Skip to content
Live

Instachew Purrclean vs PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro

Researched by Riley Hart · prices checked Nov 4, 2026

Short answer · checked Nov 4, 2026

As of Nov 4, 2026, the Instachew Purrclean costs $320 and the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro costs $250, so the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro is $70 cheaper. The Instachew Purrclean has a published review score and ranks #8 in our self cleaning litter boxes ranking; the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro is not scored yet. Pick the Instachew Purrclean for small cats in small spaces. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro for one small or average cat on a low upfront budget. They split the points we can measure, 1 each.

Who wins, point by point

They split the points we can measure, 1 each. Built from today's prices, the specs and independent tests for these two robots.

PurrcleanScoopFree Crystal ProWinner
Price today$320$250ScoopFree Crystal Pro
3 year cost$320$1,090Purrclean
Pick the Purrclean if
  • You care most about 3 year cost ($320 vs $1,090)
  • Best for small cats in small spaces
Pick the ScoopFree Crystal Pro if
  • You want to spend less (saves $70)
  • Best for one small or average cat on a low upfront budget
Litter box
InstachewPurrclean
Cat weight
At least 2.5 kg
Litter
Clumping litters
Waste drawer
About 8 L drawer
7.3/10Price tracked daily

Compact app connected drum box suited to small cats

Full Instachew Purrclean review, pros and cons →
Litter box
PetSafeScoopFree Crystal Pro
Litter
PetSafe ScoopFree
Waste drawer
Waste raked under a lid
ON SALEPrice tracked daily

Low cost rake box using sealed crystal trays, no app

Full PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro review, pros and cons →

Side by side

Instachew PurrcleanPetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro
Price$320$250
3 year cost$320$1,090
Our score7.3/10Not scored yet
Rank in Litter box#8#17
Statuson saleon sale
Warrantyn/an/a
Cat weight rangeAt least 2.5 kg (5.5 lb) and over 6 months (Chewy listing); no maximum published, reviewers say large cats do not fitNot stated; an 11 lb cat fit the hood just barely (TechnoMEOW)
Max catsNot published; Cats.com found only 3 of 7 cats small enough to use itNot stated; best with one average size cat (TechnoMEOW)
Waste drawerAbout 8 L drawer with bag liner (Chewy listing)Waste raked under a lid in the tray; tray lasts up to 30 days for one cat
Sensors12 safety sensors (Cats.com); infrared cat detection within 50 cm of the opening and a foreign object sensor (TechnoMeow)Motion and safety sensors; rake waits 20 minutes after use
AppInstachew Infinity app for schedules, cat weights and visit logs; 2.4 and 5 GHz Wi-Fi (TechnoMeow)None; health counter display only
Litter typeClumping litters including tofu, soil and mixed (TechnoMeow, Chewy)PetSafe ScoopFree crystal trays only
Size19 x 20 x 26 in, 32 lb (TechnoMeow); inner 46 x 42 cm, entry 9 in off the floor (Chewy)28.2 x 20.4 x 16 in (TechnoMEOW), 18 lb assembled
Noise47 dB (figure cited by TechnoMeow)n/a
Best forsmall cats in small spacesone small or average cat on a low upfront budget
Skip ifyou have cats over about 12 lbyou have several cats or a large cat

Specs are maker claims unless a reviewer is named. Prices from the stores we link, checked daily.

What reviewers found

Instachew Purrclean

  • Cats.com (3.6/5): Tested about six weeks in a seven cat home; only three cats were small enough, drum removal was awkward, app pairing was slow and nearby cats set off many alerts. Source
  • TechnoMeow (3.5/5): Tested on a friend's unit; a Siamese fit but a Bengal did not, the app disconnected often, some litter went unsifted and odors lingered. Source

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro

  • TechnoMEOW: About a month with one 11 lb cat: visitors could not smell it at the 30 day mark, but the cat fit the hood just barely and some crystals tracked out. Source
  • NBC Select: The writer used two Crystal Pro units; clumps got stuck in the rake and each unit broke or malfunctioned after about six months. Source

Questions buyers ask

Which is better, the Instachew Purrclean or the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro?

The Instachew Purrclean has a published review score and ranks #8 in our self cleaning litter boxes ranking; the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro is not scored yet. Pick the Instachew Purrclean for small cats in small spaces. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro for one small or average cat on a low upfront budget.

Which is cheaper?

The PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro at $250, versus $320 for the Instachew Purrclean, checked Nov 4, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $320 vs $1,090.

What is the difference between the Purrclean and the ScoopFree Crystal Pro?

Cat weight range: At least 2.5 kg (5.5 lb) and over 6 months (Chewy listing); no maximum published… on the Purrclean, Not stated; an 11 lb cat fit the hood just barely (TechnoMEOW) on the ScoopFree Crystal Pro. Max cats: Not published; Cats.com found only 3 of 7 cats small enough to use it on the Purrclean, Not stated; best with one average size cat (TechnoMEOW) on the ScoopFree Crystal Pro. Waste drawer: About 8 L drawer with bag liner (Chewy listing) on the Purrclean, Waste raked under a lid in the tray; tray lasts up to 30 days for one cat on the ScoopFree Crystal Pro.

Also consider at this price

See all ranked →

More comparisons

All self cleaning litter boxes, ranked

See the ranking →

Affiliate links. We may earn a commission. It never changes our score. Disclosure