Skip to content
Live

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart vs PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin

Researched by Riley Hart · prices checked Nov 4, 2026

Short answer · checked Nov 4, 2026

As of Nov 4, 2026, the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart costs $270 and the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin costs $400, so the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart is $130 cheaper. The PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart scores higher in our ranking (8.8 vs 7.1 out of 10). Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart for owners who like crystal litter. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin for small spaces and tighter budgets. The PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart wins 2 of 2 points we can measure.

Who wins, point by point

The PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart wins 2 of 2 points we can measure. Built from today's prices, the specs and independent tests for these two robots.

ScoopFree Crystal SmartScoopFree SmartSpinWinner
Price today$270$400ScoopFree Crystal Smart
3 year cost$270$986ScoopFree Crystal Smart
Pick the ScoopFree Crystal Smart if
  • You want to spend less (saves $130)
  • Best for owners who like crystal litter
Pick the ScoopFree SmartSpin if
  • Best for small spaces and tighter budgets
Litter box
PetSafeScoopFree Crystal Smart
Max cats
Single or multi cat
Litter
ScoopFree Crystal
Waste drawer
Disposable crystal
8.8/10Price tracked daily

Wi-Fi version of PetSafe's crystal tray rake box with app alerts

Full PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart review, pros and cons →
Litter box
PetSafeScoopFree SmartSpin
Cat weight
Up to 25 lb
Litter
Clumping clay
Waste drawer
6 L sealed drawer
7.1/10Price tracked daily

Compact app connected box from a long running US pet brand

Full PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin review, pros and cons →

Side by side

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal SmartPetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
Price$270$400
3 year cost$270$986
Our score8.8/107.1/10
Rank in Litter box#1#11
Statuson saleon sale
Warrantyn/a1 year (per Chewy listing)
Cat weight rangeNot published by PetSafeUp to 25 lb (Cats.com cites a 2.5 lb, 6 month minimum)
Max catsSingle or multi cat homes (PetSafe); app guidance is a tray change after about 25 days or 60 rakes for two cats (Tom's Guide)Not stated; marketed for multi cat homes
Waste drawerDisposable crystal litter tray with covered waste trap, changed about once a month (PetSafe)6 L sealed drawer with deodorizer, up to 2 weeks (maker claim)
SensorsTwo sensors detect the cat; raking starts 20 minutes after the cat leaves (Tom's Guide)Exit detection, weight change detection, child lock
AppMy PetSafe app with visit alerts, tray change alerts and activity history; LCD health counter on the unit (PetSafe, TTPM)PetSafe app, 2.4 GHz WiFi; tracks weight, usage and drawer level
Litter typeScoopFree Crystal litter only (PetSafe)Clumping clay; Chewy says not for crystal, non clumping or large pellets
Size27.6 x 19.1 x 6.2 in uncovered; 27.6 x 19.1 x 15.6 in front entry version (PetSafe)20.9 x 18.9 x 26.4 in, entry about 12 in off the floor
NoiseNo dB rating publishedNo dB rating published; reviewers describe it as quiet
PowerPlug in, cord about 10 ft (Tom's Guide)n/a
Best forowners who like crystal littersmall spaces and tighter budgets
Skip ifyou want to use your own clumping litteryou have a large or senior cat

Specs are maker claims unless a reviewer is named. Prices from the stores we link, checked daily.

What reviewers found

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart

  • Tom's Guide: A cat adopted it within a day or two; no extra odor after a month; the tray filled in about 30 days after 20 rakes, and waste sometimes stuck to the rake. Source
  • TTPM (4.5/5): Used at home with cats and a dog; liked the automatic raking and activity alerts, but notes the app cannot tell which pet used it and the tray is thrown out each time. Source

PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin

  • Cats.com: Best Budget in the October 2026 roundup; does not auto empty litter and the raised entry may deter some cats. Source
  • Cats.com (3.6/5): Month long multi cat test: quiet and easy to deep clean; smaller cats used it more than larger ones; frequent customer reports of technical problems. Source

Questions buyers ask

Which is better, the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart or the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin?

The PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart scores higher in our ranking (8.8 vs 7.1 out of 10). Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart for owners who like crystal litter. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin for small spaces and tighter budgets.

Which is cheaper?

The PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart at $270, versus $400 for the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin, checked Nov 4, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $270 vs $986.

What is the difference between the ScoopFree Crystal Smart and the ScoopFree SmartSpin?

Cat weight range: Not published by PetSafe on the ScoopFree Crystal Smart, Up to 25 lb (Cats.com cites a 2.5 lb, 6 month minimum) on the ScoopFree SmartSpin. Max cats: Single or multi cat homes (PetSafe); app guidance is a tray change after about 25 days… on the ScoopFree Crystal Smart, Not stated; marketed for multi cat homes on the ScoopFree SmartSpin. Waste drawer: Disposable crystal litter tray with covered waste trap, changed about once a month… on the ScoopFree Crystal Smart, 6 L sealed drawer with deodorizer, up to 2 weeks (maker claim) on the ScoopFree SmartSpin.

Also consider at this price

See all ranked →

More comparisons

All self cleaning litter boxes, ranked

See the ranking →

Affiliate links. We may earn a commission. It never changes our score. Disclosure