CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) vs PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
Researched by Riley Hart · prices checked Oct 25, 2026
As of Oct 25, 2026, the CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) costs $450 and the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin costs $400, so the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin is $50 cheaper. The CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) scores higher in our ranking (7.6 vs 7.5 out of 10). Pick the CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) for owners who want no app. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin for small spaces and tighter budgets.
- Cat weight
- 3.5 to 22 lb
- Litter
- Clumping clay or tofu
- Waste drawer
- 13 L drawer
A solid middle priced choice for owners who do not want an app, with a sealed drawer and an entry barrier that cuts tracking. Its entry sits over a foot off the floor and is fairly small, so older, nervous or very large cats may not take to it, and reviewers rated customer support poorly.
Full CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) review →- Cat weight
- Up to 25 lb
- Litter
- Clumping clay
- Waste drawer
- 6 L sealed drawer
The most compact and affordable box here from an established brand, with a useful app and quick support. It suits small to medium cats in tight spaces; larger cats, frail cats who struggle with the 12 inch step, and owners who hate refill costs should look elsewhere.
Full PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin review →Side by side
| CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) | PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $450 | $400 |
| 3 year cost | $489 | $986 |
| Our score | 7.6/10 | 7.5/10 |
| Rank in Litter box | #5 | #6 |
| Status | on sale | on sale |
| Warranty | n/a | 1 year (per Chewy listing) |
| Cat weight range | 3.5 to 22 lb, cats at least 3 months old | Up to 25 lb (Cats.com cites a 2.5 lb, 6 month minimum) |
| Max cats | Not stated | Not stated; marketed for multi cat homes |
| Waste drawer | 13 L drawer, up to 14 days for one cat (retailer claim) | 6 L sealed drawer with deodorizer, up to 2 weeks (maker claim) |
| Sensors | Infrared, gravity (weight) and anti pinch sensors | Exit detection, weight change detection, child lock |
| App | None required; physical panel with Auto, Manual and Empty modes | PetSafe app, 2.4 GHz WiFi; tracks weight, usage and drawer level |
| Litter type | Clumping only; two sifting panels for clay and mixed tofu | Clumping clay; Chewy says not for crystal, non clumping or large pellets |
| Size | 23.62 x 22.83 x 27.95 in, entry 10.5 x 13 in | 20.9 x 18.9 x 26.4 in, entry about 12 in off the floor |
| Noise | About 49 dB average per Cats.com | No dB rating published; reviewers describe it as quiet |
| Best for | owners who want no app | small spaces and tighter budgets |
| Skip if | you need responsive support | you have a large or senior cat |
Specs are maker claims unless a reviewer is named. Prices from the stores we link, checked daily.
What reviewers found
CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X)
PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
- Cats.com: Best Budget in the October 2026 roundup; does not auto empty litter and the raised entry may deter some cats. Source
- Cats.com (3.6/5): Month long multi cat test: quiet and easy to deep clean; smaller cats used it more than larger ones; frequent customer reports of technical problems. Source
- TechnoMeow: Most compact automatic box the reviewers tried; strong odor control; drawer fills fast with three or four cats. Source
Pros and cons
CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X)
Pros
- Works without WiFi or an app
- Entrance barrier reduces tracking
- Quiet, about 49 dB
- Two sifters for clay or tofu
Cons
- Proprietary waste bags
- Step sold separately
- Small, high entryway
- Support complaints in reviews
PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
Pros
- Lowest price among major brands here
- Compact round footprint
- App weight and usage tracking
- Easy to disassemble and clean
Cons
- Raised entry about 12 in with no step
- Not suited to large cats
- Deodorizer refills every 15 days add up
- Arrives unassembled
Questions buyers ask
Which is better, the CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) or the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin?
The CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) scores higher in our ranking (7.6 vs 7.5 out of 10). Pick the CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) for owners who want no app. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin for small spaces and tighter budgets.
Which is cheaper?
The PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin at $400, versus $450 for the CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X), checked Oct 25, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $489 vs $986.
What is the difference between the Scooper Young (Pro-X) and the ScoopFree SmartSpin?
Cat weight range: 3.5 to 22 lb, cats at least 3 months old on the Scooper Young (Pro-X), Up to 25 lb (Cats.com cites a 2.5 lb, 6 month minimum) on the ScoopFree SmartSpin. Max cats: Not stated on the Scooper Young (Pro-X), Not stated; marketed for multi cat homes on the ScoopFree SmartSpin. Waste drawer: 13 L drawer, up to 14 days for one cat (retailer claim) on the Scooper Young (Pro-X), 6 L sealed drawer with deodorizer, up to 2 weeks (maker claim) on the ScoopFree SmartSpin.
Also consider
See all ranked →More comparisons
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X)
- CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) vs Neakasa M1
- CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box vs CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X)
- Catlink Scooper Pro-X Luxury vs CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X)
- CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) vs Neakasa M1 Lite
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
- Neakasa M1 vs PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
- CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box vs PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
All self cleaning litter boxes, ranked
See the ranking →Affiliate links. We may earn a commission. It never changes our score. Disclosure