Skip to content
Live

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro vs PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin

Researched by Riley Hart · prices checked Oct 26, 2026

Short answer · checked Oct 26, 2026

As of Oct 26, 2026, the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro costs $230 and the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin costs $400, so the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro is $170 cheaper. The PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin has a published review score and ranks #6 in our self cleaning litter boxes ranking; the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro is not scored yet. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro for one small or average cat on a low upfront budget. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin for small spaces and tighter budgets.

Litter box
PetSafeScoopFree Crystal Pro
Litter
PetSafe ScoopFree
Waste drawer
Waste raked under a lid
ON SALEPrice tracked daily

The Crystal Pro is a cheap entry to self cleaning with standout odor control from sealed crystal trays. The trays are the real cost, about $840 over three years for one cat at Walmart prices. It is a tight fit for big cats and has no app.

Full PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro review →
Litter box
PetSafeScoopFree SmartSpin
Cat weight
Up to 25 lb
Litter
Clumping clay
Waste drawer
6 L sealed drawer
7.5/10Price tracked daily

The most compact and affordable box here from an established brand, with a useful app and quick support. It suits small to medium cats in tight spaces; larger cats, frail cats who struggle with the 12 inch step, and owners who hate refill costs should look elsewhere.

Full PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin review →

Side by side

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal ProPetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin
Price$230$400
3 year cost$1,070$986
Our scoreNot scored yet7.5/10
Rank in Litter box#11#6
Statuson saleon sale
Warrantyn/a1 year (per Chewy listing)
Cat weight rangeNot stated; an 11 lb cat fit the hood just barely (TechnoMEOW)Up to 25 lb (Cats.com cites a 2.5 lb, 6 month minimum)
Max catsNot stated; best with one average size cat (TechnoMEOW)Not stated; marketed for multi cat homes
Waste drawerWaste raked under a lid in the tray; tray lasts up to 30 days for one cat6 L sealed drawer with deodorizer, up to 2 weeks (maker claim)
SensorsMotion and safety sensors; rake waits 20 minutes after useExit detection, weight change detection, child lock
AppNone; health counter display onlyPetSafe app, 2.4 GHz WiFi; tracks weight, usage and drawer level
Litter typePetSafe ScoopFree crystal trays onlyClumping clay; Chewy says not for crystal, non clumping or large pellets
Size28.2 x 20.4 x 16 in (TechnoMEOW), 18 lb assembled20.9 x 18.9 x 26.4 in, entry about 12 in off the floor
Noisen/aNo dB rating published; reviewers describe it as quiet
Best forone small or average cat on a low upfront budgetsmall spaces and tighter budgets
Skip ifyou have several cats or a large catyou have a large or senior cat

Specs are maker claims unless a reviewer is named. Prices from the stores we link, checked daily.

What reviewers found

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro

  • TechnoMEOW: About a month with one 11 lb cat: visitors could not smell it at the 30 day mark, but the cat fit the hood just barely and some crystals tracked out. Source
  • NBC Select: The writer used two Crystal Pro units; clumps got stuck in the rake and each unit broke or malfunctioned after about six months. Source

PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin

  • Cats.com: Best Budget in the October 2026 roundup; does not auto empty litter and the raised entry may deter some cats. Source
  • Cats.com (3.6/5): Month long multi cat test: quiet and easy to deep clean; smaller cats used it more than larger ones; frequent customer reports of technical problems. Source
  • TechnoMeow: Most compact automatic box the reviewers tried; strong odor control; drawer fills fast with three or four cats. Source

Pros and cons

PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro

Pros

  • Low upfront price
  • Very strong odor control in TechnoMEOW testing
  • No scooping or litter refills
  • Light signals when to change the tray

Cons

  • Disposable trays cost about $23 each
  • Tight for large cats under the hood
  • No app
  • NBC Select writer's two units failed after about six months

PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin

Pros

  • Lowest price among major brands here
  • Compact round footprint
  • App weight and usage tracking
  • Easy to disassemble and clean

Cons

  • Raised entry about 12 in with no step
  • Not suited to large cats
  • Deodorizer refills every 15 days add up
  • Arrives unassembled

Questions buyers ask

Which is better, the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro or the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin?

The PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin has a published review score and ranks #6 in our self cleaning litter boxes ranking; the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro is not scored yet. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro for one small or average cat on a low upfront budget. Pick the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin for small spaces and tighter budgets.

Which is cheaper?

The PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Pro at $230, versus $400 for the PetSafe ScoopFree SmartSpin, checked Oct 26, 2026. Over 3 years with running costs: $1,070 vs $986.

What is the difference between the ScoopFree Crystal Pro and the ScoopFree SmartSpin?

Cat weight range: Not stated; an 11 lb cat fit the hood just barely (TechnoMEOW) on the ScoopFree Crystal Pro, Up to 25 lb (Cats.com cites a 2.5 lb, 6 month minimum) on the ScoopFree SmartSpin. Max cats: Not stated; best with one average size cat (TechnoMEOW) on the ScoopFree Crystal Pro, Not stated; marketed for multi cat homes on the ScoopFree SmartSpin. Waste drawer: Waste raked under a lid in the tray; tray lasts up to 30 days for one cat on the ScoopFree Crystal Pro, 6 L sealed drawer with deodorizer, up to 2 weeks (maker claim) on the ScoopFree SmartSpin.

Also consider

See all ranked →

More comparisons

All self cleaning litter boxes, ranked

See the ranking →

Affiliate links. We may earn a commission. It never changes our score. Disclosure