Neakasa M1 vs Petlibro Luma
Researched by Riley Hart · prices checked Nov 4, 2026
As of Nov 4, 2026, the Neakasa M1 costs $430 and the Petlibro Luma costs $600, so the Neakasa M1 is $170 cheaper. The Neakasa M1 scores higher in our ranking (8.1 vs 7.1 out of 10). Pick the Neakasa M1 for large cats that dislike hoods. Pick the Petlibro Luma for tracking each cat's habits. The Petlibro Luma wins 3 of 5 points we can measure.
Who wins, point by point
The Petlibro Luma wins 3 of 5 points we can measure. Built from today's prices, the specs and independent tests for these two robots.
| M1 | Luma | Winner | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price today | $430 | $600 | M1 |
| 3 year cost | $482 | $600 | M1 |
| Cats.com score | 4/5 | 4.5/5 | Luma |
| Warranty | 1 year | 24 months | Luma |
| Noise | 50 dB | 47 dB | Luma |
- You want to spend less (saves $170)
- Best for large cats that dislike hoods
- You care most about cats.com score (4.5/5 vs 4/5)
- You care most about warranty (24 months vs 1 year)
- You care most about noise (47 dB vs 50 dB)
- Best for tracking each cat's habits
- Cat weight
- 2.2 to 33 lb
- Litter
- Clumping granular
- Waste drawer
- 11.23 L bin
Open top box for big or wary cats, rated up to 33 lb
Full Neakasa M1 review, pros and cons →- Cat weight
- 2.2 to 22 lb
- Max cats
- Recognizes up to 10 cats
- Litter
- Clumping
- Waste drawer
- 11 L
Open top box with a camera that logs each cat's visits
Full Petlibro Luma review, pros and cons →Side by side
| Neakasa M1 | Petlibro Luma | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $430 | $600 |
| 3 year cost | $482 | $600 |
| Our score | 8.1/10 | 7.1/10 |
| Rank in Litter box | #5 | #12 |
| Status | on sale | on sale |
| Warranty | 1 year (per Cats.com) | 24 months (maker) |
| Cat weight range | 2.2 to 33 lb | 2.2 to 22 lb (maker) |
| Max cats | Not stated; marketed for multi cat homes | Recognizes up to 10 cats (maker) |
| Waste drawer | 11.23 L bin, up to 14 days (Catster) | 11 L (2.9 gal), up to 7 days for 2 cats (maker) |
| Sensors | 6 sets of infrared sensors and 4 weight sensors | Weight, camera and infrared motion sensors with anti pinch protection |
| App | Neakasa app (iOS and Android) | Petlibro app (iOS and Android); AI waste analysis and video history need a $9.99 per month plan |
| Litter type | Clumping granular litter such as clay | Clumping, tofu and mixed litters; not crystal, pine or ultra fine litter |
| Size | 23.26 x 20.67 in footprint, 20.2 in tall, entry 13.86 in high, 22.81 lb | 23.3 x 22.5 x 28.1 in, 17.4 in entrance, 33.01 lb |
| Noise | 50 dB (maker claim) | 35 to 47 dB depending on fan speed (maker claim) |
| Best for | large cats that dislike hoods | tracking each cat's habits |
| Skip if | you have dogs or a senior cat | you want no subscription or keep it on carpet |
Specs are maker claims unless a reviewer is named. Prices from the stores we link, checked daily.
What reviewers found
Neakasa M1
- Cats.com (4/5): Easy cleaning and good app; bin sometimes reported full early, shutting the unit down; dust builds up on the surface. Source
- Catster (4.9/5): Cat interrupted the first cycle about 30 times and the box paused each time without pinching; odor became noticeable after about seven days. Source
Petlibro Luma
- Cats.com (4.5/5): Easy setup, quick cat acceptance, quiet raking and a sealed drawer; AI analysis needs a subscription and some owners report weight sensor false detections. Source
- Tom's Guide: After several months with two cats, the cats used it more than a Litter-Robot 5 placed beside it, and the app flagged when one cat stopped using the box for a week. Source
Questions buyers ask
Which is better, the Neakasa M1 or the Petlibro Luma?
The Neakasa M1 scores higher in our ranking (8.1 vs 7.1 out of 10). Pick the Neakasa M1 for large cats that dislike hoods. Pick the Petlibro Luma for tracking each cat's habits.
Which is cheaper?
The Neakasa M1 at $430, versus $600 for the Petlibro Luma, checked Nov 4, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $482 vs $600.
What is the difference between the M1 and the Luma?
Cat weight range: 2.2 to 33 lb on the M1, 2.2 to 22 lb (maker) on the Luma. Max cats: Not stated; marketed for multi cat homes on the M1, Recognizes up to 10 cats (maker) on the Luma. Waste drawer: 11.23 L bin, up to 14 days (Catster) on the M1, 11 L (2.9 gal), up to 7 days for 2 cats (maker) on the Luma.
Also consider at this price
See all ranked →More comparisons
All self cleaning litter boxes, ranked
See the ranking →Affiliate links. We may earn a commission. It never changes our score. Disclosure
We check prices every morning and compare them with each model's 2026 low. One email when real deals land, plus our 5 minute Friday roundup. Unsubscribe anytime.