Skip to content
Live

PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin vs Whisker Litter-Robot 4

Researched by Riley Hart · prices checked Nov 4, 2026

Short answer · checked Nov 4, 2026

As of Nov 4, 2026, the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin costs $400 and the Whisker Litter-Robot 4 costs $699, so the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin is $299 cheaper. The PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin has a published review score and ranks #11 in our self cleaning litter boxes ranking; the Whisker Litter-Robot 4 is not scored yet. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin for small spaces and tighter budgets. Pick the Whisker Litter-Robot 4 for one to four average size cats. The PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin wins 2 of 3 points we can measure (1 tied).

Who wins, point by point

The PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin wins 2 of 3 points we can measure (1 tied). Built from today's prices, the specs and independent tests for these two robots.

ScoopFree SmartSpinLitter-Robot 4Winner
Price today$400$699ScoopFree SmartSpin
3 year cost$986$1,035ScoopFree SmartSpin
Warranty1 year1 yearTie
Pick the ScoopFree SmartSpin if
  • You want to spend less (saves $299)
  • Best for small spaces and tighter budgets
Pick the Litter-Robot 4 if
  • Best for one to four average size cats
Litter box
PetSafeScoopFree SmartSpin
Cat weight
Up to 25 lb
Litter
Clumping clay
Waste drawer
6 L sealed drawer
7.1/10Price tracked daily

Compact app connected box from a long running US pet brand

Full PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin review, pros and cons →
Litter box
WhiskerLitter-Robot 4
Cat weight
3 to 25 lb
Max cats
Up to 4
Litter
Clumping clay
Waste drawer
Sealed
ON SALEPrice tracked daily

Proven Litter-Robot with laser sensing, now Whisker's value pick

Full Whisker Litter-Robot 4 review, pros and cons →

Side by side

PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpinWhisker Litter-Robot 4
Price$400$699
3 year cost$986$1,035
Our score7.1/10Not scored yet
Rank in Litter box#11#23
Statuson saleon sale
Warranty1 year (per Chewy listing)1 year (WhiskerCare), extendable to 3 years; 90 day in home trial
Cat weight rangeUp to 25 lb (Cats.com cites a 2.5 lb, 6 month minimum)3 to 25 lb (kittens under 3 lb need semi automatic mode)
Max catsNot stated; marketed for multi cat homesUp to 4
Waste drawer6 L sealed drawer with deodorizer, up to 2 weeks (maker claim)Sealed drawer with carbon filter, as little as once every 8 days (maker claim)
SensorsExit detection, weight change detection, child lockLaser and weight sensors, SmartScale cat weight tracking, SafeCat system
AppPetSafe app, 2.4 GHz WiFi; tracks weight, usage and drawer levelWhisker app (2.4 GHz WiFi); free 7 day view, Whisker+ optional
Litter typeClumping clay; Chewy says not for crystal, non clumping or large pelletsClumping clay recommended; crystals only if they pass the screen; plant based and pellet litters not recommended
Size20.9 x 18.9 x 26.4 in, entry about 12 in off the floor22 x 27 in footprint, 29.5 in tall, 15.75 x 15.75 in entry, 24 lb empty
NoiseNo dB rating published; reviewers describe it as quietNo dB rating published; QuietSift motor
Best forsmall spaces and tighter budgetsone to four average size cats
Skip ifyou have a large or senior catyour cat is over 25 lb

Specs are maker claims unless a reviewer is named. Prices from the stores we link, checked daily.

What reviewers found

PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin

  • Cats.com: Best Budget in the October 2026 roundup; does not auto empty litter and the raised entry may deter some cats. Source
  • Cats.com (3.6/5): Month long multi cat test: quiet and easy to deep clean; smaller cats used it more than larger ones; frequent customer reports of technical problems. Source

Whisker Litter-Robot 4

  • Cats.com: Runner Up in the October 2026 roundup; reliable and well built, but the smaller litter bed may not suit large cats. Source
  • The Irish Times: Quiet, no smells and a clean tray in a home test; sensors stopped the drum when a cat entered; app cat ID was less accurate for cats of similar size. Source

Questions buyers ask

Which is better, the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin or the Whisker Litter-Robot 4?

The PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin has a published review score and ranks #11 in our self cleaning litter boxes ranking; the Whisker Litter-Robot 4 is not scored yet. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin for small spaces and tighter budgets. Pick the Whisker Litter-Robot 4 for one to four average size cats.

Which is cheaper?

The PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin at $400, versus $699 for the Whisker Litter-Robot 4, checked Nov 4, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $986 vs $1,035.

What is the difference between the ScoopFree SmartSpin and the Litter-Robot 4?

Cat weight range: Up to 25 lb (Cats.com cites a 2.5 lb, 6 month minimum) on the ScoopFree SmartSpin, 3 to 25 lb (kittens under 3 lb need semi automatic mode) on the Litter-Robot 4. Max cats: Not stated; marketed for multi cat homes on the ScoopFree SmartSpin, Up to 4 on the Litter-Robot 4. Waste drawer: 6 L sealed drawer with deodorizer, up to 2 weeks (maker claim) on the ScoopFree SmartSpin, Sealed drawer with carbon filter, as little as once every 8 days (maker claim) on the Litter-Robot 4.

Also consider at this price

See all ranked →

More comparisons

All self cleaning litter boxes, ranked

See the ranking →

Affiliate links. We may earn a commission. It never changes our score. Disclosure

Black Friday is Nov 27Get the Black Friday prices on self cleaning litter boxes the day they drop

We check prices every morning and compare them with each model's 2026 low. One email when real deals land, plus our 5 minute Friday roundup. Unsubscribe anytime.