Catlink Scooper Open-X vs Pet Zone Smart Scoop
Researched by Riley Hart · prices checked Nov 4, 2026
As of Nov 4, 2026, the Catlink Scooper Open-X costs $230 and the Pet Zone Smart Scoop costs $166, so the Pet Zone Smart Scoop is $64 cheaper. Pick the Catlink Scooper Open-X for multi cat homes on a budget. Pick the Pet Zone Smart Scoop for budget buyers with one or two cats. The Pet Zone Smart Scoop wins 2 of 3 points we can measure.
Who wins, point by point
The Pet Zone Smart Scoop wins 2 of 3 points we can measure. Built from today's prices, the specs and independent tests for these two robots.
| Scooper Open-X | Smart Scoop | Winner | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price today | $230 | $166 | Smart Scoop |
| Cats.com score | 4.2/5 | 4/5 | Scooper Open-X |
| Cats supported | 0 | 2 | Smart Scoop |
- You care most about cats.com score (4.2/5 vs 4/5)
- Best for multi cat homes on a budget
- You want to spend less (saves $64)
- You care most about cats supported (2 vs 0)
- Best for budget buyers with one or two cats
- Max cats
- Multi cat
- Litter
- All clumping litters
- Waste drawer
- 12 L
Budget open top box that tracks several cats by weight
Full Catlink Scooper Open-X review, pros and cons →- Cat weight
- 6 to 15 lb recommended
- Litter
- Clumping litter
- Waste drawer
- Covered waste
Low cost open top rake box with no app, for one or two cats
Full Pet Zone Smart Scoop review, pros and cons →Side by side
| Catlink Scooper Open-X | Pet Zone Smart Scoop | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $230 | $166 |
| 3 year cost | $230 | $166 |
| Our score | 8.6/10 | 8.6/10 |
| Rank in Litter box | #4 | #3 |
| Status | on sale | on sale |
| Warranty | n/a | 1 year limited (Cats.com) |
| Cat weight range | Not stated by retailers | 6 to 15 lb recommended (Cats.com) |
| Max cats | Multi cat; cats must differ by 0.9 lb to be told apart (Cats.com) | Not published; Cats.com emptied the bin every 2 to 3 days with two cats |
| Waste drawer | 12 L, up to 15 days for one cat (PetSmart) | Covered waste compartment with bag and carbon zeolite filter; 6 bags included, about a month of use (Chewy, Cats.com) |
| Sensors | Multiple infrared and anti pinch sensors; fewer at the back (Cats.com) | Motion activated timer: rake runs after a countdown that restarts if a cat re enters; rake stops if obstructed (Chewy, Cats.com) |
| App | CATLINK app, 2.4 and 5 GHz WiFi | None |
| Litter type | All clumping litters | Clumping litter; Chewy also lists crystals, but Catological says it works with clumping litter only |
| Size | 23.43 x 21.06 in, 15.43 in tall (PetSmart, Multicat) | About 26.4 x 17 x 6.6 in, 10.5 lb (Cats.com) |
| Noise | n/a | No dB rating published; YourBestDigs rated it quiet (2 of 5 on its noise scale) |
| Cycle delay | n/a | Chewy lists a 15 minute countdown; Cats.com observed about 10 minutes |
| Power | n/a | Corded, 7.5 ft plus cord, no battery option (Chewy) |
| Best for | multi cat homes on a budget | budget buyers with one or two cats |
| Skip if | odor control is your top priority | you want app tracking or have large cats |
Specs are maker claims unless a reviewer is named. Prices from the stores we link, checked daily.
What reviewers found
Catlink Scooper Open-X
- Cats.com (4.2/5): Over a month in a multi cat home, setup was quick and the smaller cats used it often; odor built up because the bin is not sealed, and the reviewer advised supervising emptying. Source
Pet Zone Smart Scoop
- Cats.com (4/5): Tested in a two cat home with clumping clay; cycles ran about 10 minutes after use, no odor noticed, the bin needed emptying every 2 to 3 days and the rake missed some very small waste. Source
- YourBestDigs: Named Best Overall after in home testing with two cats; rated quiet and easy to set up in 20 to 30 minutes. Last updated in 2023. Source
Questions buyers ask
Which is better, the Catlink Scooper Open-X or the Pet Zone Smart Scoop?
Pick the Catlink Scooper Open-X for multi cat homes on a budget. Pick the Pet Zone Smart Scoop for budget buyers with one or two cats.
Which is cheaper?
The Pet Zone Smart Scoop at $166, versus $230 for the Catlink Scooper Open-X, checked Nov 4, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $230 vs $166.
What is the difference between the Scooper Open-X and the Smart Scoop?
Cat weight range: Not stated by retailers on the Scooper Open-X, 6 to 15 lb recommended (Cats.com) on the Smart Scoop. Max cats: Multi cat; cats must differ by 0.9 lb to be told apart (Cats.com) on the Scooper Open-X, Not published; Cats.com emptied the bin every 2 to 3 days with two cats on the Smart Scoop. Waste drawer: 12 L, up to 15 days for one cat (PetSmart) on the Scooper Open-X, Covered waste compartment with bag and carbon zeolite filter; 6 bags included, about a… on the Smart Scoop.
Also consider at this price
See all ranked →More comparisons
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs Neakasa M1
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs Whisker Litter-Robot 4
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs Neakasa M1 Lite
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs PetPivot AutoScooper 11
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs Catlink Scooper Pro-X Luxury
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X)
All self cleaning litter boxes, ranked
See the ranking →Affiliate links. We may earn a commission. It never changes our score. Disclosure