CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box vs CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X)
Researched by Riley Hart · prices checked Oct 26, 2026
As of Oct 26, 2026, the CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box costs $469 and the CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) costs $450, so the CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) is $19 cheaper. The CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box scores higher in our ranking (7.7 vs 7.6 out of 10). Pick the CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box for no bags or litter disposal. Pick the CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) for owners who want no app.
- Litter
- Washable granules
- Waste drawer
- None
The only box here that needs no bags and no litter dumping, because it washes granules and sends waste down the drain. That only works if it can sit beside a toilet or washer, and Cats.com found odor between cycles, missed waste and tracking granules, plus cartridges and granules are a recurring cost.
Full CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box review →- Cat weight
- 3.5 to 22 lb
- Litter
- Clumping clay or tofu
- Waste drawer
- 13 L drawer
A solid middle priced choice for owners who do not want an app, with a sealed drawer and an entry barrier that cuts tracking. Its entry sits over a foot off the floor and is fairly small, so older, nervous or very large cats may not take to it, and reviewers rated customer support poorly.
Full CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) review →Side by side
| CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box | CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $469 | $450 |
| 3 year cost | $1,105 | $489 |
| Our score | 7.7/10 | 7.6/10 |
| Rank in Litter box | #3 | #5 |
| Status | on sale | on sale |
| Warranty | 18 months limited; 90 day money back guarantee | n/a |
| Cat weight range | Not stated by maker | 3.5 to 22 lb, cats at least 3 months old |
| Max cats | Not stated; marketed for multiple cats | Not stated |
| Waste drawer | None; waste is liquefied and flushed to a toilet or laundry drain | 13 L drawer, up to 14 days for one cat (retailer claim) |
| Sensors | Cat activation sensing; app scheduling up to 8 cleanings a day | Infrared, gravity (weight) and anti pinch sensors |
| App | CatGenie app (WiFi) for schedules, alerts and reorders | None required; physical panel with Auto, Manual and Empty modes |
| Litter type | Proprietary washable granules only | Clumping only; two sifting panels for clay and mixed tofu |
| Size | 19.25 in wide (front), 21 in high, 24.5 in deep incl. hoses, 25 lb | 23.62 x 22.83 x 27.95 in, entry 10.5 x 13 in |
| Noise | No dB rating; Cats.com notes audible cycle noise | About 49 dB average per Cats.com |
| Best for | no bags or litter disposal | owners who want no app |
| Skip if | you have no water and drain nearby | you need responsive support |
Specs are maker claims unless a reviewer is named. Prices from the stores we link, checked daily.
What reviewers found
CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box
CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X)
Pros and cons
CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box
Pros
- No waste bags or litter to throw out
- Reusable granules
- App with schedules and supply alerts
- 90 day money back guarantee
Cons
- Needs water line, drain and outlet
- Proprietary cartridges required to run
- Long 30 to 40 minute cycles
- Loose stool can be missed and baked on during drying
CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X)
Pros
- Works without WiFi or an app
- Entrance barrier reduces tracking
- Quiet, about 49 dB
- Two sifters for clay or tofu
Cons
- Proprietary waste bags
- Step sold separately
- Small, high entryway
- Support complaints in reviews
Questions buyers ask
Which is better, the CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box or the CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X)?
The CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box scores higher in our ranking (7.7 vs 7.6 out of 10). Pick the CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box for no bags or litter disposal. Pick the CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) for owners who want no app.
Which is cheaper?
The CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) at $450, versus $469 for the CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box, checked Oct 26, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $1,105 vs $489.
What is the difference between the A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box and the Scooper Young (Pro-X)?
Cat weight range: Not stated by maker on the A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box, 3.5 to 22 lb, cats at least 3 months old on the Scooper Young (Pro-X). Max cats: Not stated; marketed for multiple cats on the A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box, Not stated on the Scooper Young (Pro-X). Waste drawer: None; waste is liquefied and flushed to a toilet or laundry drain on the A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box, 13 L drawer, up to 14 days for one cat (retailer claim) on the Scooper Young (Pro-X).
Also consider
See all ranked →More comparisons
- CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box vs Neakasa M1
- CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box vs Catlink Scooper Pro-X Luxury
- CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box vs PETKIT PuraMax 2
- CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box vs PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X)
- CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) vs Neakasa M1
- Catlink Scooper Pro-X Luxury vs CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X)
- CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) vs PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
All self cleaning litter boxes, ranked
See the ranking →Affiliate links. We may earn a commission. It never changes our score. Disclosure