Skip to content
Live

Neakasa M1 vs PETKIT PuraMax 2

Researched by Riley Hart · prices checked Oct 15, 2026

Short answer · checked Oct 15, 2026

As of Oct 15, 2026, the Neakasa M1 costs $430 and the PETKIT PuraMax 2 costs $480, so the Neakasa M1 is $50 cheaper. The Neakasa M1 scores higher in our ranking (8.1 vs 6.8 out of 10). Pick the Neakasa M1 for large cats that dislike hoods. Pick the PETKIT PuraMax 2 for odor control on a mid budget. They split the points we can measure, 2 each.

Who wins, point by point

They split the points we can measure, 2 each. Built from today's prices, the specs and independent tests for these two robots.

M1PuraMax 2Winner
Price today$430$480M1
3 year cost$482$742M1
Warranty1 year2 yearsPuraMax 2
Noise50 dB35 dBPuraMax 2
Pick the M1 if
  • You want to spend less (saves $50)
  • Best for large cats that dislike hoods
Pick the PuraMax 2 if
  • You care most about warranty (2 years vs 1 year)
  • You care most about noise (35 dB vs 50 dB)
  • Best for odor control on a mid budget
Litter box
NeakasaM1
Cat weight
2.2 to 33 lb
Litter
Clumping granular
Waste drawer
11.23 L bin
8.1/10Price tracked daily

Open top box for big or wary cats, rated up to 33 lb

Full Neakasa M1 review, pros and cons →
Litter box
PETKITPuraMax 2
Cat weight
3.3 to 22 lb
Litter
Clay
Waste drawer
7 L sealed bin
6.8/10Price tracked daily

Mid priced drum box with 11 sensors and a sealed bin

Full PETKIT PuraMax 2 review, pros and cons →

Side by side

Neakasa M1PETKIT PuraMax 2
Price$430$480
3 year cost$482$742
Our score8.1/106.8/10
Rank in Litter box#5#13
Statuson saleon sale
Warranty1 year (per Cats.com)2 years (shown on PETKIT product page badge)
Cat weight range2.2 to 33 lb3.3 to 22 lb, cats 6 months and older
Max catsNot stated; marketed for multi cat homesNot stated; app tracks each cat by weight
Waste drawer11.23 L bin, up to 14 days (Catster)7 L sealed bin, up to 15 days for one cat (maker claim)
Sensors6 sets of infrared sensors and 4 weight sensors11 sensors (xSecure) plus anti pinch structure; entrance stays open during cleaning
AppNeakasa app (iOS and Android)PETKIT app, 2.4 GHz WiFi
Litter typeClumping granular litter such as clayClumping clay, tofu, corn and bentonite; two sifters included; not crystal
Size23.26 x 20.67 in footprint, 20.2 in tall, entry 13.86 in high, 22.81 lb24.4 x 21.2 x 21.7 in, 22 lb
Noise50 dB (maker claim)35 dB (maker spec)
Best forlarge cats that dislike hoodsodor control on a mid budget
Skip ifyou have dogs or a senior catthe box will sit on carpet

Specs are maker claims unless a reviewer is named. Prices from the stores we link, checked daily.

What reviewers found

Neakasa M1

  • Cats.com (4/5): Easy cleaning and good app; bin sometimes reported full early, shutting the unit down; dust builds up on the surface. Source
  • Catster (4.9/5): Cat interrupted the first cycle about 30 times and the box paused each time without pinching; odor became noticeable after about seven days. Source

PETKIT PuraMax 2

  • Cats.com: Best Odor Control in the October 2026 roundup; magnetic litter remover does not work well and the unit is designed for hard floors. Source
  • Cats.com (3.8/5): Leak proof liner held up; small cats used it but cats over ten pounds ignored it; emptying with the litter remover was slow. Source

Questions buyers ask

Which is better, the Neakasa M1 or the PETKIT PuraMax 2?

The Neakasa M1 scores higher in our ranking (8.1 vs 6.8 out of 10). Pick the Neakasa M1 for large cats that dislike hoods. Pick the PETKIT PuraMax 2 for odor control on a mid budget.

Which is cheaper?

The Neakasa M1 at $430, versus $480 for the PETKIT PuraMax 2, checked Oct 15, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $482 vs $742.

What is the difference between the M1 and the PuraMax 2?

Cat weight range: 2.2 to 33 lb on the M1, 3.3 to 22 lb, cats 6 months and older on the PuraMax 2. Max cats: Not stated; marketed for multi cat homes on the M1, Not stated; app tracks each cat by weight on the PuraMax 2. Waste drawer: 11.23 L bin, up to 14 days (Catster) on the M1, 7 L sealed bin, up to 15 days for one cat (maker claim) on the PuraMax 2.

Also consider at this price

See all ranked →

More comparisons

All self cleaning litter boxes, ranked

See the ranking →

Affiliate links. We may earn a commission. It never changes our score. Disclosure

Black Friday is Nov 27Get the Black Friday prices on self cleaning litter boxes the day they drop

We check prices every morning and compare them with each model's 2026 low. One email when real deals land, plus our 5 minute Friday roundup. Unsubscribe anytime.