Catlink Scooper Open-X vs PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart
Researched by Riley Hart · prices checked Nov 4, 2026
As of Nov 4, 2026, the Catlink Scooper Open-X costs $230 and the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart costs $270, so the Catlink Scooper Open-X is $40 cheaper. The PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart scores higher in our ranking (8.8 vs 8.6 out of 10). Pick the Catlink Scooper Open-X for multi cat homes on a budget. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart for owners who like crystal litter. They split the points we can measure, 1 each.
Who wins, point by point
They split the points we can measure, 1 each. Built from today's prices, the specs and independent tests for these two robots.
| Scooper Open-X | ScoopFree Crystal Smart | Winner | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price today | $230 | $270 | Scooper Open-X |
| Cats supported | 0 | 25 | ScoopFree Crystal Smart |
- You want to spend less (saves $40)
- Best for multi cat homes on a budget
- You care most about cats supported (25 vs 0)
- Best for owners who like crystal litter
- Max cats
- Multi cat
- Litter
- All clumping litters
- Waste drawer
- 12 L
Budget open top box that tracks several cats by weight
Full Catlink Scooper Open-X review, pros and cons →- Max cats
- Single or multi cat
- Litter
- ScoopFree Crystal
- Waste drawer
- Disposable crystal
Wi-Fi version of PetSafe's crystal tray rake box with app alerts
Full PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart review, pros and cons →Side by side
| Catlink Scooper Open-X | PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $230 | $270 |
| 3 year cost | $230 | $270 |
| Our score | 8.6/10 | 8.8/10 |
| Rank in Litter box | #4 | #1 |
| Status | on sale | on sale |
| Warranty | n/a | n/a |
| Cat weight range | Not stated by retailers | Not published by PetSafe |
| Max cats | Multi cat; cats must differ by 0.9 lb to be told apart (Cats.com) | Single or multi cat homes (PetSafe); app guidance is a tray change after about 25 days or 60 rakes for two cats (Tom's Guide) |
| Waste drawer | 12 L, up to 15 days for one cat (PetSmart) | Disposable crystal litter tray with covered waste trap, changed about once a month (PetSafe) |
| Sensors | Multiple infrared and anti pinch sensors; fewer at the back (Cats.com) | Two sensors detect the cat; raking starts 20 minutes after the cat leaves (Tom's Guide) |
| App | CATLINK app, 2.4 and 5 GHz WiFi | My PetSafe app with visit alerts, tray change alerts and activity history; LCD health counter on the unit (PetSafe, TTPM) |
| Litter type | All clumping litters | ScoopFree Crystal litter only (PetSafe) |
| Size | 23.43 x 21.06 in, 15.43 in tall (PetSmart, Multicat) | 27.6 x 19.1 x 6.2 in uncovered; 27.6 x 19.1 x 15.6 in front entry version (PetSafe) |
| Noise | n/a | No dB rating published |
| Power | n/a | Plug in, cord about 10 ft (Tom's Guide) |
| Best for | multi cat homes on a budget | owners who like crystal litter |
| Skip if | odor control is your top priority | you want to use your own clumping litter |
Specs are maker claims unless a reviewer is named. Prices from the stores we link, checked daily.
What reviewers found
Catlink Scooper Open-X
- Cats.com (4.2/5): Over a month in a multi cat home, setup was quick and the smaller cats used it often; odor built up because the bin is not sealed, and the reviewer advised supervising emptying. Source
PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart
- Tom's Guide: A cat adopted it within a day or two; no extra odor after a month; the tray filled in about 30 days after 20 rakes, and waste sometimes stuck to the rake. Source
- TTPM (4.5/5): Used at home with cats and a dog; liked the automatic raking and activity alerts, but notes the app cannot tell which pet used it and the tray is thrown out each time. Source
Questions buyers ask
Which is better, the Catlink Scooper Open-X or the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart?
The PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart scores higher in our ranking (8.8 vs 8.6 out of 10). Pick the Catlink Scooper Open-X for multi cat homes on a budget. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart for owners who like crystal litter.
Which is cheaper?
The Catlink Scooper Open-X at $230, versus $270 for the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart, checked Nov 4, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $230 vs $270.
What is the difference between the Scooper Open-X and the ScoopFree Crystal Smart?
Cat weight range: Not stated by retailers on the Scooper Open-X, Not published by PetSafe on the ScoopFree Crystal Smart. Max cats: Multi cat; cats must differ by 0.9 lb to be told apart (Cats.com) on the Scooper Open-X, Single or multi cat homes (PetSafe); app guidance is a tray change after about 25 days… on the ScoopFree Crystal Smart. Waste drawer: 12 L, up to 15 days for one cat (PetSmart) on the Scooper Open-X, Disposable crystal litter tray with covered waste trap, changed about once a month… on the ScoopFree Crystal Smart.
Also consider at this price
See all ranked →More comparisons
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs Neakasa M1
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs Whisker Litter-Robot 4
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs Neakasa M1 Lite
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs PetPivot AutoScooper 11
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs Pet Zone Smart Scoop
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs Catlink Scooper Pro-X Luxury
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X)
All self cleaning litter boxes, ranked
See the ranking →Affiliate links. We may earn a commission. It never changes our score. Disclosure