Skip to content
Live

Petkit PuroBot Ultra vs Whisker Litter-Robot 5 Pro

Researched by Riley Hart · prices checked Oct 26, 2026

Short answer · checked Oct 26, 2026

As of Oct 26, 2026, the Petkit PuroBot Ultra costs $699 and the Whisker Litter-Robot 5 Pro costs $999, so the Petkit PuroBot Ultra is $300 cheaper. The Petkit PuroBot Ultra scores higher in our ranking (6.8 vs 6.4 out of 10). Pick the Petkit PuroBot Ultra for health tracking with minimal handling. Pick the Whisker Litter-Robot 5 Pro for multi cat homes wanting health tracking.

Litter box
PetkitPuroBot Ultra
Cat weight
3.3 lb and up
Litter
Clumping only
Waste drawer
Auto sealed bags
6.8/10Price tracked daily

The PuroBot Ultra is for owners who want camera health logs and sealed waste bags they rarely touch. It is expensive, deep at 32.2 inches, and Cats.com found larger cats avoided it. Several features sit behind a subscription.

Full Petkit PuroBot Ultra review →
Litter box
WhiskerLitter-Robot 5 Pro
Cat weight
3 to 30 lb
Max cats
Up to 5
Litter
Clumping clay
Waste drawer
Sealed
6.4/10Price tracked daily

The most complete self cleaning box we list, aimed at multi cat homes that want to see who used the box and track weight trends. If you do not need cameras, the Litter-Robot 5 does the same cleaning for $100 less, and some smart features sit behind a monthly membership.

Full Whisker Litter-Robot 5 Pro review →

Side by side

Petkit PuroBot UltraWhisker Litter-Robot 5 Pro
Price$699$999
3 year cost$699$1,155
Our score6.8/106.4/10
Rank in Litter box#9#10
Statuson saleon sale
Warranty1 year (per Catster)1 year (WhiskerCare), extendable to 3 years; 90 day in home trial
Cat weight range3.3 lb and up (Catster)3 to 30 lb
Max catsNot stated; identifies cats by face, size and coatUp to 5
Waste drawerAuto sealed bags, 14+ days for one cat (Catster)Sealed drawer with carbon filter, about 10 days between emptyings for one cat (maker claim)
Sensors20 sensors plus a rotating camera (Sam's Club listing)Multiple lasers, SmartScale weight sensing, WasteID urine vs stool detection, SafeCat system
AppPetkit app with live camera, two way talk and logs; full playback needs a Care+ planWhisker app; dual 1080p night vision cameras; Whisker+ optional at $7.99/month
Litter typeClumping only, clay or tofu; two sifters includedClumping clay recommended; crystal, plant based, paper and pellet litters not recommended
Size21 x 32.2 x 24 in, 32 lb (Catster)22 x 27 in footprint, 29.9 in tall, 15.75 x 15.75 in entry, 29.6 lb empty
Noisen/aNo dB rating published; QuietSift motor
Best forhealth tracking with minimal handlingmulti cat homes wanting health tracking
Skip ifyou have large cats or want no subscriptionyou do not want a subscription or cameras

Specs are maker claims unless a reviewer is named. Prices from the stores we link, checked daily.

What reviewers found

Petkit PuroBot Ultra

  • Cats.com (3.8/5): Six weeks of testing: scooping and sealing worked well, but larger cats would not use it, face recognition sometimes confused two cats, bags tore easily and litter leaked around the edges. Source
  • Catster (4.9/5): Six weeks with one cat: no litter smell noticed, and the camera helped the tester spot a period of constipation; filling it with litter was awkward and there is no low litter alert. Source

Whisker Litter-Robot 5 Pro

  • Cats.com: Named Overall Best in its October 2026 roundup of 38 tested models. Source
  • Cats.com (4.6/5): Odor control and sifting matched the Litter-Robot 4; reviewer could not test facial recognition without Whisker+ and questioned whether cameras justify the extra $100. Source
  • 9to5Toys: Quieter and sturdier than the Litter-Robot 4 with better odor control; bin full alert sometimes fired at about half capacity and urine was sometimes labeled as solid waste. Source

Pros and cons

Petkit PuroBot Ultra

Pros

  • Seals waste into bags automatically
  • Camera helped a Catster tester spot constipation
  • Strong odor control in two reviews
  • Open front never fully closes

Cons

  • Larger cats avoided it in Cats.com testing
  • Face ID mixed up two cats at times
  • Full playback needs a Care+ subscription
  • Thin bags tore; no low litter alert

Whisker Litter-Robot 5 Pro

Pros

  • Supports up to 5 cats from 3 to 30 lb
  • Dual cameras plus weight based cat tracking
  • Large sealed drawer, about 10 days for one cat
  • 90 day trial from Whisker

Cons

  • Most expensive box in this list
  • Facial recognition and long history need Whisker+
  • Settings change only in the app
  • Reviewers report early bin full alerts and some urine mislabeled as stool

Questions buyers ask

Which is better, the Petkit PuroBot Ultra or the Whisker Litter-Robot 5 Pro?

The Petkit PuroBot Ultra scores higher in our ranking (6.8 vs 6.4 out of 10). Pick the Petkit PuroBot Ultra for health tracking with minimal handling. Pick the Whisker Litter-Robot 5 Pro for multi cat homes wanting health tracking.

Which is cheaper?

The Petkit PuroBot Ultra at $699, versus $999 for the Whisker Litter-Robot 5 Pro, checked Oct 26, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $699 vs $1,155.

What is the difference between the PuroBot Ultra and the Litter-Robot 5 Pro?

Cat weight range: 3.3 lb and up (Catster) on the PuroBot Ultra, 3 to 30 lb on the Litter-Robot 5 Pro. Max cats: Not stated; identifies cats by face, size and coat on the PuroBot Ultra, Up to 5 on the Litter-Robot 5 Pro. Waste drawer: Auto sealed bags, 14+ days for one cat (Catster) on the PuroBot Ultra, Sealed drawer with carbon filter, about 10 days between emptyings for one cat (maker… on the Litter-Robot 5 Pro.

Also consider

See all ranked →

More comparisons

All self cleaning litter boxes, ranked

See the ranking →

Affiliate links. We may earn a commission. It never changes our score. Disclosure