PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro vs PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart
Researched by Riley Hart · prices checked Nov 4, 2026
As of Nov 4, 2026, the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro costs $250 and the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart costs $270, so the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro is $20 cheaper. The PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart has a published review score and ranks #1 in our self cleaning litter boxes ranking; the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro is not scored yet. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro for one small or average cat on a low upfront budget. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart for owners who like crystal litter. They split the points we can measure, 1 each.
Who wins, point by point
They split the points we can measure, 1 each. Built from today's prices, the specs and independent tests for these two robots.
| ScoopFree Crystal Pro | ScoopFree Crystal Smart | Winner | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price today | $250 | $270 | ScoopFree Crystal Pro |
| 3 year cost | $1,090 | $270 | ScoopFree Crystal Smart |
- You want to spend less (saves $20)
- Best for one small or average cat on a low upfront budget
- You care most about 3 year cost ($270 vs $1,090)
- Best for owners who like crystal litter
- Litter
- PetSafe ScoopFree
- Waste drawer
- Waste raked under a lid
Low cost rake box using sealed crystal trays, no app
Full PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro review, pros and cons →- Max cats
- Single or multi cat
- Litter
- ScoopFree Crystal
- Waste drawer
- Disposable crystal
Wi-Fi version of PetSafe's crystal tray rake box with app alerts
Full PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart review, pros and cons →Side by side
| PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro | PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $250 | $270 |
| 3 year cost | $1,090 | $270 |
| Our score | Not scored yet | 8.8/10 |
| Rank in Litter box | #17 | #1 |
| Status | on sale | on sale |
| Warranty | n/a | n/a |
| Cat weight range | Not stated; an 11 lb cat fit the hood just barely (TechnoMEOW) | Not published by PetSafe |
| Max cats | Not stated; best with one average size cat (TechnoMEOW) | Single or multi cat homes (PetSafe); app guidance is a tray change after about 25 days or 60 rakes for two cats (Tom's Guide) |
| Waste drawer | Waste raked under a lid in the tray; tray lasts up to 30 days for one cat | Disposable crystal litter tray with covered waste trap, changed about once a month (PetSafe) |
| Sensors | Motion and safety sensors; rake waits 20 minutes after use | Two sensors detect the cat; raking starts 20 minutes after the cat leaves (Tom's Guide) |
| App | None; health counter display only | My PetSafe app with visit alerts, tray change alerts and activity history; LCD health counter on the unit (PetSafe, TTPM) |
| Litter type | PetSafe ScoopFree crystal trays only | ScoopFree Crystal litter only (PetSafe) |
| Size | 28.2 x 20.4 x 16 in (TechnoMEOW), 18 lb assembled | 27.6 x 19.1 x 6.2 in uncovered; 27.6 x 19.1 x 15.6 in front entry version (PetSafe) |
| Noise | n/a | No dB rating published |
| Power | n/a | Plug in, cord about 10 ft (Tom's Guide) |
| Best for | one small or average cat on a low upfront budget | owners who like crystal litter |
| Skip if | you have several cats or a large cat | you want to use your own clumping litter |
Specs are maker claims unless a reviewer is named. Prices from the stores we link, checked daily.
What reviewers found
PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro
- TechnoMEOW: About a month with one 11 lb cat: visitors could not smell it at the 30 day mark, but the cat fit the hood just barely and some crystals tracked out. Source
- NBC Select: The writer used two Crystal Pro units; clumps got stuck in the rake and each unit broke or malfunctioned after about six months. Source
PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart
- Tom's Guide: A cat adopted it within a day or two; no extra odor after a month; the tray filled in about 30 days after 20 rakes, and waste sometimes stuck to the rake. Source
- TTPM (4.5/5): Used at home with cats and a dog; liked the automatic raking and activity alerts, but notes the app cannot tell which pet used it and the tray is thrown out each time. Source
Questions buyers ask
Which is better, the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro or the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart?
The PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart has a published review score and ranks #1 in our self cleaning litter boxes ranking; the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro is not scored yet. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro for one small or average cat on a low upfront budget. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart for owners who like crystal litter.
Which is cheaper?
The PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro at $250, versus $270 for the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart, checked Nov 4, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $1,090 vs $270.
What is the difference between the ScoopFree Crystal Pro and the ScoopFree Crystal Smart?
Cat weight range: Not stated; an 11 lb cat fit the hood just barely (TechnoMEOW) on the ScoopFree Crystal Pro, Not published by PetSafe on the ScoopFree Crystal Smart. Max cats: Not stated; best with one average size cat (TechnoMEOW) on the ScoopFree Crystal Pro, Single or multi cat homes (PetSafe); app guidance is a tray change after about 25 days… on the ScoopFree Crystal Smart. Waste drawer: Waste raked under a lid in the tray; tray lasts up to 30 days for one cat on the ScoopFree Crystal Pro, Disposable crystal litter tray with covered waste trap, changed about once a month… on the ScoopFree Crystal Smart.
Also consider at this price
See all ranked →More comparisons
- PetPivot AutoScooper 11 vs PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro
- Pet Zone Smart Scoop vs PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro
- Instachew Purrclean vs PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro
- PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro vs PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart
- Instachew Purrclean vs PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart
- PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart vs PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
All self cleaning litter boxes, ranked
See the ranking →Affiliate links. We may earn a commission. It never changes our score. Disclosure