Catlink Scooper Open-X vs Whisker Litter-Robot 4
Researched by Riley Hart · prices checked Nov 4, 2026
As of Nov 4, 2026, the Catlink Scooper Open-X costs $230 and the Whisker Litter-Robot 4 costs $699, so the Catlink Scooper Open-X is $469 cheaper. The Catlink Scooper Open-X has a published review score and ranks #4 in our self cleaning litter boxes ranking; the Whisker Litter-Robot 4 is not scored yet. Pick the Catlink Scooper Open-X for multi cat homes on a budget. Pick the Whisker Litter-Robot 4 for one to four average size cats. The Catlink Scooper Open-X wins 2 of 3 points we can measure.
Who wins, point by point
The Catlink Scooper Open-X wins 2 of 3 points we can measure. Built from today's prices, the specs and independent tests for these two robots.
| Scooper Open-X | Litter-Robot 4 | Winner | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price today | $230 | $699 | Scooper Open-X |
| 3 year cost | $230 | $1,035 | Scooper Open-X |
| Cats supported | 0 | 4 | Litter-Robot 4 |
- You want to spend less (saves $469)
- Best for multi cat homes on a budget
- You care most about cats supported (4 vs 0)
- Best for one to four average size cats
- Max cats
- Multi cat
- Litter
- All clumping litters
- Waste drawer
- 12 L
Budget open top box that tracks several cats by weight
Full Catlink Scooper Open-X review, pros and cons →- Cat weight
- 3 to 25 lb
- Max cats
- Up to 4
- Litter
- Clumping clay
- Waste drawer
- Sealed
Proven Litter-Robot with laser sensing, now Whisker's value pick
Full Whisker Litter-Robot 4 review, pros and cons →Side by side
| Catlink Scooper Open-X | Whisker Litter-Robot 4 | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $230 | $699 |
| 3 year cost | $230 | $1,035 |
| Our score | 8.6/10 | Not scored yet |
| Rank in Litter box | #4 | #23 |
| Status | on sale | on sale |
| Warranty | n/a | 1 year (WhiskerCare), extendable to 3 years; 90 day in home trial |
| Cat weight range | Not stated by retailers | 3 to 25 lb (kittens under 3 lb need semi automatic mode) |
| Max cats | Multi cat; cats must differ by 0.9 lb to be told apart (Cats.com) | Up to 4 |
| Waste drawer | 12 L, up to 15 days for one cat (PetSmart) | Sealed drawer with carbon filter, as little as once every 8 days (maker claim) |
| Sensors | Multiple infrared and anti pinch sensors; fewer at the back (Cats.com) | Laser and weight sensors, SmartScale cat weight tracking, SafeCat system |
| App | CATLINK app, 2.4 and 5 GHz WiFi | Whisker app (2.4 GHz WiFi); free 7 day view, Whisker+ optional |
| Litter type | All clumping litters | Clumping clay recommended; crystals only if they pass the screen; plant based and pellet litters not recommended |
| Size | 23.43 x 21.06 in, 15.43 in tall (PetSmart, Multicat) | 22 x 27 in footprint, 29.5 in tall, 15.75 x 15.75 in entry, 24 lb empty |
| Noise | n/a | No dB rating published; QuietSift motor |
| Best for | multi cat homes on a budget | one to four average size cats |
| Skip if | odor control is your top priority | your cat is over 25 lb |
Specs are maker claims unless a reviewer is named. Prices from the stores we link, checked daily.
What reviewers found
Catlink Scooper Open-X
- Cats.com (4.2/5): Over a month in a multi cat home, setup was quick and the smaller cats used it often; odor built up because the bin is not sealed, and the reviewer advised supervising emptying. Source
Whisker Litter-Robot 4
- Cats.com: Runner Up in the October 2026 roundup; reliable and well built, but the smaller litter bed may not suit large cats. Source
- The Irish Times: Quiet, no smells and a clean tray in a home test; sensors stopped the drum when a cat entered; app cat ID was less accurate for cats of similar size. Source
Questions buyers ask
Which is better, the Catlink Scooper Open-X or the Whisker Litter-Robot 4?
The Catlink Scooper Open-X has a published review score and ranks #4 in our self cleaning litter boxes ranking; the Whisker Litter-Robot 4 is not scored yet. Pick the Catlink Scooper Open-X for multi cat homes on a budget. Pick the Whisker Litter-Robot 4 for one to four average size cats.
Which is cheaper?
The Catlink Scooper Open-X at $230, versus $699 for the Whisker Litter-Robot 4, checked Nov 4, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $230 vs $1,035.
What is the difference between the Scooper Open-X and the Litter-Robot 4?
Cat weight range: Not stated by retailers on the Scooper Open-X, 3 to 25 lb (kittens under 3 lb need semi automatic mode) on the Litter-Robot 4. Max cats: Multi cat; cats must differ by 0.9 lb to be told apart (Cats.com) on the Scooper Open-X, Up to 4 on the Litter-Robot 4. Waste drawer: 12 L, up to 15 days for one cat (PetSmart) on the Scooper Open-X, Sealed drawer with carbon filter, as little as once every 8 days (maker claim) on the Litter-Robot 4.
Also consider at this price
See all ranked →More comparisons
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs Neakasa M1
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs Neakasa M1 Lite
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs PetPivot AutoScooper 11
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs Pet Zone Smart Scoop
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs Catlink Scooper Pro-X Luxury
- Catlink Scooper Open-X vs CATLINK Scooper Young (Pro-X)
All self cleaning litter boxes, ranked
See the ranking →Affiliate links. We may earn a commission. It never changes our score. Disclosure
We check prices every morning and compare them with each model's 2026 low. One email when real deals land, plus our 5 minute Friday roundup. Unsubscribe anytime.