clay
Waste drawer
Sealed
ON SALEPrice tracked daily

The sensible pick in the Litter-Robot 5 family: same globe, drawer and weight tracking as the Pro without the cameras. It suits larger cats and multi cat homes better than the Litter-Robot 4, but the LitterHopper add on is listed separately and settings live only in the app.

Full Whisker Litter-Robot 5 review →

Side by side

Petkit PuroBot UltraWhisker Litter-Robot 5
Price$699$799
3 year cost$699$955
Our score6.8/10Not scored yet
Rank in Litter box#9#18
Statuson saleon sale
Warranty1 year (per Catster)1 year (WhiskerCare), extendable to 3 years; 90 day in home trial
Cat weight range3.3 lb and up (Catster)3 to 30 lb
Max catsNot stated; identifies cats by face, size and coatUp to 5
Waste drawerAuto sealed bags, 14+ days for one cat (Catster)Sealed drawer with carbon filter, up to 10 days for one cat (maker claim)
Sensors20 sensors plus a rotating camera (Sam's Club listing)Multiple lasers, weight sensing, SmartScale, WasteID urine vs stool detection, SafeCat system
AppPetkit app with live camera, two way talk and logs; full playback needs a Care+ planWhisker app (2.4 GHz WiFi); free tier shows 7 days of visits and weights
Litter typeClumping only, clay or tofu; two sifters includedClumping clay recommended; plant based, non clumping, paper and pellet litters not recommended
Size21 x 32.2 x 24 in, 32 lb (Catster)22 x 27 in footprint, 29.9 in tall, 15.75 x 15.75 in entry, 28.7 lb empty
Noisen/aNo dB rating published; QuietSift motor
Best forhealth tracking with minimal handlinglarge cats and multi cat homes
Skip ifyou have large cats or want no subscriptionyou want the lowest price from Whisker

Specs are maker claims unless a reviewer is named. Prices from the stores we link, checked daily.

What reviewers found

Petkit PuroBot Ultra

  • Cats.com (3.8/5): Six weeks of testing: scooping and sealing worked well, but larger cats would not use it, face recognition sometimes confused two cats, bags tore easily and litter leaked around the edges. Source
  • Catster (4.9/5): Six weeks with one cat: no litter smell noticed, and the camera helped the tester spot a period of constipation; filling it with litter was awkward and there is no low litter alert. Source

Whisker Litter-Robot 5

  • Cats.com: Described in the October 2026 roundup as nearly the same as the 5 Pro without cameras, saving $100. Source
  • 9to5Toys: Review of the 5 series found it quieter, smoother and less sensitive to placement on carpet than the Litter-Robot 4, with a better carbon filter. Source

Pros and cons

Petkit PuroBot Ultra

Pros

  • Seals waste into bags automatically
  • Camera helped a Catster tester spot constipation
  • Strong odor control in two reviews
  • Open front never fully closes

Cons

  • Larger cats avoided it in Cats.com testing
  • Face ID mixed up two cats at times
  • Full playback needs a Care+ subscription
  • Thin bags tore; no low litter alert

Whisker Litter-Robot 5

Pros

  • Rated for cats up to 30 lb and up to 5 cats
  • WasteID tells urine from stool
  • Free app tracking without a subscription
  • 90 day in home trial

Cons

  • $799 is still a high entry price
  • No camera
  • Large footprint at 22 x 27 in
  • Reviewers prefer the Litter-Robot 4's raised buttons

Questions buyers ask

Which is better, the Petkit PuroBot Ultra or the Whisker Litter-Robot 5?

The Petkit PuroBot Ultra has a published review score and ranks #9 in our self cleaning litter boxes ranking; the Whisker Litter-Robot 5 is not scored yet. Pick the Petkit PuroBot Ultra for health tracking with minimal handling. Pick the Whisker Litter-Robot 5 for large cats and multi cat homes.

Which is cheaper?

The Petkit PuroBot Ultra at $699, versus $799 for the Whisker Litter-Robot 5, checked Oct 26, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $699 vs $955.

What is the difference between the PuroBot Ultra and the Litter-Robot 5?

Cat weight range: 3.3 lb and up (Catster) on the PuroBot Ultra, 3 to 30 lb on the Litter-Robot 5. Max cats: Not stated; identifies cats by face, size and coat on the PuroBot Ultra, Up to 5 on the Litter-Robot 5. Waste drawer: Auto sealed bags, 14+ days for one cat (Catster) on the PuroBot Ultra, Sealed drawer with carbon filter, up to 10 days for one cat (maker claim) on the Litter-Robot 5.

Also consider

See all ranked →

More comparisons

All self cleaning litter boxes, ranked

See the ranking →

Affiliate links. We may earn a commission. It never changes our score. Disclosure