Catlink Scooper Open-X vs CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X)
Researched by Riley Hart · prices checked Oct 26, 2026
As of Oct 26, 2026, the Catlink Scooper Open-X costs $230 and the CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) costs $450, so the Catlink Scooper Open-X is $220 cheaper. The Catlink Scooper Open-X scores higher in our ranking (8.9 vs 7.6 out of 10). Pick the Catlink Scooper Open-X for multi cat homes on a budget. Pick the CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) for owners who want no app.
- Max cats
- Multi cat
- Litter
- All clumping litters
- Waste drawer
- 12 L
The Open-X is one of the cheapest app connected open top boxes at a big pet chain, and Cats.com's cats used it more than expected. The waste bin does not seal tightly, so empty it often. Watch the box while it empties, since the back has fewer anti pinch sensors.
Full Catlink Scooper Open-X review →- Cat weight
- 3.5 to 22 lb
- Litter
- Clumping clay or tofu
- Waste drawer
- 13 L drawer
A solid middle priced choice for owners who do not want an app, with a sealed drawer and an entry barrier that cuts tracking. Its entry sits over a foot off the floor and is fairly small, so older, nervous or very large cats may not take to it, and reviewers rated customer support poorly.
Full CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) review →Side by side
| Catlink Scooper Open-X | CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $230 | $450 |
| 3 year cost | $230 | $489 |
| Our score | 8.9/10 | 7.6/10 |
| Rank in Litter box | #1 | #5 |
| Status | on sale | on sale |
| Warranty | n/a | n/a |
| Cat weight range | Not stated by retailers | 3.5 to 22 lb, cats at least 3 months old |
| Max cats | Multi cat; cats must differ by 0.9 lb to be told apart (Cats.com) | Not stated |
| Waste drawer | 12 L, up to 15 days for one cat (PetSmart) | 13 L drawer, up to 14 days for one cat (retailer claim) |
| Sensors | Multiple infrared and anti pinch sensors; fewer at the back (Cats.com) | Infrared, gravity (weight) and anti pinch sensors |
| App | CATLINK app, 2.4 and 5 GHz WiFi | None required; physical panel with Auto, Manual and Empty modes |
| Litter type | All clumping litters | Clumping only; two sifting panels for clay and mixed tofu |
| Size | 23.43 x 21.06 in, 15.43 in tall (PetSmart, Multicat) | 23.62 x 22.83 x 27.95 in, entry 10.5 x 13 in |
| Noise | n/a | About 49 dB average per Cats.com |
| Best for | multi cat homes on a budget | owners who want no app |
| Skip if | odor control is your top priority | you need responsive support |
Specs are maker claims unless a reviewer is named. Prices from the stores we link, checked daily.
What reviewers found
Catlink Scooper Open-X
- Cats.com (4.2/5): Over a month in a multi cat home, setup was quick and the smaller cats used it often; odor built up because the bin is not sealed, and the reviewer advised supervising emptying. Source
CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X)
Pros and cons
Catlink Scooper Open-X
Pros
- Low price for an app connected box
- Open drum never closes
- Works on 5 GHz as well as 2.4 GHz WiFi
- Accepts any clumping litter
Cons
- Waste bin has no tight seal
- Fewer anti pinch sensors at the back
- Sifter is easy to install wrong
- Weight limit not published by retailers
CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X)
Pros
- Works without WiFi or an app
- Entrance barrier reduces tracking
- Quiet, about 49 dB
- Two sifters for clay or tofu
Cons
- Proprietary waste bags
- Step sold separately
- Small, high entryway
- Support complaints in reviews
Questions buyers ask
Which is better, the Catlink Scooper Open-X or the CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X)?
The Catlink Scooper Open-X scores higher in our ranking (8.9 vs 7.6 out of 10). Pick the Catlink Scooper Open-X for multi cat homes on a budget. Pick the CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) for owners who want no app.
Which is cheaper?
The Catlink Scooper Open-X at $230, versus $450 for the CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X), checked Oct 26, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $230 vs $489.
What is the difference between the Scooper Open-X and the Scooper Young (Pro-X)?
Cat weight range: Not stated by retailers on the Scooper Open-X, 3.5 to 22 lb, cats at least 3 months old on the Scooper Young (Pro-X). Max cats: Multi cat; cats must differ by 0.9 lb to be told apart (Cats.com) on the Scooper Open-X, Not stated on the Scooper Young (Pro-X). Waste drawer: 12 L, up to 15 days for one cat (PetSmart) on the Scooper Open-X, 13 L drawer, up to 14 days for one cat (retailer claim) on the Scooper Young (Pro-X).
Also consider
See all ranked →More comparisons
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs Neakasa M1 Lite
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs Catlink Scooper Pro-X Luxury
- CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) vs Neakasa M1
- CatGenie A.I. Self-Washing Cat Box vs CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X)
- Catlink Scooper Pro-X Luxury vs CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X)
- CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X) vs PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
All self cleaning litter boxes, ranked
See the ranking →Affiliate links. We may earn a commission. It never changes our score. Disclosure