Pet Zone Smart Scoop vs PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro
Researched by Riley Hart · prices checked Nov 4, 2026
As of Nov 4, 2026, the Pet Zone Smart Scoop costs $166 and the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro costs $250, so the Pet Zone Smart Scoop is $84 cheaper. The Pet Zone Smart Scoop has a published review score and ranks #3 in our self cleaning litter boxes ranking; the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro is not scored yet. Pick the Pet Zone Smart Scoop for budget buyers with one or two cats. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro for one small or average cat on a low upfront budget. The Pet Zone Smart Scoop wins 2 of 2 points we can measure.
Who wins, point by point
The Pet Zone Smart Scoop wins 2 of 2 points we can measure. Built from today's prices, the specs and independent tests for these two robots.
| Smart Scoop | ScoopFree Crystal Pro | Winner | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price today | $166 | $250 | Smart Scoop |
| 3 year cost | $166 | $1,090 | Smart Scoop |
- You want to spend less (saves $84)
- Best for budget buyers with one or two cats
- Best for one small or average cat on a low upfront budget
- Cat weight
- 6 to 15 lb recommended
- Litter
- Clumping litter
- Waste drawer
- Covered waste
Low cost open top rake box with no app, for one or two cats
Full Pet Zone Smart Scoop review, pros and cons →- Litter
- PetSafe ScoopFree
- Waste drawer
- Waste raked under a lid
Low cost rake box using sealed crystal trays, no app
Full PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro review, pros and cons →Side by side
| Pet Zone Smart Scoop | PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $166 | $250 |
| 3 year cost | $166 | $1,090 |
| Our score | 8.6/10 | Not scored yet |
| Rank in Litter box | #3 | #17 |
| Status | on sale | on sale |
| Warranty | 1 year limited (Cats.com) | n/a |
| Cat weight range | 6 to 15 lb recommended (Cats.com) | Not stated; an 11 lb cat fit the hood just barely (TechnoMEOW) |
| Max cats | Not published; Cats.com emptied the bin every 2 to 3 days with two cats | Not stated; best with one average size cat (TechnoMEOW) |
| Waste drawer | Covered waste compartment with bag and carbon zeolite filter; 6 bags included, about a month of use (Chewy, Cats.com) | Waste raked under a lid in the tray; tray lasts up to 30 days for one cat |
| Sensors | Motion activated timer: rake runs after a countdown that restarts if a cat re enters; rake stops if obstructed (Chewy, Cats.com) | Motion and safety sensors; rake waits 20 minutes after use |
| App | None | None; health counter display only |
| Litter type | Clumping litter; Chewy also lists crystals, but Catological says it works with clumping litter only | PetSafe ScoopFree crystal trays only |
| Size | About 26.4 x 17 x 6.6 in, 10.5 lb (Cats.com) | 28.2 x 20.4 x 16 in (TechnoMEOW), 18 lb assembled |
| Noise | No dB rating published; YourBestDigs rated it quiet (2 of 5 on its noise scale) | n/a |
| Cycle delay | Chewy lists a 15 minute countdown; Cats.com observed about 10 minutes | n/a |
| Power | Corded, 7.5 ft plus cord, no battery option (Chewy) | n/a |
| Best for | budget buyers with one or two cats | one small or average cat on a low upfront budget |
| Skip if | you want app tracking or have large cats | you have several cats or a large cat |
Specs are maker claims unless a reviewer is named. Prices from the stores we link, checked daily.
What reviewers found
Pet Zone Smart Scoop
- Cats.com (4/5): Tested in a two cat home with clumping clay; cycles ran about 10 minutes after use, no odor noticed, the bin needed emptying every 2 to 3 days and the rake missed some very small waste. Source
- YourBestDigs: Named Best Overall after in home testing with two cats; rated quiet and easy to set up in 20 to 30 minutes. Last updated in 2023. Source
PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro
- TechnoMEOW: About a month with one 11 lb cat: visitors could not smell it at the 30 day mark, but the cat fit the hood just barely and some crystals tracked out. Source
- NBC Select: The writer used two Crystal Pro units; clumps got stuck in the rake and each unit broke or malfunctioned after about six months. Source
Questions buyers ask
Which is better, the Pet Zone Smart Scoop or the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro?
The Pet Zone Smart Scoop has a published review score and ranks #3 in our self cleaning litter boxes ranking; the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro is not scored yet. Pick the Pet Zone Smart Scoop for budget buyers with one or two cats. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro for one small or average cat on a low upfront budget.
Which is cheaper?
The Pet Zone Smart Scoop at $166, versus $250 for the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro, checked Nov 4, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $166 vs $1,090.
What is the difference between the Smart Scoop and the ScoopFree Crystal Pro?
Cat weight range: 6 to 15 lb recommended (Cats.com) on the Smart Scoop, Not stated; an 11 lb cat fit the hood just barely (TechnoMEOW) on the ScoopFree Crystal Pro. Max cats: Not published; Cats.com emptied the bin every 2 to 3 days with two cats on the Smart Scoop, Not stated; best with one average size cat (TechnoMEOW) on the ScoopFree Crystal Pro. Waste drawer: Covered waste compartment with bag and carbon zeolite filter; 6 bags included, about a… on the Smart Scoop, Waste raked under a lid in the tray; tray lasts up to 30 days for one cat on the ScoopFree Crystal Pro.
Also consider at this price
See all ranked →More comparisons
- Pet Zone Smart Scoop vs PetPivot AutoScooper 11
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs Pet Zone Smart Scoop
- PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro vs PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart
- PetPivot AutoScooper 11 vs PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro
- Instachew Purrclean vs PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro
- PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro vs PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
All self cleaning litter boxes, ranked
See the ranking →Affiliate links. We may earn a commission. It never changes our score. Disclosure