Skip to content
Live

CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box vs Whisker Litter-Robot 4

Researched by Riley Hart · prices checked Nov 4, 2026

Short answer · checked Nov 4, 2026

As of Nov 4, 2026, the CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box costs $469 and the Whisker Litter-Robot 4 costs $699, so the CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box is $230 cheaper. The CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box has a published review score and ranks #9 in our self cleaning litter boxes ranking; the Whisker Litter-Robot 4 is not scored yet. Pick the CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box for no bags or litter disposal. Pick the Whisker Litter-Robot 4 for one to four average size cats. The CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box wins 2 of 3 points we can measure.

Who wins, point by point

The CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box wins 2 of 3 points we can measure. Built from today's prices, the specs and independent tests for these two robots.

A.I. Self-Washing Cat BoxLitter-Robot 4Winner
Price today$469$699A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box
3 year cost$1,105$1,035Litter-Robot 4
Warranty18 months1 yearA.I. Self-Washing Cat Box
Pick the A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box if
  • You want to spend less (saves $230)
  • You care most about warranty (18 months vs 1 year)
  • Best for no bags or litter disposal
Pick the Litter-Robot 4 if
  • You care most about 3 year cost ($1,035 vs $1,105)
  • Best for one to four average size cats
Litter box
CatGenieA.I. Self-Washing Cat Box
Litter
Washable granules
Waste drawer
None
7.3/10Price tracked daily

Plumbed box that washes reusable granules and flushes waste

Full CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box review, pros and cons →
Litter box
WhiskerLitter-Robot 4
Cat weight
3 to 25 lb
Max cats
Up to 4
Litter
Clumping clay
Waste drawer
Sealed
ON SALEPrice tracked daily

Proven Litter-Robot with laser sensing, now Whisker's value pick

Full Whisker Litter-Robot 4 review, pros and cons →

Side by side

CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat BoxWhisker Litter-Robot 4
Price$469$699
3 year cost$1,105$1,035
Our score7.3/10Not scored yet
Rank in Litter box#9#23
Statuson saleon sale
Warranty18 months limited; 90 day money back guarantee1 year (WhiskerCare), extendable to 3 years; 90 day in home trial
Cat weight rangeNot stated by maker3 to 25 lb (kittens under 3 lb need semi automatic mode)
Max catsNot stated; marketed for multiple catsUp to 4
Waste drawerNone; waste is liquefied and flushed to a toilet or laundry drainSealed drawer with carbon filter, as little as once every 8 days (maker claim)
SensorsCat activation sensing; app scheduling up to 8 cleanings a dayLaser and weight sensors, SmartScale cat weight tracking, SafeCat system
AppCatGenie app (WiFi) for schedules, alerts and reordersWhisker app (2.4 GHz WiFi); free 7 day view, Whisker+ optional
Litter typeProprietary washable granules onlyClumping clay recommended; crystals only if they pass the screen; plant based and pellet litters not recommended
Size19.25 in wide (front), 21 in high, 24.5 in deep incl. hoses, 25 lb22 x 27 in footprint, 29.5 in tall, 15.75 x 15.75 in entry, 24 lb empty
NoiseNo dB rating; Cats.com notes audible cycle noiseNo dB rating published; QuietSift motor
Best forno bags or litter disposalone to four average size cats
Skip ifyou have no water and drain nearbyyour cat is over 25 lb

Specs are maker claims unless a reviewer is named. Prices from the stores we link, checked daily.

What reviewers found

CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box

  • Cats.com: Best Self Flushing in the October 2026 roundup; the Genie Hand almost never caught all waste and loose stool is not scooped. Source
  • Cats.com (4.1/5): Two cat test over several weeks: cats took about a week to adjust, odor control between cycles was weak and granules tracked heavily. Source

Whisker Litter-Robot 4

  • Cats.com: Runner Up in the October 2026 roundup; reliable and well built, but the smaller litter bed may not suit large cats. Source
  • The Irish Times: Quiet, no smells and a clean tray in a home test; sensors stopped the drum when a cat entered; app cat ID was less accurate for cats of similar size. Source

Questions buyers ask

Which is better, the CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box or the Whisker Litter-Robot 4?

The CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box has a published review score and ranks #9 in our self cleaning litter boxes ranking; the Whisker Litter-Robot 4 is not scored yet. Pick the CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box for no bags or litter disposal. Pick the Whisker Litter-Robot 4 for one to four average size cats.

Which is cheaper?

The CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box at $469, versus $699 for the Whisker Litter-Robot 4, checked Nov 4, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $1,105 vs $1,035.

What is the difference between the A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box and the Litter-Robot 4?

Cat weight range: Not stated by maker on the A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box, 3 to 25 lb (kittens under 3 lb need semi automatic mode) on the Litter-Robot 4. Max cats: Not stated; marketed for multiple cats on the A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box, Up to 4 on the Litter-Robot 4. Waste drawer: None; waste is liquefied and flushed to a toilet or laundry drain on the A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box, Sealed drawer with carbon filter, as little as once every 8 days (maker claim) on the Litter-Robot 4.

Also consider at this price

See all ranked →

More comparisons

All self cleaning litter boxes, ranked

See the ranking →

Affiliate links. We may earn a commission. It never changes our score. Disclosure

Black Friday is Nov 27Get the Black Friday prices on self cleaning litter boxes the day they drop

We check prices every morning and compare them with each model's 2026 low. One email when real deals land, plus our 5 minute Friday roundup. Unsubscribe anytime.